Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 139973 times)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • Karma: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #450 on: August 27, 2023, 06:07:48 pm »
There's also now Version 2023.08.30,
Code: [Select]
Release Notes

    Create new page via double-click on a tab bar. GitHub ticket #196.
    OS/2 and QLocalServer::UserAccessOption corrections.
    Qt 6.5.2 LTS.
For Paul to build.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4668
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #451 on: October 09, 2023, 11:43:19 pm »
Hello.

Tellie just ported "uchmviewer", an epub book viewer, using Qt6.
It also requires the Qt6 ffmpeg DLLs.

- http://rpm.netlabs.org/test/QT6/uchmviewer-test.7z

Please test it out too.

Regards
« Last Edit: October 09, 2023, 11:44:58 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #452 on: October 13, 2023, 11:00:23 pm »
Tellie asked me on IRC about a build of Qt 6.5.3 - so here it is - https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.5.3-os2-20230930.zip

No OS/2 specific fixes over the previous builds  - and no webengine due to the issues with building the v8/javascript engine (see https://github.com/bitwiseworks/node-os2/issues/1)

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #453 on: October 14, 2023, 02:18:05 pm »
Thanks Paul,

  I gave it a try using the examples provided and notice right away that I get a lot of 'module 'workerscript' not found' messages with qml examples. That was a problem with earlier versions that you fixed at one point...

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #454 on: October 15, 2023, 02:12:31 am »
Yep, seems I forgot to configure qtdeclarative with '-no-feature-qml-worker-script' - rebuilding it now

https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.5.3-os2-20231015.zip might fix the workerscript errors.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2023, 10:59:42 am by Paul Smedley »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #455 on: October 17, 2023, 11:20:26 am »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.5.3-os2-20231017.zip  is rebuild using latest bww cmake. DLL names have changed so this will break compatability with any apps built against previous 6.5.x drops,  however it should make future maintenance easier (for me).

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #456 on: October 17, 2023, 12:59:22 pm »
Thanks Paul,

  Did a quick check of some examples with this one and I don't see the 'workerscript' error anymore, but now see things like:

'module "QtCharts" plugin "qtchartsqml2" not found', or 'module "QtQuick.particles" plugin "particles" not found' (many others too) with qml stuff. Don't remember if this happened before. Maybe more DLL name length adjustments needed?

 Also I commonly see: 'RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded' in failed tests.

 I'll do some more checking after work....

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #457 on: October 17, 2023, 10:26:10 pm »
'module "QtCharts" plugin "qtchartsqml2" not found', or 'module "QtQuick.particles" plugin "particles" not found' (many others too) with qml stuff. Don't remember if this happened before. Maybe more DLL name length adjustments needed?

Yep - I think this is the 'qmldir' issue - I need to work out how to write the 8.3 filename into qmldir...

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #458 on: October 30, 2023, 09:44:19 am »
Some of the qml issues are almost certainly due to https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-declarative-os2/issues/2#issuecomment-1784224726

I've worked around these now and am rebuilding....

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #459 on: November 08, 2023, 03:01:15 am »
Hey all, as I alluded to in the Development thread, I'd spent the last few days updating the Qt 6.2.x branch to the latest opensource release (6.2.6). The first public builds of this are available from https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.2.6-os2-20231108.zip

The intent behind focussing on the 6.2.x is to try and get a stable(ish) build of the browser. Dave Mckenna and Tellie have done some limited testing of the non webengine components, but the webengine has been tested only as far as to see that a page loads (it did!).

No attempts (yet) to try youtube or to use the separate vpx and av1 dll's that helped with youtube previously.

The chromium version in this build is the same what was included in Qt 6.3.2.

Dooble build to match this will follow - hopefully today.

Cheers,

Paul.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • Karma: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #460 on: November 08, 2023, 04:07:35 am »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #461 on: November 08, 2023, 04:10:39 am »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2089
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #462 on: November 08, 2023, 04:12:10 am »
Have you checked out https://github.com/komh/dav1d-os2, there's also https://github.com/komh/libvpx-os2 at 1.8.
Not yet.... I'd kinda like to understand why compiling the ASM as part of qtwebengine doesnt work - I did notice that nasm reports a warning whilst compiling the ASM - see https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-webengine-os2/issues/16 - which may be part of the issue...

Cheers,

Paul

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • Karma: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #463 on: November 08, 2023, 04:49:22 am »
I see your zip files are still somewhat broken, File Commander won't unzip them and manually, lots of warnings about absolute path spec,
Code: [Select]
warning:  stripped absolute path spec from /dooble/README.md
  inflating: dooble/README.md         (160 bytes EAs)

YouTube is sure CPU intensive here, takes minutes before I can open a video and the homepage is only displaying the first few videos, rest are grey rounded rectangles.
Switched to single process mode, seems even slower and see this warning,
Code: [Select]
[153:1:1107/194354.214000:ERROR:system_network_context_manager.cpp(299)] Cannot
use V8 Proxy resolver in single process mode.

Hopefully not important. I'll add to this post whenever Dooble allows me to open a video.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4759
  • Karma: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #464 on: November 08, 2023, 05:28:00 am »
Eventually it locked up the system, twice. Starting with a new profile, Dooble would vanish when it started rendering YouTube.
For regular browsing it seems fine.