Author Topic: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro  (Read 1176 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« on: October 10, 2022, 01:10:54 am »
I'm looking at a computer that has a bit of trouble printing from Lotus SmartSuite Word Pro. I ask for three copies, collated, but none at all come out.

On a nearly identical computer and printer, it works perfectly. I can't get at the failing machine, so I'm attaching testlog of the machine that works.

I'm not really expecting an easy answer, but I'd appreciate advice about solving printing problems like this. I'm actually kind of expecting that it is significant that it is WordPro trying to print. It's a short document with an image or two, and the spool file is 50 megabytes.

It seems to take a long time for copies to print. And yet, on my regular desktop machine, printing starts in a second or two.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2022, 09:52:42 am »
I can think of two things. Look that the empty paper, especially if any printer is previously uninstalled.
In the Log says that the config.Sys have an order error, which may or may not be a problem.
The virtual 3072, 1586??

Saludos

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2022, 03:26:52 pm »
Hi Neil

Some questions rather than answers:-

1] Does anything print from the printer

2] What printer is involved

3] What printer driver is involved


Regards

Pete

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2022, 03:48:43 pm »
Hi Neil

Some questions rather than answers:-

1] Does anything print from the printer

Yes. All printers work pretty well for other jobs. That's why I think this is a Lotus issue.

2] What printer is involved

HP M252dw and HP M47x Color Laserjet Pro; both fairly modern printers.

3] What printer driver is involved

 Laserjet and/or Postscript (PSPRINT)  drivers

Neil
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Doug Bissett

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1565
  • Karma: +4/-2
    • View Profile
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2022, 07:45:42 pm »
I seem to recall, that LSS has problems, when you switch printers. It needs to be reset somehow. Unfortunately, I don't remember the details.

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2022, 09:36:56 pm »
Check the spooler program, enable disable enable and the redirection is ok?
saludos

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1142
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2022, 02:06:49 am »
Hi Neil

Very long time since I last used Wordpro and about the only printing problem I can recall was page size related. If there was a paper mismatch nothing got printed - and there was no message anywhere about page size problems.

If cups is involved check all required bits'n'bobs are installed and at the same level - might be worth checking the cups bits installed on the working system to see if there are any differences.


Regards

Pete

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 880
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: printing from Lotus SmartSuite WordPro
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2022, 03:35:16 pm »
SOM is one potential difference. A system with the OS/2 toolkit installed has a different SOM path from one without.

But two identical systems, one prints, one does not. hmmm. I have to think about what Doug posted about changing printers under Lotus.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com