Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 161371 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2092
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #150 on: February 23, 2023, 09:19:31 am »
Interesting... I'll have to test on the T470s and see if I can trigger a dump that might help understand why it's hung...

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #151 on: February 23, 2023, 07:40:09 pm »
Hello Paul
Today I have done the same test yesterday, but I have removed the USB Mouse Wifi, and I have only left the laptop pointer.
The results have been better, but after 2 hours 30 to 40 minutes, the console shows me:
Code: [Select]
js: Uncaught (in promise) cancel: Animation halted by halt()
js: Uncaught (in promise) cancel: Animation halted by halt()
[86:4:0223/181952.504000:ERROR:indexed_db_factory_impl.cc(583)] Failed to GetDBS
izeFromEnv: IO error: /000101.ldb: File not found
[86:18:0223/184740.725000:ERROR:memory.cc(55)] Out of memory. size=2216788
[86:18:0223/184740.756000:ERROR:memory.cc(59)] LIBC heap: provided 429193472, us
ed 382808867, maxfree 699124
[86:18:0223/184740.774000:ERROR:memory.cc(66)] System low mem: max private 12294
5536, max shared 3538944
[86:18:0223/184740.790000:ERROR:memory.cc(69)] System high mem: max private 3189
5552, max shared 25763840

Killed by SIGTRAP
pid=0x0056 ppid=0x0054 tid=0x0012 slot=0x0094 pri=0x0200 mc=0x0001 ps=0x0010
C:\VAR\TMP\QT6\BIN\DOOBLE-STOP2.EXE
cs:eip=0505e234:0505e234      ss:esp=1ca4dc89:0505dfb8      ebp=00000053
 ds=0000      es=0000      fs=0000      gs=0000     efl=631a7000
eax=0505e058 ebx=1ffc9d7c ecx=0505e06c edx=0505e090 edi=0505e240 esi=0505ffd4
Creating 0056_12.TRP
Moved 0056_12.TRP to C:\var\log\app\63f7b4cf-0056_12-DOOBLE-STOP2-exceptq.txt
I attach the Sigtrap, in case it can be useful.
saludos

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2092
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #152 on: February 23, 2023, 09:25:47 pm »
Thanks - this is definitely memory exhaustion... note the errors in the console from memory.cc The SIGTRAP is just a side effect of running out of memory.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #153 on: February 23, 2023, 10:11:05 pm »
Roberto, what CPU is in your machine?

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #154 on: February 23, 2023, 10:23:17 pm »
----- System Information -------------------------------------------------------
CPU: GenuineIntel Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2820QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
CPU Speed: 2305 Mhz
CPU Count: 4
Loader's physical memory layout:
  Memory below 1MB: 635.00 KiB
  Memory between 1MB and 4GB: 2.98 GiB
  Memory below 4GB: 2.98 GiB
  Memory above 4GB: 4.96 GiB
Kernel's physical memory layout:
  From 00000000 to 00031FFF size=200.00 KiB
  From 00035000 to 0009EFFF size=424.00 KiB
  From 00100000 to BEEBCFFF size=2.98 GiB
Physical memory: 2.98 GiB
Available memory: 2.12 GiB
Available Private memory: 248.00 MiB
Available Shared memory: 142.12 MiB
Virtual Address Limit: 2816
Max Processes: 282
SMBIOS version 2.6 at bf595000 len=58a
BIOS Information:
 Vendor: Hewlett-Packard
 Version: 68SAD Ver. F.23

Saludos

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #155 on: February 23, 2023, 11:21:41 pm »
Thanks, not much different then my CPU.
Perhaps should test with your swap setting, what is it currently?

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1281
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #156 on: February 24, 2023, 06:30:17 am »
I use the following tweaks to get a bit more memory:-

REM ***** SWAPPATH=L:\OS2\SYSTEM 2048 2048
SWAPPATH=K:\TEMP\SYSTEM 2048 409600

REM **** THREADS=1024
REM **** The next line works best to reduce shared memory use
THREADS=512

REM **** VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=3072
REM **** The next line works best to reduce shared memory use
VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=2560

REM **** PROCESSES=156
REM **** The next line works best to reduce shared memory use
PROCESSES=128

The above settings allow me to open and close Seamonkey and OpenOffice multiple times during a day without the system falling over.

