Author Topic: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !  (Read 2138 times)

Remy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 428
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« on: August 05, 2021, 01:14:34 am »
More and more web site aren't working due to old firefox version.
I added an entry under about:config and now, I'm again able to see more sites, some using new functions aren't working like before but those just using access restriction due to firefox version are ok

Here is the added string:

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 229
  • Posts: 3217
  • Karma: +62/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2021, 01:32:32 am »
Might be better to use " Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0", which I believe is what the current ESR version reports.
There's still the polyfill problems, Googles video problems and also the possibility that the cache needs cleaned.
BTW, User Agent Switcher makes this a lot easier.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 15
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1039
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2021, 03:16:55 pm »
...
BTW, User Agent Switcher makes this a lot easier.

That's exactly what I was going to suggest. Although, even tossing a matching/expected ID at the web server still results in a non-functioning site far too often...and that's just the reality of our FF release.

Remy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 428
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2021, 06:39:22 pm »
Might be better to use " Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/78.0", which I believe is what the current ESR version reports.
There's still the polyfill problems, Googles video problems and also the possibility that the cache needs cleaned.
BTW, User Agent Switcher makes this a lot easier.


It is not high enough to go through some cloudflare
ex: clamav site

User Agent Switcher, yes good

Roderick Klein

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 29
  • Posts: 445
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2021, 11:33:50 pm »
But how well does the browser still work if the browser it reports is pushed to a current version ?
Do all website elements like login and other entry fields work ?

Roderick

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 229
  • Posts: 3217
  • Karma: +62/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2021, 05:31:07 am »
Reading the SeaMonkey newsgroup, alt.comp.software.seamonkey, it seems full of complaints about sites recently stopping working. They're a long ways ahead of us but still a long way behind. 60ESR with thousands of backports.
many sites are now using crap that is only supported by the latest or second to latest and not even the latest ESR release from what Remy said.

Remy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 15
  • Posts: 428
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2021, 11:16:33 am »
But how well does the browser still work if the browser it reports is pushed to a current version ?
Do all website elements like login and other entry fields work ?

Roderick

New interface from gmail or yahoo seems to work
(only function using new implemented code aren't working resulting into some sites not working (less sites) but, the most interesting is that many others are working again due to firefox release restriction only)

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 285
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2021, 07:08:34 pm »

BTW, User Agent Switcher makes this a lot easier.


It is not high enough to go through some cloudflare
ex: clamav site

User Agent Switcher, yes good
Ciao, would you please tell how to get user agent switcher on Firefox 45.9 ? Seem not possible to get a matching version for it.
Thank you

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 28
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2021, 08:33:24 pm »
Quote
Ciao, would you please tell how to get user agent switcher on Firefox 45.9 ? Seem not possible to get a matching version for it.
Thank you
F.i. Prefbar 7.1.0 works here with SM. So pretty sure it works with our FF too.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 229
  • Posts: 3217
  • Karma: +62/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2021, 11:07:50 pm »
Ciao, would you please tell how to get user agent switcher on Firefox 45.9 ? Seem not possible to get a matching version for it.
Thank you

Unzip this and drag'n'drop the XPI on Firefox. Might have to disable signed extensions to install.

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 285
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2021, 01:49:04 pm »
Quote
Ciao, would you please tell how to get user agent switcher on Firefox 45.9 ? Seem not possible to get a matching version for it.
Thank you
F.i. Prefbar 7.1.0 works here with SM. So pretty sure it works with our FF too.

Thank you for answering Andi, I've solved with Dave's provided xpi extension

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 285
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to make our latests os/2 firefox identify as build 89.0 !
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2021, 01:49:46 pm »
Ciao, would you please tell how to get user agent switcher on Firefox 45.9 ? Seem not possible to get a matching version for it.
Thank you

Unzip this and drag'n'drop the XPI on Firefox. Might have to disable signed extensions to install.

installed, it works perfectly. Thank you