Author Topic: Qt6 Development  (Read 27104 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #315 on: December 31, 2022, 12:22:16 am »
Morning update before I head out for lunch. Had to edit a header file from V8, which caused a number of files to need to rebuilt. Currently back to [3603/8465]. Hopefully when I get back from lunch I'll be back around the 1000 actions to go :)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #316 on: December 31, 2022, 06:11:27 am »
Epic fail there... .ninja_log corrupted again, and after rebuilding it - I was back to ~12000 files. within 15min or so, I'm back to [600/8130] so we'll see what happens

I also ordered the Intel NUC I posted the other day.... there were some ebay cashback offers today so saved about $A25 off the purchase price, so 'only' $A350 :) It will probably arrive the day I go back to work!
« Last Edit: December 31, 2022, 07:13:57 am by Paul Smedley »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4043
  • Karma: +81/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #317 on: December 31, 2022, 07:11:02 am »
Ninja_log is how ninja keeps track of what it's done? Can you back it up now and again? Even an open file should be copyable.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #318 on: December 31, 2022, 07:41:12 am »
Yeah I might have to start doing something like that. The other thing I just realised is that when i built ninja, I didn't increase the stack from the default, and didn't explicitly set -Zhigh-mem

Just rebuilt ninja.exe with an 8mb stack and with high-mem set

Edit: this didn't help - I'm now getting one build attempt, then a hang on the next one.... weird stuff

Edit: I've bitten the bullet and removed .ninja_log, which will trigger a full rebuild. I did this partly as I want to try building without -g0 - and to do that was going to trigger a rebuild anyway.

Set it going, and hopefully, by the time I check it in 2023, I'll be close to being back to where I was :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 2022, 09:10:22 am by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #319 on: January 01, 2023, 08:16:24 am »
Welp... I'm back to the build getting stuck.... I built a fresh VM as well, and see similar issues there - where vbox gives a:
Code: [Select]
08:11:02.723172 !!         VCPU0: Guru Meditation 1155 (VINF_EM_TRIPLE_FAULT)
08:11:02.723190 !!
08:11:02.723201 !! ACTIVE TRAP=08 ERRCD=0 CR2=00000000deadface PC=0000000000000000 Type=0 cbInstr=ff fIcebp=false (Guest!)
08:11:02.723210 !! Skipping ring-0 registers and stack, rcErr=VINF_EM_TRIPLE_FAULT
08:11:02.723221 !!
08:11:02.723221 !! {mappings, <NULL>}
08:11:02.723222 !!
08:11:02.723238 !!
08:11:02.723239 !! {hma, <NULL>}
08:11:02.723240 !!
08:11:02.723241 !!
08:11:02.723241 !! {cpumguest, verbose}
08:11:02.723246 !!

I've just set a fresh build going with Dave's version of ninja.exe - just in case there is a problem introduced in newer ninja.

Incidentally, native is much quicker than vbox.. Both builds started around the same time:
Native - i5 - 4th Gen - 2x cores - [1896/25370]
Vbox - i7-1165G7 - 4x cores - [1345/25370]

I'm at a bit of a loss now on how to get past this, assuming that reverting to the older ninja doesn't help :(
« Last Edit: January 01, 2023, 08:29:01 am by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #320 on: January 02, 2023, 06:08:30 am »
@Tellie @dryeo - can you please try a ninja build with https://smedley.id.au/tmp/cmake-3.19.8-os2-20230102.zip ? I tested with qtwebchannel and it seems to create a proper def file... I just want to make sure it's not just me :)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4043
  • Karma: +81/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #321 on: January 02, 2023, 06:14:06 am »
@Tellie @dryeo - can you please try a ninja build with https://smedley.id.au/tmp/cmake-3.19.8-os2-20230102.zip ? I tested with qtwebchannel and it seems to create a proper def file... I just want to make sure it's not just me :)

I'll try overnight, as you know the memory problems make it hard, can't run anything else while it runs :)
Actually, I guess it just needs to build the first DLL, the def will tell whether it got the internal name correct.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #322 on: January 02, 2023, 06:34:24 am »
@Tellie @dryeo - can you please try a ninja build with https://smedley.id.au/tmp/cmake-3.19.8-os2-20230102.zip ? I tested with qtwebchannel and it seems to create a proper def file... I just want to make sure it's not just me :)

I'll try overnight, as you know the memory problems make it hard, can't run anything else while it runs :)
Actually, I guess it just needs to build the first DLL, the def will tell whether it got the internal name correct.

