Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 327403 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #720 on: January 05, 2025, 02:45:31 am »
Thanks Paul - this is a big improvement. All network examples work here except 'http'(SIGSEGV) and Torrent (seems to work, but doesn't actually download anything, but no crash now). The qmlchartsgallery, quick, and quickcontrols examples mostly run but don't work right and see a lot of 'Maximum stack size exceeded' errors, but no crashes now (even when I move the 'shared' folder to the root and update the qmldir file). The ones without a 'shared' subdirectory seem to work.
I probably need to investigate a better fix than https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-declarative-os2/commit/966681997f98b837a77a1b7fdabe72d08eeda98e :)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #721 on: January 05, 2025, 03:19:30 am »
qtbase *only* updated to 6.7.3 - https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-base-6.7.3-os2-20250105.zip

eventdispatcher_os2.cpp needs updating - see https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-base-os2/issues/17

The couple of examples I tested seemed to work ok. I'll now try and merge 6.8.x and if that works, will port all the other modules (excepting webengine).

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #722 on: January 05, 2025, 04:21:11 pm »
Paul,

  Gave this 6.7 build a try and I get pretty much identical results with the examples I got with 6.6. dbus examples don't work, anything with 'rhi' doesn't work, drag and drop doesn't work, no systray, no screenshot, no touch, http crashed, torrent doesn't download. Everything else is good. Some apps (soduku, media-downloader, tea) worked with it fine. Others would either give an error about missing libraries, or hang the system (very annoying, why would that happen if a library is missing?).

  For fun, I then dropped this build on top of the 6.6 tree to see what would happen. Most apps worked, but 2 that did not were Dooble and LibreCAD (Dooble silent exits, LibreCAD moans about mixed versions of QT components).

Regards,
« Last Edit: January 05, 2025, 04:23:39 pm by David McKenna »

TeLLie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #723 on: January 05, 2025, 06:55:40 pm »
Hi all,
A other small app for downloading Youtube files

Dint test much, just tried one url and that did the job ok.

http://rpm.netlabs.org/test/QT6/yt_dl_gui-os2-05012025-qt6.7z


Greetz, Tellie

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #724 on: January 05, 2025, 09:19:54 pm »
  Gave this 6.7 build a try and I get pretty much identical results with the examples I got with 6.6. dbus examples don't work, anything with 'rhi' doesn't work, drag and drop doesn't work, no systray, no screenshot, no touch, http crashed, torrent doesn't download. Everything else is good. Some apps (soduku, media-downloader, tea) worked with it fine. Others would either give an error about missing libraries, or hang the system (very annoying, why would that happen if a library is missing?).

  For fun, I then dropped this build on top of the 6.6 tree to see what would happen. Most apps worked, but 2 that did not were Dooble and LibreCAD (Dooble silent exits, LibreCAD moans about mixed versions of QT components).

Thanks for confirming :) I have te following DLLs so far from 6.8.1:
Code: [Select]
  5/01/25  19:33         321,108      0  Qt6Concu.dll
 5/01/25  19:33      12,111,026      0  Qt6Core.dll
 6/01/25   6:50       1,434,724      0  Qt6DBus.dll
 6/01/25   6:48       3,586,446      0  Qt6Netwo.dll
 5/01/25  19:34         686,304      0  Qt6Sql.dll
 5/01/25  19:34         961,479      0  Qt6Xml.dll

If I get 6.8.1 base working, with examples working similar to 6.6/6.7, I'll build out the remaining 6.8.1 modules and we can see if we can get the 6.2 webengine working with it :)

However, I'm back at work this week, so progress will likely slow down....

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #725 on: January 06, 2025, 04:43:48 am »
However, I'm back at work this week, so progress will likely slow down....

Well 6.8.1 base is built, and I built shadertools and had started on declartative. Noticed the OS/2 box was unresponsive - rebooted and got a SYS2070 erorr <sigh>

Fortunately, I imaged the SSD in that machine a couple of weeks ago, so worst case, I'll restore that image. Meanwhile, I'm reinstalling AOS on the C: and hope that that fixes things. Will be a mild PITA as I'll need to reinstall a bunch of RPM packages <sigh> (or maybe I'll zip/unzip the c:\usr directory from the VM I created using the drive image).

