Author Topic: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE  (Read 28902 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1574
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2022, 02:06:24 pm »
This may be a stupid idea but... your zip drive has a full ide interface so you could try attaching it to an IDE to USB adapter and see what the response is.  I have used IDE to USB and SATA to USB adapters to read disks that won't attach to the onboard interfaces.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4862
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2022, 05:12:07 pm »
Wonder if a bootable Linux stick would recognize it?
If possible, a link to where to get and how to make such a stick.

Simplest is probably the DFSee stick downloadable at https://dfsee.com/dfsee/media.php
Whether that has support for the Iomega zip drive, I don't know.

Igor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2022, 09:53:58 pm »
Solved!

1. Install ZIP100 as a hard drive (not like a floppy disk).
2. Install Danis driver:
BASEDEV=DANIS506.ADD /!BIOS /A:1 /I /V
BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT /EJ /V
3. After installing the disk in the wildcard, use the LVM command - lvm /rediscoverprm
4. A disk letter will appear and you can work with it
5. Before extracting the disk, use the command - eject drive:

Thank you all for participating in solving the problem!

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2023, 10:49:19 pm »
I got a machine with the IOMega Zip-250 drive, but I'm having trouble with the instructions to getting it to work.

BASEDEV=DANIS50s.ADD /!BIOS
BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT

Gives me

Code: [Select]
R1.08.15     /!BIOS
            Daniela's Bus Master IDE Driver for OS/2 Version 1.08.15
Controller:0  Port:01F0 IRQ:0E  Status:OK BusMaster Scatter/Gather
  Intel ICH2 PATA host (8086:244B rev:12) on PCI 0:31.1#0
 Unit:0 Status:OK SMS:16 LBA BusMaster UltraDMA5/PIO4 BPB
  Model:ST3250820ACE                            3.ACD   
   OS2:log   phys   BPB/BIOS   IDE:log   phys     Total Sectors
  C  30401  65535                65535  16383   Avail  488397168
  H    255     16        255        16     16   OS2    488392065
  S     63     63         63        63     63   % Used     99.99
 Unit:1 Status:OK ATAPI BusMaster UltraDMA2/PIO3
  Model:IOMEGA  ZIP 250       ATAPI             41.S   
Controller:1  Port:0170 IRQ:0F  Status:OK
  Intel ICH2 PATA host (8086:244B rev:12) on PCI 0:31.1#1
 Unit:0 Status:OK ATAPI PIO4
  Model:SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SM-308B                T100

When I insert a zip disk, and refresh removable media, no drive letter appears.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Igor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2023, 12:05:01 am »
I got a machine with the IOMega Zip-250 drive, but I'm having trouble with the instructions to getting it to work.

BASEDEV=DANIS50s.ADD /!BIOS
BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT

Gives me

When I insert a zip disk, and refresh removable media, no drive letter appears.

Unfortunately, my ZIP drive is not working stably. There was one hardware configuration (controller, interrupts) in which I managed to make it work.
But alas, I updated the system on ArcaOS and everything stopped working. I opened a ticket, but no one could help me.
I have an assumption that the device letter assignment is incorrect when the disk is inserted. It worked for me in the ecs system when clicking on the USB device update icon (crazy). It doesn't work in any way at the moment.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2023, 06:48:26 pm by Igor »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4862
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2023, 02:00:04 am »
I guess each disk will need partitioning and have LVM info added

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2023, 04:09:49 pm »
I guess I don't see how to add LVM information. The disk doesn't seem to show up.

Not quite true, there is an inaccessible ghost disk in LVMGUI that has the right size.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Igor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #22 on: May 11, 2023, 01:29:09 am »
This may be a stupid idea but... your zip drive has a full ide interface so you could try attaching it to an IDE to USB adapter and see what the response is.  I have used IDE to USB and SATA to USB adapters to read disks that won't attach to the onboard interfaces.
I tested this idea. Unfortunately, Chinese converters do not know how to work correctly with AHCI (controller on the motherboard). If you use a separate controller and DANIS, then nothing fundamentally changes.

Igor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2023, 07:35:27 pm »
I guess I don't see how to add LVM information. The disk doesn't seem to show up.

Not quite true, there is an inaccessible ghost disk in LVMGUI that has the right size.

