Author Topic: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters  (Read 2269 times)

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« on: May 08, 2022, 01:25:32 pm »
hi all, can someone tell why both Dooble and Simple Browser miss some character when displaying the page, see for example the main page of La Repubblica (attached image) where only four characters of the paper headname are visible ?
Thank you

Tom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2022, 02:45:55 pm »
hi all, can someone tell why both Dooble and Simple Browser miss some character when displaying the page, see for example the main page of La Repubblica (attached image) where only four characters of the paper headname are visible ?
Thank you

Probably the issue that is mentioned in the updated readme-os2.txt ? See 

https://github.com/bitwiseworks/dooble-os2/commit/08e827a3f7cc4cf8225af457f18fbafa93457e03

and also

https://github.com/bitwiseworks/fontconfig-os2/issues/1

and Dmitriy's earlier post here at the os2world forum:

https://www.os2world.com/forum/index.php/topic,3046.msg34461.html#msg34461

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1549
  • Karma: +4/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2022, 08:41:11 pm »
I had better results, when I installed the DejaVu fonts before installing Dooble. At least it picked the proper fonts. I still have one web site, that has missing characters (see image). I suspect that the font is downloaded from the web site, and Dooble doesn't render it properly.

One picture shows what Dooble does. The other shows what Firefox does.


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3664
  • Karma: +77/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2022, 09:59:59 pm »
It's nothing to do with a downloadable font as far as I can tell. Looks the same with JavaScript turned off. It's weird text as it is non-selectable. SeaMonkey uses these fonts to display the page here,
Code: [Select]
DejaVu LGC Sans Bold
Arial Bold
Arial
DejaVu LGC Serif
DejaVu LGC Sans

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1549
  • Karma: +4/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2022, 10:37:52 pm »
I have wondered if it is actually a "picture", but it is not selectable. Note that the logo (in the yellow part), is also missing. I haven't noticed anything else missing. I assume that usable fonts are installed, because Firefox renders it correctly.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3664
  • Karma: +77/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2022, 12:31:21 am »
If you examine the image, it is the-weather-network-logo.svg and likely the text beside it is also svg. Hmm, going to https://www.w3schools.com/graphics/svg_examples.asp and running an example in Dooble results in "Sorry, your browser does not support inline SVG" SeaMonkey the same result.
In conclusion, seems SVG support is more broken in Dooble then Mozilla.

David McKenna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2022, 12:17:40 pm »
 Hey Dave,

  Those svg examples work on Dooble just fine here - maybe a missing dependancy? I do see the missing letters and logo on 'TheWeatherNetwork' though...

Regards,

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3664
  • Karma: +77/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2022, 03:27:23 pm »
Hmm, today they're working here

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2022, 09:00:40 pm »

Probably the issue that is mentioned in the updated readme-os2.txt ? See 

https://github.com/bitwiseworks/dooble-os2/commit/08e827a3f7cc4cf8225af457f18fbafa93457e03

and also

https://github.com/bitwiseworks/fontconfig-os2/issues/1

and Dmitriy's earlier post here at the os2world forum:

https://www.os2world.com/forum/index.php/topic,3046.msg34461.html#msg34461

ok:
installed Droid fonts selected in Wb Settings = no changes
installed Dejavu fonts from both zipped directory and wpi archive = no changes

If there is something else to do about it, which I'm missing (ie. a further configuration, additional settings, a priest blessing) please tell me, otherwise is good to give up. Firefox is still doing good in most of the situations where Dooble-Simplebrowser are failing.
Thank you anyway for trying to assist me in this.

David McKenna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2022, 11:42:57 pm »
 Hi Mauro,

  Here is what I have set as fonts in Dooble (chosen automatically because I already had them installed when I got Dooble):

Cursive = Comic Sans MS
Fantasy = Impact
Fixed = Deja Vu Sans Mono
Pictograph = Deja Vu Serif
Sans Serif = Deja Vu Sans Serif
Serif = Deja Vu Serif
Standard = Deja Vu Serif

 The first 2 are from the MS Core Fonts msfontpack_2.0.wpi at http://Hobbes.nmsu.edu. The last 5 are from the Deja Vu pack you have. Check the 'Web' page under 'Settings' for the font settings.

Regards,

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2022, 07:04:54 pm »
Hi Mauro,

  Here is what I have set as fonts in Dooble (chosen automatically because I already had them installed when I got Dooble):

Cursive = Comic Sans MS
Fantasy = Impact
Fixed = Deja Vu Sans Mono
Pictograph = Deja Vu Serif
Sans Serif = Deja Vu Sans Serif
Serif = Deja Vu Serif
Standard = Deja Vu Serif

 The first 2 are from the MS Core Fonts msfontpack_2.0.wpi at http://Hobbes.nmsu.edu. The last 5 are from the Deja Vu pack you have. Check the 'Web' page under 'Settings' for the font settings.

Regards,

thank you, made it and then Apply, but no luck  (see images)

just mention that I've tried to make everything suggested on this forum for make this alternative browser work reliably: took all QT5 packages adviced and corrected some conflict noted on error messages, all pakages updated by Yum, all packages i686 converted into Pentium4. I would also accept the extreme system instability taken after all this (ie. traps 90% times on any browser exit, with Firefox as well). But Dooble doesn't open Gmail, Youtube, Linkedin, it loses characters on a website which I access most frequently, as you see. Understand that this software developing requires work+patience, it is free despite time spent from people behind it. But as I read here on various dedicated thread that Dooble is working mostly well while in my system is a disaster, does not make me so happy, because I'm focused too for obtaining an acceptable level of usability.  Sorry for the outburst
« Last Edit: May 10, 2022, 07:50:02 pm by mauro »

David McKenna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 407
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2022, 10:35:20 pm »
 Hi Mauro,

 Well - I guess I should have tried it first! When I go to 'la Reppublica' I also see what you see - missing letters in the headline. Probably for the same reason as Doug saw on 'TheWeatherNetwork'. No idea why, so probably should be reported at github as a bug.

Regards,

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3664
  • Karma: +77/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2022, 03:50:19 am »
Hi Mauro,

 Well - I guess I should have tried it first! When I go to 'la Reppublica' I also see what you see - missing letters in the headline. Probably for the same reason as Doug saw on 'TheWeatherNetwork'. No idea why, so probably should be reported at github as a bug.

Regards,

Probably SVG problem

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1363
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2022, 07:09:02 am »
Hi David,

I doubt ant bug reporting would be any use.  It appears the developer gave up on the browser 7 years ago so I don't think we can expect any help from him.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3664
  • Karma: +77/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble Browser rendering - missing characters
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2022, 07:55:08 am »
Hi David,

I doubt ant bug reporting would be any use.  It appears the developer gave up on the browser 7 years ago so I don't think we can expect any help from him.

You mean the upsteam developer? Latest commit was 17 hours ago according to https://github.com/textbrowser/dooble
As for the port, most of the problems are actually in the Qt5 webengine, think Gecko for Firefox, SeaMonkey and Thunderbird