Author Topic: Qt6 Application Testing  (Read 258538 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2245
  • Karma: +170/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #585 on: September 09, 2024, 10:25:10 am »
I'll double check the flags which are set in the gn build file for ffmpeg this evening.

OK,  so I forgot I built ffmpeg separately as DLLs.

I configured with:
dash ./configure --arch=pentium4 --disable-avx2 --disable-avx512 --enable-bzlib --disable-crystalhd --enable-fontconfig --enable-gnutls --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-avfilter --enable-postproc --disable-static --enable-shared --enable-gpl --disable-debug --disable-stripping --cpu=pentium4 --enable-runtime-cpudetect

adding --disable-avx to this now, and will rebuild with GCC 14.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2024, 10:27:01 am by Paul Smedley »

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 806
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #586 on: September 09, 2024, 12:26:13 pm »
 Tried Remy's REXX script and it helped tremendously! Now I can play videos embedded on websites with no trouble (yet to try youtube) -thanks Remy! I am using the HDA driver in VirtualBox, with Paul's latest UNIAud build.

Regards,

EDIT: Even YouTube is usable - no silent exit!
« Last Edit: September 09, 2024, 12:30:33 pm by David McKenna »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #587 on: September 09, 2024, 12:47:55 pm »
Remy's cmd seems to work fairly well, on the 2nd try youtube works as expected for a while then the UI gets kind of stuck needing to close Dooble.

Hi Dave,
How is it responding when you do not move the mouse and than, when you move it a lot during youtube play ?

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #588 on: September 09, 2024, 12:54:02 pm »
I'll double check the flags which are set in the gn build file for ffmpeg this evening.

OK,  so I forgot I built ffmpeg separately as DLLs.

I configured with:
dash ./configure --arch=pentium4 --disable-avx2 --disable-avx512 --enable-bzlib --disable-crystalhd --enable-fontconfig --enable-gnutls --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-avfilter --enable-postproc --disable-static --enable-shared --enable-gpl --disable-debug --disable-stripping --cpu=pentium4 --enable-runtime-cpudetect

adding --disable-avx to this now, and will rebuild with GCC 14.

Hi Paul,
is there a reason to enable, disable:

--enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus

Is --enable-avresample parm supported ?

Regards 
« Last Edit: September 09, 2024, 01:07:12 pm by Remy »

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 806
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #589 on: September 09, 2024, 01:07:14 pm »
Remy.

  I haven't noticed any strange mouse movement during video play, but will pay attention. I have had Dooble eventually hang during playback, but usually (about 4 out of 5 times) can still use the WPS, but it is not killable so have to reboot.

Regards,

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #590 on: September 09, 2024, 01:11:48 pm »
I wonder if it's the change in priority or the QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS that makes the difference? If it's priority, we could consider setting this in dooble.

Hi Paul,
Do you think about something like -webengine-proprietary-codecs ?
« Last Edit: September 09, 2024, 05:30:25 pm by Remy »

G. M. Anchieri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #591 on: September 09, 2024, 03:43:45 pm »
Hi Paul,
I'm testing your last QT6 release with the last of DOOBLE QT6, all of site visited function almost as espected
but can you visit this site in OS/2-eCS-ArcaOS General New :
   -  ARCAOS NLV (National Language Version) POLL
if you enter and then push the button to show result, DOOBLE close immediately, no exceptq in C:\VAR\LOG\APPS.

Thank you for your work to mantain our OS/2.

G.M. Anchieri

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #592 on: September 09, 2024, 05:28:02 pm »
Same here,

https://www.os2world.com/cms/index.php/past-news/79-news/general/23815-arcaos-nlv-national-language-version-poll
Opening the strawpoll link and then show result (dooble closes)

 ------------------------------------------------

I tried an other setting of the priority which seems good too or a little better

SysSetPriority(3,8) instead of  SysSetPriority(1,3)

Changing Time-critical priority instead of Idle-time priority
By curiosity, is it possible to have priority set on the ffmpeg part only instead of all the process ?