Use:
lvm.exe /query

You will see something like the following:
Code: [Select]
Disk                 Size (MB) Free Space:  Total Largest
[ D1 ]                  114470                  0       0
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   OS2                      12001 Primary  In use       OS2
   Program                   9999 Logical  In use       Program
   Web                       9999 Logical  In use       Web
   DB                       15003 Logical  In use       DB
   Data                     67458 Logical  In use       Data
[ D3 ]                  114469             114469  114469
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS1 ]                 114469 Logical  Available
[ D2 ]                  381551                  0       0
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [P 0]                   169998 Primary  In use       V 0
   V 1                     211551 Logical  In use       V 1
[ D4 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS2 ]                     96 Logical  Available
[ D5 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS3 ]                     96 Logical  Available
[ D6 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS4 ]                     96 Logical  Available

I see 3 fake disks at my place.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2023, 03:18:30 am »
Hi

The 3 "fake disks" are probably related to the USBMSD.ADD  /REMOVABLES:  value  in the config.sys file.  What value are you using?


Regards

Pete

Igor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2023, 12:45:56 pm »
Hi Pete,

I don't see this as a problem. I have installed /REMOVABLES:2 - this is 2 disks. Another one is either a USB CDrom or a blank for ZIP 100. But the trouble is that when the floppy disk is inserted, this blank is not filled with real media data.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2023, 03:37:19 pm »
You can see my system, with OS/2 convenience pack german, eCS and ArcaOS. This dump is taken from ArcaOS 5.0.7.

The zip disk is clearly this one.

[ D2 ]                     239                239     239
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS2 ]                    239 Logical  Available                       

Nothing is inserted in the drive at this point. If I insert a disk, and refresh removable media, nothing changes. The LVM /query is identical.

Code: [Select]
Disk                 Size (MB) Free Space:  Total Largest
KLM Drive 1             238472             208468  208468
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ A1 ]                   10001 Primary  In use       LVM1               
   eCS-E                    10001 Logical  In use       eCS-E               
   ArcaOS-H                 10001 Logical  In use       ArcaOS-H           
   [ FS1 ]                 208468 Logical  Available                       
[ D2 ]                     239                239     239
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS2 ]                    239 Logical  Available                       
[ D3 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS3 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D4 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS4 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D5 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS5 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D6 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS6 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D7 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS7 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D8 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS8 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D9 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS9 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D10 ]                     96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS10 ]                    96 Logical  Available                       

This is the result of LVM /QUERY:UNUSABLE

Code: [Select]
Disk                 Size (MB) Free Space:  Total Largest
[ D2 ]                     239                239     239
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS2 ]                    239 Logical  Available                       
[ D3 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS3 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D4 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS4 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D5 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS5 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D6 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS6 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D7 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS7 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D8 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS8 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D9 ]                      96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS9 ]                     96 Logical  Available                       
[ D10 ]                     96                 96      96
   Disk Partition       Size (MB) Type     Status       Logical Volume
   [ FS10 ]                    96 Logical  Available                       

Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
  • Karma: +65/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #27 on: May 13, 2023, 03:48:23 pm »
Hi Pete,

I don't see this as a problem. I have installed /REMOVABLES:2 - this is 2 disks. Another one is either a USB CDrom or a blank for ZIP 100. But the trouble is that when the floppy disk is inserted, this blank is not filled with real media data.

A floppy disk will never show up under LVM. And LVM will only show dummy units for whatever is specified via the /REMOVABLES switch.

Igor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2023, 07:26:29 pm »
Hi Lars,
A floppy disk will never show up under LVM. And LVM will only show dummy units for whatever is specified via the /REMOVABLES switch.
Will this be the case even if the ZIP drive is connected to the IDE bus?
I see in my message similar to the truth figures (96) regarding the capacity of the disk...
« Last Edit: May 13, 2023, 10:37:08 pm by Igor »

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
  • Karma: +65/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Iomega ZIP 100 IDE
« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2023, 01:27:44 am »
If it is connected to IDE, it is served by DANIS506.ADD and it should show under LVM. But the 96 MB entries are typically dummy entries, stemming from USBMSD.ADD.
If a ZIP disk is inserted already on boot, it should even be locked in the drive. I forgot what to expect if it is inserted after boot.