Author Topic: QT5  (Read 6409 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
QT5
« on: September 27, 2020, 01:59:54 am »
This should be a simple question but...  If I have a program that requires QT5 runtime to run which of the 35 RPM packages do I need to download?  Is there a simple runtime package like there is for QT4?

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: QT5
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2020, 02:48:41 am »
Hi Ivan

Do you have an already compiled/ported Qt5 application?

I guess that the run time should be qt5-base, qt5-base-common and qt5-base-gui.  If you check some Qt5 apps like Quassel it asks for those libraries as requirements.

I also find it interesting from time to time to use PMDLL on the .exe to find out which DLLs it requires.

Regards
« Last Edit: September 27, 2020, 02:52:39 am by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2020, 02:52:46 am »
Well looking at the list of available packages, I see a QT5 package that claims to be a meta-package, so I'd assume that would pull in all the other needed packages. Lets see,
Code: [Select]
yum install qt5
...
Code: [Select]
Dependencies Resolved

================================================================================

 Package                 Arch        Version             Repository        Size
================================================================================

Installing:
 qt5                     noarch      5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel      6.1 k
Installing for dependencies:
 qt5-qtbase              i686        5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel      4.9 M
 qt5-qtbase-common       noarch      5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel      6.4 k
 qt5-qtbase-gui          i686        5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel      6.6 M
 qt5-qtdeclarative       i686        5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel      4.9 M
 qt5-qtsvg               i686        5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel      229 k
 qt5-qttools             i686        5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel       34 k
 qt5-qttools-common      noarch      5.13.1-1.oc00       netlabs-rel       11 k

Transaction Summary
================================================================================

Install       8 Packages

Total download size: 17 M
Installed size: 17 M
Is this ok [y/N]:

So I assume that will run the average QT5 package. Looking at most of the rest of the packages, they seem to be aimed at developers.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1317
  • Karma: +26/-0
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2020, 03:12:41 am »
...but QT4 and QT5 are NOT compatible, correct?

Meaning: they cannot be both installed...it's either one or the other.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2020, 04:40:58 am »
They use different DLL names and such so they can be installed side by side, and if there are conflicts, it is probably a bug.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2020, 04:42:40 am »
Hi Ivan, the recommended course is to install the examples, which should pull in all dependencies.
Code: [Select]
yum install qt5-qtbase-examples
or use ANPM.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2020, 10:50:36 pm »
Thanks all.  To answer Martin's question, I was hoping that the e-pub editor 'Sigil' would work - the version that Paul Smedley produced 10 years ago is now well outdated, although it still works.  It doesn't have those things necessary for e-pub publications of today.  Ah well, back to using the Linux version even if it does take 'sneaker net' to transfer files between my OS/2 box and the Linux box.

On an off topic mode, does anyone know a quick and easy way to collect 60 + text files into one text file without having to copy and paste each file into the master?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2020, 11:17:53 pm »
Hi Ivan, looking quickly at the requirements of sigil, you'll likely have to wait a bit longer for our QT5 to support it and of course it will need to be compiled, probably simple.
As for copying a bunch of text files to one, use the copy command, with the + (append) option, type "help copy" to start learning.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2020, 10:34:23 am »
Hi Dave,

I know about the copy with + between files but it tends to run out of space on the command line after about 15 names and when you have 60 + file names it becomes very messy.

Sandra Asja Eickel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2020, 10:48:57 pm »
Hi ivan, regarding your offtopic question, you could try this:
TYPE part*.txt >>complete.txt

Every part should end with a blank line (otherwise you would get the last line and the first line of the next file joined into one line).
If the parts are in alphanumeric order, this should suffice (and if complete.txt exists, you should delete it before, otherwise everything is appended again).
If they are not ordered, you could write a batch file (for the first redirect, you could then use ">" instead of ">>" to create a new complete.txt without trying to delete it first).
In a linux shell like dash on OS/2 you would use "cat" instead of "TYPE".

Greetings,
Sandra-Asja

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: QT5
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2020, 11:54:02 pm »
The advantage of a shell like sh is long command lines, about a 1000 characters IIRC.
Create a script, text.sh with something like,
Code: [Select]
cat 1.txt 2.txt x:/path/to/3.txt rest_of.txt > result.txt

and run like "sh text.sh"
Just remember that sh likes / for a directory separator.