Author Topic: Qt6 Development  (Read 254508 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #540 on: January 31, 2023, 09:59:31 am »
Agree its confusing..... the platform specific stuff went into the respective *screen.cpp functions - for now it works... will revisit at a later date - for now there's bigger fish to fry like broken qprocess_os2.cpp and certificate errors in chromium...

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4823
  • Karma: +42/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #541 on: February 02, 2023, 08:36:16 pm »
Guys

Do you think this news will impact us in a negative way? "Google To Allow Rust Code In The Chromium Browser" (12 January 2023)
Is it only the Chromiun browser or will affect the engine that is getting ported to OS/2 ?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #542 on: February 02, 2023, 09:29:56 pm »
Hey Martin,
Do you think this news will impact us in a negative way? "Google To Allow Rust Code In The Chromium Browser" (12 January 2023)
Is it only the Chromiun browser or will affect the engine that is getting ported to OS/2 ?

In the fullness of time, I believe this will impact us. The current plan (https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/main/docs/adding_to_third_party.md#Rust) is to only allow it in 3rd party libraries, and only in certain situations.

Given the memory usage of this beast, at some point, it's going to get extremely challenging to run a modern browser in <= 4gb of RAM -  which seems insane when I used to run OS/2 Warp with 8mb or 16mb of RAM.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #543 on: February 04, 2023, 09:02:57 am »
I might try look at implementing an OS2 backend for Qt Multimedia - based on the OS/2 audio code from Chromium at https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-webengine-os2/tree/main/src/3rdparty/chromium/media/audio/os2

But I should fix qprocess first :)
« Last Edit: February 04, 2023, 09:06:48 am by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #544 on: February 05, 2023, 01:39:00 am »
Fixed the noise of the 'Broken filename passed to function' errors.

Created a new ticket to document the Qprocess issues - https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-base-os2/issues/12

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #545 on: February 05, 2023, 09:50:51 am »
Has anyone else tried building QtWebEngine from git? (Qt6 version of course)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4860
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #546 on: February 05, 2023, 05:28:54 pm »
Has anyone else tried building QtWebEngine from git? (Qt6 version of course)

Not yet. I do finally have the git tree checked out. How is your tree setup? I'm not sure which other Qt6 libs are needed.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #547 on: February 05, 2023, 09:13:43 pm »
Hey Dave,

Has anyone else tried building QtWebEngine from git? (Qt6 version of course)

Not yet. I do finally have the git tree checked out. How is your tree setup? I'm not sure which other Qt6 libs are needed.

Cool. I basically have all the pre-built Qt6 stuff in /qt6 and to configure the webengine run:
Code: [Select]
dash /qt6/bin/qt-configure-module .. 2>&1 | tee configure.log
from u:/dev/qt6-webengine-os2/build

Note that for some of the larger c++ files, you'll likely need VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT set to 3072 to avoid out of memory errors. Running ninja with the default settings for jobs can also lead to memory exhaustion, so I tend to manually run 'ninja -j1'  from build/src/core/Release/i386

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4860
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #548 on: February 05, 2023, 10:20:56 pm »
Ok, which prebuilt Qt6 stuff did you need?
Guess the last package you uploaded is complete?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2023, 01:43:20 am by Dave Yeo »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #549 on: February 06, 2023, 01:29:28 am »
Just the contents of the qt6 distro that is posted here. Assuming you've unzipped that somewhere, and bit removed anything, it's all in there.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4860
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #550 on: February 06, 2023, 01:48:53 am »
OK, what environment to target? eg, configure died looking for /bin/pwd, I quickly changed it to pwd but could have created a /bin directory or changed it to /@unixroot/usr/bin/pwd.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #551 on: February 06, 2023, 02:05:37 am »
I'm just using rpm - although I may have managed to have a copy of PWD in /bin from my own Dev environment

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4860
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #552 on: February 06, 2023, 03:11:00 am »
Guess I'm going to have to install Python3, after backing up:)
What is unclear is what to run after the configure step. Tried Cmake, it did a bunch of stuff and then exited and ninja seems to be missing something.
Code: [Select]
[1/464] Generating .rcc/qmlcache/WebEngineQuickDelegatesQml_qmlcache_loader.cpp
FAILED: src/webenginequick/ui/.rcc/qmlcache/WebEngineQuickDelegatesQml_qmlcache_loader.cpp
cd L:/work/qt6/qt6-webengine-os2/build/src/webenginequick/ui && L:/qt6/bin/qmlcachegen.exe --resource-name qmlcache_WebEngineQuickDelegatesQml --resource L:/work/qt6/qt6-webengine-os2/build/src/webenginequick/ui/.rcc/qmake_QtWebEngine_ControlsDelegates.qrc --resource L:/work/qt6/qt6-webengine-os2/build/src/webenginequick/ui/.rcc/WebEngineQuickDelegatesQml_raw_qml_0.qrc -o L:/work/qt6/qt6-webengine-os2/build/src/webenginequick/ui/.rcc/qmlcache/WebEngineQuickDelegatesQml_qmlcache_loader.cpp @L:/work/qt6/qt6-webengine-os2/build/src/webenginequick/ui/.rcc/qmlcache/WebEngineQuickDelegatesQml_qml_loader_file_list.rsp
/@unixroot/usr/bin/sh: 1: L:/qt6/bin/qmlcachegen.exe: not found
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2120
  • Karma: +165/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #553 on: February 06, 2023, 04:50:00 am »
Hey Dave,

You definitely don't need python3 for Qt 6.2.4. For 6.3.x it's a different story - python3 is required.

The way I read that ninja error, L:/qt6/bin/qmlcachegen.exe is not found

Does it exist and can it be run?

Cheers,

Paul.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4860
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Development
« Reply #554 on: February 06, 2023, 06:26:44 pm »
OK, Python3 does not want to install here, stupid RPM. I forget to set BEGINLIBPATH.