Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 26176 times)

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4172
  • Karma: +39/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Qt6 Application Testing
« on: January 24, 2023, 11:16:05 pm »
Hello

This is a thread to test Paul's Qt6 port and Qt6 based applications.

For the moment we have these test releases:
Quote
- Qt6 libs (with Webengine) - https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.3.2-os2-20230422.zip
and
- ffmpeg - https://smedley.id.au/tmp/ffmpeg-chromium-6.3.2-20230516.zip
- qt6webee - https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6webee-6.3.2-20230525.zip
- dav1d - https://smedley.id.au/tmp/dav1d-1.2.0-os2-gcc12-20230530.zip
- Dooble   -  https://smedley.id.au/tmp/dooble-2023.05.31-os2-qt-6.3.x-20230530.zip

I have this optional procedure to test Dooble:
Quote
Procedure
- VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=2560 on Config.sys
- Deleted .doodle on Home
Then:
 set PATH=C:\qt6\bin;%PATH%
 set BEGINLIBPATH=c:\qt6\lib
 dooble --disable-gpu
Import Blocklist
- Go to Tools => Accepted / Blocked Domains. There you select Block Mode and use the button "Import..." to import the text file "blocklist.txt".
But some other procedures may apply, and different suggestions are welcome.

TEST THESE APPS
We also have this Qt6 ported applications to test from Tellie from Netlabs RPM:
Quote
BiblioteQ-23-03-2023-os2-qt624.7z
Heimer-4.1.0-os2-qt624.7z
NotepadNext.7z
Qttube-01-04-2023-os2.zip
connectagram-1.3.3-qt6.7z
cutemaze-1.3.2-qt6.7z
focuswriter-1.8.4-qt6.7z
gottet-1.2.2-qt6.7z
hexalate-1.2.2-qt6.7z
imageviewer-OS2.7z
iqpuzzle-1.2.9-qt6.zip
kapow-1.6.1-qt6.7z
novprog-3.2.2-qt6.7z
peg-e-1.3.2-qt6.7z
qttube-os2-14052023.7z
simsu-1.4.2-qt6.7z
tanglet-1.6.3-qt6.7z
tuxpaint-0.9.29.7z
You can download from : http://rpm.netlabs.org/test/QT6/

From Netlabs FTP:
Quote
- ftp://ftp.netlabs.org/pub/qtapps/Qoobar-1.7.0-os2-6.2.4.7z
- ftp://ftp.netlabs.org/pub/qtapps/StackAndConquer-0.1.0-OS2-6.2.4.7z

From here:
Quote
- xpdf
Also some other Qt6 apps to test:
Quote
- https://smedley.id.au/tmp/scribus-1.7.0svn-os2-qt6-20221204.zip
- https://smedley.id.au/tmp/tea-qt-62.0.2-os2-qt6-20221204.zip

Let me know if there are any other Qt6 applications around that we can test.

Remember you can show your appreciation to Paul at:
Quote
Paul's GitHub Sponsor page or Paul's Arca Noae Sponsoring Page.


Regards


NOTE: Links Updated on 2023-05-30
« Last Edit: May 30, 2023, 02:26:16 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4337
  • Karma: +83/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2023, 12:40:19 am »
Hi Martin,
You left out https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.2.4-qos2-20230122.zip which is dropped into qt6\plugins\platforms and shouldn't be needed once Paul updates the whole Qt6 package eventually.
A script to set things up, this can be anywhere on the PATH and will open a VIO window where dooble can be run from. I call it as qt6env.cmd and QT6_DIR needs adjusting for individual environments.
Code: [Select]
@REM rem the @echo off line to see the output.
@ECHO off
REM point QT6_DIR to where you have installed the QT6 tree
REM Copy Dooble.* into %QT6_DIR%\bin
set QT6_DIR=L:
set PATH=%QT6_DIR%\qt6\bin;%PATH%
set BEGINLIBPATH=%QT6_DIR%\qt6\lib;%BEGINLIBPATH%
REM point %DOOBLE_HOME% to where you want the QT6 version of Dooble to store
REM its profile.
set DOOBLE_HOME=%QT6_DIR%\home
REM these are the same as command line arguments and should not be needed eventually.
set QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--ignore-certificate-errors --ignore-ssl-errors --log-level=1 --disable-gpu"
echo Now run Dooble from this VIO session

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4337
  • Karma: +83/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2023, 12:54:30 am »
Up to date blocklist can be generated from this URL,
https://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/serverlist.php?hostformat=nohtml&showintro=0&mimetype=plaintext
Save and import. Especially important at this stage of development as some ads have crappy JavaScript and/or certificates that crashes the browser.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4172
  • Karma: +39/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2023, 01:41:17 am »
Up to date blocklist can be generated from this URL,
https://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/serverlist.php?hostformat=nohtml&showintro=0&mimetype=plaintext
Save and import. Especially important at this stage of development as some ads have crappy JavaScript and/or certificates that crashes the browser.