Maybe they will help with the above memory problem...


Regards

Pete




roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #157 on: February 24, 2023, 03:43:44 pm »
Hi Pete, and Dave
I use the following tweaks to get a bit more memory:-

REM ***** SWAPPATH=L:\OS2\SYSTEM 2048 2048
SWAPPATH=K:\TEMP\SYSTEM 2048 409600
SWAPPATH=L:\ 0 512000 -------- this is my ramdisk L:
Quote
REM **** THREADS=1024
REM **** The next line works best to reduce shared memory use
THREADS=512
THREADS=4095
Quote
REM **** VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=3072
REM **** The next line works best to reduce shared memory use
VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=2560
VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=2816

Quote
REM **** PROCESSES=156
REM **** The next line works best to reduce shared memory use
PROCESSES=128
I don't have processes , in my config.

To better manage Low Memory, I have FC2.40, in the startup. This program takes a lot of low memory, and the request to request from other programs, to a point where this FC2.40 does not deliver more, then if I need anything else I close it and that is my mattress that takes me out of trouble. FC2.50 does not do this.
saludos

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #158 on: February 24, 2023, 07:26:59 pm »
Another test today, from YouTube, and others sites web.
A few seconds after start stop the video.
I reactive as always, playing Mhajongg, and closing it when the video continues. Dooble show me this, I don't know if before or after starting:
Code: [Select]
[86:9:0224/155714.162000:ERROR:audio_output_stream_os2.cc(61)] kaiPlay(27992d60)
 returned -9
New time record without stopping,  3 hours
Configure my previous profile of the dooble, with a 1875mb cache, and with connected USB wifi mouse.
saludos

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2092
  • Karma: +159/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #159 on: February 25, 2023, 05:56:49 am »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/dooble-2023.02.25-os2-qt6-20230225.zip - no OS/2 specific changes in this release.

From the release notes:
Allow empty Home URL.
Ignite a search from the address bar. GitHub ticket #160.
Search engine titles must be unique!


roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #160 on: February 25, 2023, 05:53:58 pm »
Thanks - this is definitely memory exhaustion... note the errors in the console from memory.cc The SIGTRAP is just a side effect of running out of memory.
Well, if the memory is exhausted, why not increase it.?
I am testing with good results:
rem are ok=544000 640000 768000 896000 1024000 1536000 2048000
SWAPPATH=L:\ 0 2560000
My ramdisk is 4,5gb now.
Saludos

roberto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • Karma: +3/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #161 on: February 25, 2023, 06:07:49 pm »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/dooble-2023.02.25-os2-qt6-20230225.zip - no OS/2 specific changes in this release.
I can't run this version, it doesn't work for me.
saludos

Andy Willis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 292
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #162 on: February 25, 2023, 08:44:11 pm »
https://smedley.id.au/tmp/dooble-2023.02.25-os2-qt6-20230225.zip - no OS/2 specific changes in this release.
I can't run this version, it doesn't work for me.
saludos
It runs here, but gives me blank pages not loading (one time it did render three tabs but hung loading the third and all tabs quit responding) tried deleting the whole .dooble folder under home but has not helped,

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 743
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #163 on: February 25, 2023, 09:01:50 pm »
 Works as good as the last one here... YouTube still doesn't work though...

 I did check the videos on https://tools.woolyss.com/html5-audio-video-tester/ and everything that should work does work (no H.263, H.265 or MPEG-4) except the 'Chimera-AV1...' mp4 video with no sound - it starts, but then hangs, but the browser and system are still responsive. My gut feeling is that YouTube hangs the system because of Javascript problems, not video.

  And just BTW... in the QT5 version of Dooble YouTube works just fine...

Regards,
« Last Edit: February 25, 2023, 09:04:43 pm by David McKenna »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4787
  • Karma: +99/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #164 on: February 26, 2023, 12:35:01 am »
I've been using the Qt5 version of this release, works as well as any. Haven't figured out how to set up new searches. YouTube itself is slow and videos hang