I think I've found the problem, got the box back up and running, and soon enough, got a hung build and missing files from c: drive, but noticed an error on the console:
Code: [Select]
[47/7792] Generating .qsb/scenegraph/shaders_ng/24bittextmask.frag.qsb.mv2qsb
QTemporaryDir: Unable to remove "C:\\var\\temp\\qsb-ceVugD" most likely due to the presence of read-only files.

What I *think* is the case is that there is a nasty bug with either Qt 6.7 or Qt 6.8 where QTemporaryDir doesn't correclt support drive letters, and in trying to remove c:\var\temp\qsb-ceVugD it's actually removing files in the root directory....
« Last Edit: January 06, 2025, 06:14:00 am by Paul Smedley »

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #726 on: January 06, 2025, 11:29:53 pm »
 Wow... that's a wicked bug!

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #727 on: January 06, 2025, 11:35:19 pm »
Wow... that's a wicked bug!

Yep! Let's just say that if I hadn't imaged the SSD a couple of weeks ago, that I'm not sure I could have beared rebuilding the AOS drive with the compiler, etc...

I have a couple of mitigations in mind - including moving the temp directory to a separate drive (ram disk?) and also getting the tests built so I can hopefully pickup where the bug is - I guess some API is returning a / or something which is then interpreted as being the root directory...  Could not believe it when the computer froze then the c:\ was empty......

I'll also do my next testing in a VM *after* backing up the image - easier to copy over an image then remove/reimage an SSD...
« Last Edit: January 07, 2025, 12:07:21 am by Paul Smedley »

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #728 on: January 07, 2025, 12:08:19 am »
 I wonder how Windows avoids such a fate with QT6.7+? Since it uses drives too...

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #729 on: January 07, 2025, 12:10:50 am »
I wonder how Windows avoids such a fate with QT6.7+? Since it uses drives too...

It'll be a case where I've missed a new #ifdef Q_OS_WIN which needs updating to #ifdef Q_OS_DOSLIKE so that OS/2 uses the same codepath.

I'll investigate later today - just happy I've kinda rebuilt things - just missing pre-compiled Qt 6.6, 6.7 and 6.8 for testing purposes (as in the build folders for each of the modules....

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #730 on: January 07, 2025, 12:31:43 am »
 OK, glad you're back on your feet. One thing about learning something the hard way (if you survive) is you don't quickly forget...

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #731 on: January 07, 2025, 06:25:36 am »
OK, glad you're back on your feet. One thing about learning something the hard way (if you survive) is you don't quickly forget...

Hmmmm was that a gag about my recent (well a month ago) injury??? https://www.linkedin.com/posts/paulsmedleyau_i-wanted-to-share-the-below-in-the-hope-activity-7271285592322142208-DiUS :)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5216
  • Karma: +120/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #732 on: January 07, 2025, 07:45:10 am »
Be worth investing in a 1 or 2 TB USB HD and using rsync regularly to back things up, it's what I do. One caveat if you go that route, partition into a few 500GB partitions to prevent chkdsk running out of memory. I had some millions of files backed up and had to start over as chkdsk just wouldn't finish.
I have my tmp stuff on the ramdisk H:, had to format it JFS as building Mozilla was failing due to S files over 2GB.
I have in my startup.cmd
Code: [Select]
if exist h:\jfs.part goto next
FORMAT.COM H: /FS:JFS <REPLY_Y.txt
sleep 1
touch h:\jfs.part
:next
along with a file, reply_y.txt containing Y The ram disk here is preserved during a warm reboot. Thanks to Doug for the script.

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Karma: +30/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #733 on: January 07, 2025, 12:15:20 pm »
was that a gag about my recent (well a month ago) injury???
Paul,

<blush> I wasn't thinking of that at the time I typed and certainly didn't mean to make light of your injury... hope you are recovering well!

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
  • Karma: +185/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #734 on: January 07, 2025, 09:12:21 pm »
was that a gag about my recent (well a month ago) injury???
<blush> I wasn't thinking of that at the time I typed and certainly didn't mean to make light of your injury... hope you are recovering well!

hahaahh all good :) Recovery is going well - back to the hospital tomorrow morning for an x-ray and hopefully pin removal :)