Author Topic: Test build of dooble with qt5  (Read 110111 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #195 on: December 26, 2022, 07:14:16 am »
Hi Martin,
Since you have it running maybe you can tell me if it will run something like NoScript and Ad Block the two things I will not run a browser without.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #196 on: December 26, 2022, 07:37:41 am »
https://textbrowser.github.io/dooble/ will tell you what features dooble supports...

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #197 on: December 26, 2022, 12:33:45 pm »
Thanks Paul.  The answer appears to be 'maybe', I suppose I should try it to find out.  Have you put together a zip or wpi WITH EVERYTHING INCLUDED TO RUN IT?

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #198 on: December 26, 2022, 06:25:47 pm »
Hi Martin,
Since you have it running maybe you can tell me if it will run something like NoScript and Ad Block the two things I will not run a browser without.
Hi Ivan

Dooble is so simple and minimalist that has no suport for those plugins as far as I know. I don't see support for it even on Windows.

The suggestion will be to contact the author and see if he can add support for it.
Here: https://github.com/textbrowser/dooble/issues

FYI:
- No Script is open source under the GNU GPL V3 - https://github.com/hackademix/noscript
- Ad Block is also GNU GPL V3 - https://github.com/adblockplus

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #199 on: December 26, 2022, 10:11:03 pm »
Hi Ivan,
No extension support. As Martin says, it is a minimal browser. You can turn off JavaScript universally. You can have a list of blocked domains and good cookie management, I have cookie policy set to  "Save Persistent Only" to avoid having to reenter credentials.
Eventually we might get a working falkon browser which does have a builtin ad blocker IIRC and they're planning on adding extensions.
The dependencies have become complex enough that no one has has the motivation to figure them out as using YUM is simpler.
If you don't like the idea of YUM/RPM being installed, you could just use it occasionally by removing the minimal stuff in config.sys and putting it in a cmd file so it only works in a cmd window. Mostly just %UNIXROOT%, LIBPATH (%BEGINLIBPATH%) and %PATH% should be good enough to run dooble.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #200 on: December 28, 2022, 04:59:43 pm »
Hi

I can also chat with the OpenAI logged with Google. - https://chat.openai.com/chat

Ask OpenAI where is the source code of OS/2  ;D

Regards
« Last Edit: December 28, 2022, 05:08:51 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #201 on: January 05, 2023, 01:41:23 am »
I see animated PNG's (APNG) are broken compared to our SeaMonkey, OTOH, WebP images work. Hmm , thought AVIF images also worked when I first tried, but also broken it seems.
https://ezgif.com/help/alternative-animated-image-formats
BTW, also noticed when I installed this version, I lost the icon, replaced by a plain window icon.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #202 on: January 05, 2023, 02:20:47 am »
I see animated PNG's (APNG) are broken compared to our SeaMonkey, OTOH, WebP images work. Hmm , thought AVIF images also worked when I first tried, but also broken it seems.
https://ezgif.com/help/alternative-animated-image-formats
BTW, also noticed when I installed this version, I lost the icon, replaced by a plain window icon.
Yes, I confirm that APNG and AVIF does not work on 2022.10.15.X. That page really makes Dooble very unresponsive on my VM (VirtualBox), and it crashed Doodble.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #203 on: January 08, 2023, 08:39:40 pm »
I see animated PNG's (APNG) are broken compared to our SeaMonkey, OTOH, WebP images work. Hmm , thought AVIF images also worked when I first tried, but also broken it seems.
https://ezgif.com/help/alternative-animated-image-formats
BTW, also noticed when I installed this version, I lost the icon, replaced by a plain window icon.
Yes, I confirm that APNG and AVIF does not work on 2022.10.15.X. That page really makes Dooble very unresponsive on my VM (VirtualBox), and it crashed Doodble.

Regards

Using Paul's Qt6 build of dooble, all excepting mng work. Mng not working is expected. Dooble did vanish after loading the page and scrolling to the bottom of it though it was responsive till then.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #204 on: January 08, 2023, 09:36:17 pm »
Interesting given that page is https - so perhaps it's not quite as simple as just https not working. Wish there was something in popuplog.os2 or an exceptq report!

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #205 on: January 08, 2023, 11:27:32 pm »
I loaded a few HTTPS sites and they all seemed to work. Nothing in popuplog or any trps. Did notice a bunch of cmake related trps in the root of my boot volume, dated Nov 14, 2022.
These quietly vanishing browsers are a bitch. It was happening a lot with FF/SM when using the latest rpm's of NSS and NSPR4. Badly enough that I switched to the intree versions of them, which fixed the browsers.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #206 on: January 08, 2023, 11:35:57 pm »
Site to test security protocols, https://clienttest.ssllabs.com:8443/ssltest/viewMyClient.html, does better then current SM, especially having TLS 1.3.
I see we're at the Chrome 83 level, still a ways behind.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #207 on: January 09, 2023, 12:34:15 am »
Site to test security protocols, https://clienttest.ssllabs.com:8443/ssltest/viewMyClient.html, does better then current SM, especially having TLS 1.3.
I see we're at the Chrome 83 level, still a ways behind.

Interesting.. perhaps the difference here is that you've run highmem on all the DLL's, whereas I just ran it on qt6webee.dll

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #208 on: January 14, 2023, 05:36:26 pm »
Hi

Based on the discussion here, I requested the Dooble author a new feature to preserve the opened tabs when you close the browser.
- https://github.com/textbrowser/dooble/issues/146#issuecomment-1381950517

The author accepted the request and he coded it in Dooble and made new release yesterday (Jan 13).  It is only available for Linux yet, I haven't tried the feature.  He called it "New setting: Retain Session Tabs. See Settings -> History."

But it means the author is checking the suggestions posted on github, so maybe we can suggest something else to improve the browser experience.
Do you want to give it a shot?

Regards
« Last Edit: January 14, 2023, 06:13:52 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #209 on: January 14, 2023, 05:39:53 pm »
Martin that is worth the shot. Anything that makes it better and more stable is a good thing.