OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical > Hardware

Using a Corsair K70 Keyboard on a KVM under ArcaOS

<< < (2/4) > >>

ivan:
The K95 keyboard is very simple to change to BIOS mode - there is a three position slider switch at the back.

I haven't tried it with a KVM switch - no need at the moment. 

I would like to get the 18 left-hand keys working but requires some programming and I am not a programmer even though there is linux program available.

Mark Szkolnicki:

--- Quote from: ivan on October 20, 2021, 01:07:46 pm ---The K95 keyboard is very simple to change to BIOS mode - there is a three position slider switch at the back.

I haven't tried it with a KVM switch - no need at the moment. 

I would like to get the 18 left-hand keys working but requires some programming and I am not a programmer even though there is linux program available.

--- End quote ---

Heh Ivan!

As the original tests I was doing last December were connecting the K70 directly with a test host computer, which resulted in it not being recognized or seen by ArcaOS, I was wondering if your K95 was recognized by ArcaOS, without enabling the BIOS mode switch?

I had a look at the K95 RGB Platinum XT currently available on Amazon and noted it has exactly the same configuration of specialty Corsair keys  at top, as the K70 (including WinLock), as well as 6 keys (G1- G6) on the left. Are the 18 additional left hand keys you referred to on your K95 in a bank on the left? If so, it must be one wide keyboard.

I had an Aula Gaming Keyboard prior to the keyboards I have now, and it had the same configuration of special keys G1 to G6, arranged on the left. I had them programmed under Windows with their Aula Keyboard Utility program, for use in games like The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, but could never get them to do anything under eCS or ArcaOS as well. I assume the key codes were non-standard.

Best!

M

ivan:
Hi Mark,