Author Topic: ColorWorks ArcaOS  (Read 1211 times)

christech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ColorWorks ArcaOS
« on: September 29, 2022, 07:01:24 pm »
I recently installed ColorWorks but it will not load an image. I tried multiple formats. When opening an image I get an error: "An error occurred when trying to open the file." Has anyone run into this issue before?

Mike Engle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2022, 07:14:12 pm »
Sorry no problems here.  Running fine under ArcaOS.  But I did install the program some time ago.  Also I am using the old (original) file open container.
ME
« Last Edit: October 03, 2022, 04:51:18 pm by Mike Engle »

christech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2022, 11:49:26 pm »
I also tried removing it and reinstalling it but the issue persists.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1207
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2022, 03:03:07 am »
It's been a while since I used it here, but what image are you trying to open? ...what format is what I'm really asking...

christech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2022, 05:48:31 am »
I tried TIFF, JPEG and GIF.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
  • Karma: +81/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2022, 06:49:29 am »
What about a BMP? Also have you looked in popuplog.os2? Might be a sys2070 there.

Michael

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2022, 08:13:08 am »
Try disabling the file open container that comes with ArcaOS.

Sean Casey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2022, 04:21:46 am »
Hi,

Per Arca Noae...

The new FOC is enabled by default. To disable it and switch back to the original OS/2 file open dialog:
1. Open an OS/2 command prompt.
2. Change to the \sys\INSTALL\FOC directory on the boot volume.
3. Type “filedlgtofocdlg /U” and press <Enter>.
4. Restart the system.

To reenable the new FOC (any previous settings should be restored):
1. Open an OS/2 command prompt.
2. Change to the \sys\INSTALL\FOC directory on the boot volume.
3. Type “filedlgtofocdlg /I” and press <Enter>.
4. Restart the system.

Also, ColorWorks does not work well on OS/2 systems that use display drivers based on GRADD.  Issues include missing (all black) effects previews if the stacking option is used, and lockups in various effects dialogs.  A patch is available for v.1 and v.2 to address these issues.

christech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ColorWorks ArcaOS
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2022, 07:58:47 pm »
Enabling the old FOC did the trick. Thanks for the suggestion.