Yeah you should be able to look at the .def that gets created - that's why I tested with qtwebchannel - I think it's just about the smallest module :P

Edit: oops the test was invalid, as building modules uses the makefile type from qtbase :/

Trying qtbase now..

Edit2: bugger - the def still has:
LIBRARY "lib/Qt6Core.dll" INITINSTANCE TERMINSTANCE

we want it just be "Qt6Core.dll"
« Last Edit: January 02, 2023, 07:49:03 am by Paul Smedley »

TeLLie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #323 on: January 02, 2023, 08:10:53 am »
Hi Paul,

Will look @ it this evening when home :)

Wish you  and everybody all the best for 2023 :P

Hi Paul,

Yes  as you mention still get the LIBRARY "lib/Qt6Core.dll" INITINSTANCE TERMINSTANCE

Also notice that the cmake proceduces bogus in the def files like:

DESCRIPTION "@#cmake build system:# #@##1## 25 Dec 2022 11:24:06     TeLLieLaPPie::::0::@@pdfmm_shared"

But it should be like:

DESCRIPTION "@#cmake build system:1.1.0#@##1## 25 Dec 2022 11:24:06     TeLLieLaPPie::::0::@@pdfmm_shared"

« Last Edit: January 02, 2023, 09:04:42 pm by TeLLie »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4043
  • Karma: +81/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #324 on: January 02, 2023, 08:44:00 am »
Yea, I got confused at first thinking that Qt5 could use cmake. Building Qt6Core.dll I see in Qt6Core.dll.def,
Code: [Select]
LIBRARY "lib/Qt6Core.dll" INITINSTANCE TERMINSTANCE
DESCRIPTION "@#cmake build system:0.0#@##1## 01 Jan 2023 22:40:17     ARCAOS-44454C4::::0::@@Core"
DATA MULTIPLE NONSHARED
So not fixed.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #325 on: January 02, 2023, 09:03:33 am »
Yeah sorry, I kinda understand why now.... but not sure (yet) how to fix it...
« Last Edit: January 02, 2023, 10:14:43 pm by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #326 on: January 02, 2023, 10:14:28 pm »
FYI - I setup sponsorship via Github - https://github.com/sponsors/psmedley

This allows folks to set a monthly amount they'd like to sponsor, or do one off sponsorship. All content will remain free, just thought I'd give another option for those who want to support the project.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #327 on: January 02, 2023, 10:15:33 pm »
Yeah sorry, I kinda understand why now.... but not sure (yet) how to fix it...

Actually, I have some ideas.... there's some background info at https://github.com/psmedley/cmake-os2/issues/1

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #328 on: January 03, 2023, 12:07:54 am »
Build update... I actually have 3x separate builds going on right now....

M73p - (4th gen i5) running with 1x job only (ie no parallel builds) - currently at [24998/25370]
Virtualbox - running with 4x cores and 4x parallel jobs - currently at [16066/19725]
T470s (6th gen i7, running with 4x cores and 4x parallel jobs) - currently at [1341/7551]

I have dump partitions setup under Virtualbox and on the T470s for when ninja starts playing up... Unfortunately, I didn't leave any free space on the SSD on the M73p to setup a dump partition - so at some point I'll have to do a backup / repartition/ restore.

edit: vbox crapped out at [16241/19725] with a 'Guru meditation' fault :(
« Last Edit: January 03, 2023, 12:38:21 am by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Karma: +130/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6
« Reply #329 on: January 03, 2023, 01:32:12 am »
The M73 build got to around 250 files to go then had some build errors which I fixed.

I just resumed it (and it worked, phew!) But I only got as far as:
8/247] CXX obj/ABS_PATH/U/DEV/qt6-webengine-os2/build/src/core/Release/i386/qtwebengine_sources/webrtc_log_uploader.o

More later this afternoon.... About to head out for the day