Author Topic: OS2 Command Prompt Window  (Read 854 times)

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
OS2 Command Prompt Window
« on: February 21, 2021, 02:42:05 pm »
Hi there,
since a few days I observed a very strange behaviour of the os2 command promt window.When I
for exmple open a command prompt window and type dir the command is executed but the progress is very slow? Opening a fullscreen command propt and then typing dir the command is executed and finished in a second.
I have the latest ArcaOS installed and the only thing I recently changed was to change from 2GB Ram to 4 GB Ram on this machine (X61)

Any Idea?
Holger

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 39
  • Posts: 724
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2 Command Prompt Window
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2021, 06:15:53 pm »
That may be caused by hardware problems.

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2 Command Prompt Window
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2021, 07:50:34 pm »
Yes, I am afraid this is a hardware problem, but right now I have no clue what could cause the problems. Any idea what could help to find the reason?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 226
  • Posts: 3159
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2 Command Prompt Window
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2021, 08:23:39 pm »
You might want to open an issue at Arca Noae. It may be something simple like MTRR's needing setting correctly.

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 19
  • -Receive: 13
  • Posts: 617
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2 Command Prompt Window
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2021, 10:25:28 pm »
a fullscreen command propt and then typing dir the command is executed and finished in a second.
The same thing happens when in a window command com, you execute a dir, and with the mouse you change the focus to another window. The speed increases. But I have always thought that it is so.
saludos

Remy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 414
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2 Command Prompt Window
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2021, 12:12:25 am »
Did you try boot with HW detection?

It looks like incorrect MTRR  (which could result into a very slow video refresh rate - When you minimize the window, the dir cmd should end quickly)