I'm able to open a new tab while playing youtube but the requested newlink will not display and may stuck dooble after several seconds
« Last Edit: September 09, 2024, 07:11:17 pm by Remy »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #593 on: September 09, 2024, 05:32:28 pm »
Remy.

  I haven't noticed any strange mouse movement during video play, but will pay attention. I have had Dooble eventually hang during playback, but usually (about 4 out of 5 times) can still use the WPS, but it is not killable so have to reboot.

Regards,

Kill Dooble and close the prompt window from which dooble was started.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #594 on: September 09, 2024, 06:57:06 pm »
I'll double check the flags which are set in the gn build file for ffmpeg this evening.

OK,  so I forgot I built ffmpeg separately as DLLs.

I configured with:
dash ./configure --arch=pentium4 --disable-avx2 --disable-avx512 --enable-bzlib --disable-crystalhd --enable-fontconfig --enable-gnutls --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-avfilter --enable-postproc --disable-static --enable-shared --enable-gpl --disable-debug --disable-stripping --cpu=pentium4 --enable-runtime-cpudetect

adding --disable-avx to this now, and will rebuild with GCC 14.

Hi Paul!

will ffmpeg be usable if adding --enable-pthreads option ?

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2245
  • Karma: +170/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #595 on: September 09, 2024, 10:49:22 pm »
I'll double check the flags which are set in the gn build file for ffmpeg this evening.

OK,  so I forgot I built ffmpeg separately as DLLs.

I configured with:
dash ./configure --arch=pentium4 --disable-avx2 --disable-avx512 --enable-bzlib --disable-crystalhd --enable-fontconfig --enable-gnutls --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-avfilter --enable-postproc --disable-static --enable-shared --enable-gpl --disable-debug --disable-stripping --cpu=pentium4 --enable-runtime-cpudetect

adding --disable-avx to this now, and will rebuild with GCC 14.

Hi Paul,
is there a reason to enable, disable:

--enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus

Is --enable-avresample parm supported ?

Regards

From memory, I copied these configure parameters from the bww ffmpeg builds. I've attached the full list of supported configure parameters (this is from the ffmpeg embedded in the qtwebengine codebase). looks like --enable-avresample isn't supported

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2245
  • Karma: +170/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #596 on: September 09, 2024, 10:51:33 pm »
I wonder if it's the change in priority or the QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS that makes the difference? If it's priority, we could consider setting this in dooble.

Hi Paul,
Do you think about something like -webengine-proprietary-codecs ?
This is already enabled when building qtwebengine:
Code: [Select]
dash /qt6-6.2.x/bin/qt-configure-module .. -webengine-proprietary-codecs 2>&1 | tee configure.log

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2245
  • Karma: +170/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #597 on: September 09, 2024, 11:01:52 pm »
I'll double check the flags which are set in the gn build file for ffmpeg this evening.

OK,  so I forgot I built ffmpeg separately as DLLs.

I configured with:
dash ./configure --arch=pentium4 --disable-avx2 --disable-avx512 --enable-bzlib --disable-crystalhd --enable-fontconfig --enable-gnutls --enable-libfreetype --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopus --disable-decoder=opus --disable-encoder=opus --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwebp --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-avfilter --enable-postproc --disable-static --enable-shared --enable-gpl --disable-debug --disable-stripping --cpu=pentium4 --enable-runtime-cpudetect

adding --disable-avx to this now, and will rebuild with GCC 14.

Hi Paul!

will ffmpeg be usable if adding --enable-pthreads option ?

We already use the os2threads code in https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-webengine-os2/blob/main/src/3rdparty/chromium/third_party/ffmpeg/compat/os2threads.h

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4985
  • Karma: +110/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #598 on: September 09, 2024, 11:46:12 pm »
Hi Paul!
ill ffmpeg be usable if adding --enable-pthreads option ?

FFmpeg will automatically enable os2threads, less over head then pthreads.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Qt6 Application Testing
« Reply #599 on: September 10, 2024, 01:09:10 am »
When opening a link requesting Cloudflare verification, it start and close (no message, no information)
catchap from Performance & security by Cloudflare (a more and more used process)

One link to check:
https://forum.audiogon.com/discussions/denafrips-athena-is-damn-good