Author Topic: AM4 and 570 chips sets  (Read 11748 times)

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #15 on: March 11, 2023, 02:44:18 am »
Paul, it is sent. Thank yo for any help and even just looking at it.

Joseph M. Kempf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2023, 11:43:13 pm »
I have an ASUS Prime B550M-A running with a Ryzen 5 3400G and it's fine except for I haven't got sound running yet.
Matt W.

Hello Matt:

I plan to install ArcaOS on an ASUS Prime B550-Plus mobo.  What version of ArcaOS did you install on your Prime B550M-A?  ArcaOS 5.07 or an earlier version?   Which medium did you use: DVD or USB flash-drive?

Thanks

Joe

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2023, 03:22:02 am »
Well all I can say Ivan meant well, but dont buy a MSI B550 Pro. He must have had an earlier UEFI version as I could not get Arca OS 5.07 to install. I did get to the install menu but it was so flaky I could not enter things like setting up for NVME. There was a new UEFI in beta for it so I upgraded it. Story is it got even worse. And Linux is not working either at least Kali and Mint. And this comes in the form of a warning do not upgrade the 550 and 570 chipsets if they work for you I suspect that the UEFI's are getting more optimized for Windows. I think I see why Arca OS 5.1 is delayed.And if I am wrong it's OK because I have been wrong before and I wil be wrong again at some point

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1549
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2023, 07:19:07 am »
Sorry Eugene, I had no problem installing ArcaOS 5.07 on it.  As far as I remember it has something like v2 of the bios and I have never been tempted to update that - why mess with a working system?

The two M.2 slots have SATA cards in them as well as there being a 2 Tb  2.5 inch drive in a combination slim line DVD/disk unit.  I installed ArcaOS from DVD as I always do without problems.

Other than that all I can say is that it works for me.

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2023, 09:48:04 pm »
Ivan no problem. I can make it a Windows box for my great grand daughter. Yeah I am that old. LOL

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4751
  • Karma: +96/-1
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2023, 10:30:09 pm »
Be interesting to try v5.1 on that box when it finally gets released, though not good news if Linux won't install. What was the problem with Linux?

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2023, 11:25:09 pm »
Dave ot was the same issue with Arca OS 5.07. The video was so messed up I think the board may be defective.

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #22 on: March 21, 2023, 09:31:43 pm »
Dave. I also want to state that ARCA OS 5.1 is what I am waiting for.Aren't we all.

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 737
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #23 on: March 22, 2023, 12:09:24 am »
 Hi Eugene,

 Yeah... aren't we all? At Warpstock (in early November) it was alleged that ArcaOS 5.1 would be released by the end of the year and here we are at the end of March. I wish Arca Noae would at least have made an announcement about any delay after that, but... crickets. Anyone know why there has been this delay?

Regards,

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4751
  • Karma: +96/-1
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #24 on: March 22, 2023, 03:39:30 am »
Seems to be mostly done excepting the documentation, which I'd hate to have to write :)  I'm running 5.0.99.13/rc4 and it seems pretty solid but my hardware is not the newest.
Looking at the last beta announcement, a few cosmetic fixes and as for TODO, documentation updates.
Possibly other things are happening in their lives, once released, I'm sure there will be a flurry of issues, many from not reading and rereading the documentation.

Eugene Tucker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 365
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AM4 and 570 chips sets
« Reply #25 on: March 22, 2023, 03:35:42 pm »
Yes I remember back in the day a friend was running OS/2 for a business and he was having issues. I told him that particular issue was addressed in the readme file. He replies.. "Who reads those." I have found a review of documentation to save hours of grief with various OS's Mostly Windows Server.