Note to self: The blocklist goes on "Tools => Accepted / Blocked Domains.".
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Karma: +142/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2023, 07:06:11 am »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.2.4-qt6gui-20230127.zip should help with issues associated with the gui's file open dialog. 

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4337
  • Karma: +83/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2023, 08:19:25 am »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.2.4-qt6gui-20230127.zip should help with issues associated with the gui's file open dialog.

Works here, takes a long time to populate the drive list after clicking computer, with a couple of drives showing up right away, then a while of blocking and finally the whole thing gets populated. Could be this weird machine I'm using.

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2023, 04:30:16 pm »
 Hey Paul,

  Thanks for the updated qt6gui - it does fix the drive dialogs nicely here! I don't see any hesitations with populating a list like Dave does...

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Karma: +142/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2023, 10:17:36 am »
Hey guys, took a bit longer than I'd planned, but there's a new qt6 package that rolls all the latest code into a single drop.

I've also run highmem on \qt6\lib\* and \qt6\plugins\*

Dropbox link is https://www.dropbox.com/s/qax8lg7txx04s81/qt6-6.2.4-os2-20230129.zip?dl=0

The file is also on my web server - from the link above, people should be able to figure it out in the event that dropbox doesn't work.

I also resolved a bunch of dll name clashes in qtdeclarative - which should help some of the examples.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4172
  • Karma: +39/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2023, 01:58:31 pm »
Thanks Paul

I've also run highmem on \qt6\lib\* and \qt6\plugins\*

Does it means we no longer have to run highmen manually? or that we need to run highmen on both directories now?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Karma: +142/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2023, 09:34:53 pm »
Thanks Paul

I've also run highmem on \qt6\lib\* and \qt6\plugins\*

Does it means we no longer have to run highmen manually? or that we need to run highmen on both directories now?

It means that all DLLs in \qt6\lib & \qt6\plugins have ALREADY had highmem run on them. The aim was to make things easier for someone starting with Qt.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Karma: +142/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2023, 08:41:00 am »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.2.4-qos2-20230130.zip has a better fix for the window scaling issue. Font sizes should now be correct, and menus still in the right position :)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4337
  • Karma: +83/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2023, 05:42:45 pm »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6-6.2.4-qos2-20230130.zip has a better fix for the window scaling issue. Font sizes should now be correct, and menus still in the right position :)

This looks much better, still has a lighter weight then usual here but the font size is close to what it should be and easier on the eyes
Edit: I also see the text in the URL bar is slightly larger then ideal, not a big deal.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2023, 06:19:44 pm by Dave Yeo »

KO Myung-Hun

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #12 on: February 01, 2023, 12:17:51 pm »
Hi/2, Paul.

I'm trying to build VLC with Qt6. However, Qt6 does not provide any *.pc files for pkg-config.

Would you mind providing them ?

KO Myung-Hun

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Karma: +142/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2023, 09:25:35 pm »
Hey KO!!

I'm trying to build VLC with Qt6. However, Qt6 does not provide any *.pc files for pkg-config.

Would you mind providing them ?

The Qt6 build procoess doesn't seem to generate them, let me investigate.

Cheers,

Paul

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1863
  • Karma: +142/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2023, 01:01:47 am »
Hi again,

Hey KO!!

I'm trying to build VLC with Qt6. However, Qt6 does not provide any *.pc files for pkg-config.

Would you mind providing them ?

The Qt6 build procoess doesn't seem to generate them, let me investigate.

Seems this was fixed in 6.2.5 according to https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-86080

Qt 6.2.5 is Commercial only for 12 months after it's release, so I'll have to try and apply the 6.2 patch from https://codereview.qt-project.org/c/qt/qtbase/+/405679