Author Topic: Test build of dooble with qt5  (Read 110071 times)

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #240 on: November 23, 2023, 04:19:29 pm »
Got it!  With the August release I coud play audio on YouTube, but not on this version.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #242 on: December 25, 2023, 05:08:16 pm »
Thanks Dave.

It is working as expected here. FYI, here are the changes:
Quote

    Decreased launch time for non-splash-screen: load splash screen's pixmap only if necessary.
    Include GitHub links in release notes. GitHub ticket #203.
    Initiate a floating-clock timer as needed. Preserve resources.
    Injected style sheets are now stored as UTF-8.
    JavaScript Console. GitHub ticket #202. Please see Tools.
    New --full-screen and --help.
    New splash image. Thanks louies0623. GitHub ticket #206.
    Source-only release?
    Speedier compilations via fewer includes.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #243 on: December 26, 2023, 02:29:41 am »
Works good here.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #244 on: December 26, 2023, 04:20:04 am »
works very good here
stable and very fast compared to the previous build (faster than firefox)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #245 on: December 26, 2023, 05:46:31 am »
works very good here
stable and very fast compared to the previous build (faster than firefox)

That's interesting, hopefully the RPM will be the same. Trying to move away from using the BWW stuff for the desktop folder. Slowly getting there.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #246 on: December 26, 2023, 11:10:24 am »
A quick question , does it run NoScript or something like it?  If it doesn't then I am not interested, sorry.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #247 on: December 26, 2023, 03:11:53 pm »
It now remembers history here. That's a nice enhancement.
I find it doesn't really render more websites than Firefox, but I think that's because over years of using Firefox 45, I stopped visiting sites that don't render. Still, it's pretty disappointing that so few websites work.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #248 on: December 26, 2023, 03:20:30 pm »
works very good here
stable and very fast compared to the previous build (faster than firefox)
Hi Dave, I can confirm what Remy wrote. I tested all versions and so far this is the best one, loads faster than the previous versions, closes well as well.
Thank you for your continuing efforts!

Holger

Rene Hvidsoe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #249 on: December 26, 2023, 05:51:23 pm »
I can confirm seems bit more stable, I can browse internet longer than the previous Dooble versions.

God work.

Best Regards

Rene

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #250 on: December 26, 2023, 06:35:18 pm »
Hi Dave, will be glad to test it soon as rpm ready. By my side confirm that the november release solved some previous issues like trap on exit and self-termination as the website workload became heavy. Still remains the oddity of hiding word characters in some pages, usually the head titles (www.repubblica.it , www.libero.it).
Doing a very good job on this project


Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #251 on: December 26, 2023, 09:36:52 pm »
Hello Mauro

I installed Dooble in Windows and I didn't saw any of the problems that you have. My guess is that this font / display issues comes more as an issue of the Qt5 port than the Dooble port.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #252 on: December 26, 2023, 10:03:58 pm »
Hi Mauro, it is actually a bug in the webengine where only some SVG's are displayed. I did file a bug report about it at Bitwise's issue tracker. Have to wait on them.
Also note that all I'm doing is basically building the upstream code and adding the icon to the executable in this case, so it is interesting that there are so many changes from version to version.
The author is the one to thank, I notice that he also has a patreon page that he references if anyone wants to thank him with a donation. Upstream website, https://github.com/textbrowser/dooble

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #253 on: December 27, 2023, 12:11:21 am »
 Thanks Dave for the new version - works great here too. And thanks Martin for requesting the password repository at www.github.com/textbrowser... looks like it may be in our future! Dooble just keeps getting better.

 @Mauro - I don't see your issue here either. What fonts do you have loaded in your settings? I have:

Cursive: Comic Sans MS
Fantasy: Monotype Sans WT
Fixed: DejaVu Sans Mono
Pictograph: DejaVu Serif
Sans Serif: DejaVu Sans
Serif: DejaVu Serif
Standard: DejaVu Serif

 Maybe try these?

@Ivan - no plugins like NoScript, but you can turn off Javascript completely in settings, or on a tab-by-tab basis (right click tab, uncheck 'JavaScript'), or with this new version even inject your own! (Tools: Javascript console)

Regards,

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Test build of dooble with qt5
« Reply #254 on: December 27, 2023, 12:31:15 am »
Hi David, the problem is SVG being used to draw characters, so doesn't matter what fonts you have installed. The Simplebrowser has the same issue.