Author Topic: GeForce AHCI  (Read 543 times)

Ben Hjelt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
GeForce AHCI
« on: January 07, 2021, 11:07:57 am »
Got myself an older Shuttle socket AM2+ barebone and no harddrive is detected even when adding the PCI ID to the AHCI driver at boot. The connected optical drive is regular ATA. Any experience with this SATA controller?

SATA controller [0106]: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] AHCI Controller [10de:0ad4] (rev a2) (prog-if 01 [AHCI 1.0])
        Subsystem: Holco Enterprise Co, Ltd/Shuttle Computer MCP78S [GeForce 8200] AHCI Controller [1297:3139]

IDE interface [0101]: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE [10de:0759] (rev a1) (prog-if 8a [Master SecP PriP])
        Subsystem: Holco Enterprise Co, Ltd/Shuttle Computer MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE [1297:3139]
« Last Edit: January 07, 2021, 11:23:07 am by Ben Hjelt »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 30
  • Posts: 969
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GeForce AHCI
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2021, 05:36:56 pm »
Hi Ben,

You need the OS2AHCI driver to actually support AHCI controller. The regular DANIS506 driver will only work in IDE mode, meaning: it'll support the normal PATA and SATA devices only.

Are you running the AHCI driver already?

If yes, than the only thing you can do is log a request with the AOS folks to support the NVidia hardware, but given the age of that chipset I would think that is very unlikely to happen. Still, worth a try...

In case you are NOT using the AHCI driver and want to simply use the DANI driver, the approach you can take it so shut off AHCI in BIOS and simply have the controller come up in IDE mode. Most motherboard configurations that support AHCI have this control, at least the ones I have seen first-hand.

Ben Hjelt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GeForce AHCI
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2021, 05:57:49 pm »
Are you running the AHCI driver already?
;D I tried but no drive in the partition editor.
Yes, fortunately there's a BIOS option to enable IDE (and nvidia... RAID) instead of AHCI.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 221
  • Posts: 3110
  • Karma: +53/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GeForce AHCI
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2021, 06:17:14 pm »
Assuming you have a current AOS subscription, you really should open an issue at their Mantis bug tracker. They're pretty helpful and if nothing else, will tell you it won't work. I'd expect that using IDE, it should.
They do say in some FAQ that Nvidia hardware is not very supported.