Author Topic: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds  (Read 99551 times)

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #120 on: June 04, 2023, 10:54:00 pm »
Hi Holger, it seems to be a common problem where the first tab does not load whatever you try to load. Create a new tab and use that and it is fine. No idea what the problem is except it seems to happen to most of us.
Work around, start Dooble with your homepage as a parameter,
Code: [Select]
dooble https://lite.qwant.com/
works fine here, simplest is to add it to the program object.
Hi Dave,

I had tried this before, but it only works one time when closing and rebooting dooble, the next time I start dooble I have the same problem as before.
I now installed the new release of arcaos on the x201s. I have a lot of problems with this relase, but dooble works fine. I can set the homepage in dooble, it loads every time i start dooble, it even shuts down every time with no problems.

Holger

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4874
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #121 on: June 05, 2023, 01:24:37 am »
Hi Holger, on the new install, did you also have a new Home directory? If so, you've done the equivalent of creating a new profile.
Get a crash/freeze at the wrong time and the profile could get corrupted.
BTW, I added lite.qwant.com to my Dooble program object. When starting, it takes a surprising amount of time to load, but does load. Nice search engine

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #122 on: June 05, 2023, 08:53:20 pm »
Hi Dave,
on the new install I first had to install qt5 using anpm, then I installed the dooble version from anpm too but did not start it. Instead I replaced it with your most recent version, so yes, this was a completely new profile.
By the way, yes qwant light loads slowly in dooble, loads a lot faster in firefox, but I like this search engine. I even defined it as the seacrh engine to use in the search bar of dooble.

Holger

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4874
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #123 on: July 27, 2023, 06:40:37 am »
Another Dooble release, this is the 2023.07.15 release though I had to patch it as our local sockets do not support permissions, and as the tag was already used, I tagged as 2023.07.16.
Biggest change is the --attach parameter, along with the --listen parameter.
Code: [Select]
dooble --listen
dooble --attach https://arcanoae.com https://nasa.gov
Will open dooble first and then open the URL's in the same instance. Don't mind the 2nd splash screen, dooble needs to do some house cleaning before attaching.
ftp://dry@ftp.os2voice.org/rpm/dooble-2023.07.16-1.oc00.pentium4.rpm,
debug data,
ftp://dry@ftp.os2voice.org/rpm/dooble-debuginfo-2023.07.16-1.oc00.pentium4.rpm
Password, your email address.
Also available on arcanoae-exp for those with access.

Mike Kölling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #124 on: July 27, 2023, 08:25:42 am »
The FTP-site is asking for credentials (login and pw) when I try to download.
Any idea what to use?

Mike

Tom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #125 on: July 27, 2023, 11:38:12 am »
The FTP-site is asking for credentials (login and pw) when I try to download.
Any idea what to use?

Mike

login name = dry
password = an email address (your own)

like Dave mentioned in his post directly above your question ;)

Mike Kölling

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #126 on: July 27, 2023, 11:41:23 am »
Thanks - it's downloading now.
Mike

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #127 on: July 27, 2023, 10:28:27 pm »
 Thanks Dave! Working well here... you can turn off the splash screen in the settings.

Regards,
« Last Edit: July 28, 2023, 12:20:47 am by David McKenna »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 662
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #128 on: July 28, 2023, 09:27:29 pm »
With any build, as soon you open favority windows, run a saved link and then close the navigator, the opened favority window isn't closed and you have to kill the process....

Matt Walsh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #129 on: July 29, 2023, 12:45:58 am »
Tried to download QT5 and got this error message, but going to github I couldn't figure out how to enter the message as it tells you.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4874
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #130 on: July 29, 2023, 01:25:26 am »
Hi Matt, Qt5 is not available for i686, you have to change your platform to Pentium4. With luck things will just work, otherwise it becomes a bigger job. It worked OK for me.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4874
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #131 on: July 29, 2023, 01:28:49 am »
With any build, as soon you open favority windows, run a saved link and then close the navigator, the opened favority window isn't closed and you have to kill the process....

Hmm, here favourites open in a new tab and so does the favourite and closing usually works. You might need to play with the settings, maybe the ones under display.

Edit:, Favourites does show up in its own window, my mistake. I don't use them much.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2023, 07:26:01 am by Dave Yeo »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 662
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #132 on: July 31, 2023, 09:37:33 am »
With any build, as soon you open favourites window, run a saved link and then close the navigator, the opened favourites window isn't closed and you have to kill the process....

Other things not working !
* Print preview (crash)
* Using [suppr] button to erase a char in a search string doesn't work, have to use return backward....

Regards

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #133 on: August 06, 2023, 05:02:24 pm »
Hi, would someone try this site with dooble:
https://www.sueddeutsche.de/

This is the site of a major german newspaper, and it does not work anymore with dooble.
Rather at the top there is a row of with subjects like  Ukraine, Fussball-WM, Politik......
This works meaning I can choose a subject and a new page loads but this is all I can do. Not a single article can be opened or read?

Thank you
Holger


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4874
  • Karma: +103/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #134 on: August 06, 2023, 05:48:21 pm »
I see the same, our Qt5webengine really needs updating and hopefully Dmitriy's life settles down enough that he can do some work on it.
I had a slightly better experience with Paul's Qt6 build of Dooble but it kept crashing.