Author Topic: PMfax  (Read 8705 times)

Derrick Price

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
PMfax
« on: March 22, 2023, 11:52:01 am »
Help :'(. I have lost module imgfx6mn.dll required by PMfax. Is there anybody who has a copy and could send it to me?

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2023, 04:09:40 pm »
May be it is installed by pmfax !
Did you try to install again pmfax ?
https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/?detail=%2Fpub%2Fos2%2Fapps%2Fcomm%2Ffax%2FPMFaxPro_upd_3-2.zip
« Last Edit: March 22, 2023, 04:20:29 pm by Remy »

Derrick Price

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2023, 11:09:58 am »
The problem is that the *exe does not contain the module but expects it to be somewhere in the system  >:(

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 650
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2023, 04:00:00 pm »
Help :'(. I have lost module imgfx6mn.dll required by PMfax. Is there anybody who has a copy and could send it to me?

I just started my older PMFax to review logs and it start without the need of the dll !

I suppose imgfx6mn is from ImageMAKER provided by your fax device drivers.
Check if you have your fax card drivers. 

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4780
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: PMfax
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2023, 04:50:11 pm »
Hi.

I'm sorry I don't know about PMFax, I tried to find the imgfx6mn.dll file on my collection but I was not able to find it.

Searching on the Internet I found this information "imgfx6mn.dll is a module belonging to ImageMAKER Development Fax Printer Driver from ImageMAKER Development Inc.". But that site reference it as a Windows DLL.

Derrick, which version of PMFax are you using? version? Lite, Pro?. Which OS/2, ArcaOS version are you running?
Do you have some special hardware, or it is just a modem to get fax?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2023, 08:27:26 pm »
I'm curious about PMFax. First connection functionality I've been able to run at first OS2 usage in 1995 was a fax client in WINOS2 even before I could connect to Internet. Unfortunately cannot remember the software name.
Was by a 14.4 kbps modem through the serial port.
I'd like to try again, what I have is a Webrunner Atlantis Land 56.6 kbps USB faxmodem working in Windows 10, Conexant chipset, and OS2 Warp 4.52 on a Virtualbox guest machine.
Do you think I can afford the challenge?
Of course assuming that PMFax accepts USB connection or an alternative configuration setup for connection, and also can be used with the so said "winmodem" as that model should be.
Thank you
« Last Edit: March 28, 2023, 08:37:35 pm by mauro »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4821
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2023, 08:34:20 pm »
Looks like a winmodem, so no, it won't work under OS/2. Something like a USB USR robotics modem will work as the USB interface is presented as a com port.

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2023, 08:56:49 pm »
Looks like a winmodem, so no, it won't work under OS/2. Something like a USB USR robotics modem will work as the USB interface is presented as a com port.

understand, I'had suspected that.
Thank you

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4780
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: PMfax
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2023, 12:57:51 am »
Hi

I just found the waybackmachine archived site with some dead liks:
- https://web.archive.org/web/20000815221748/http://www.kellergroup.com/

But no hints of the Windows version nor "imgfx6mn.dll ".

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: PMfax
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2023, 03:46:59 pm »
I can confirm that the US Robotics USB modem works great with ArcaOS. I'm using the latest Arca Noae USB drivers.

I will also note that land lines, FAX and dial-up are now much less commonly available. I found challenges using a modem that were just me trying to remember how we used to do communications.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Wayne A. Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2024, 11:18:23 pm »
Neil,
How right you are ...  It's bit a long time since i had to configure this kind of connection, though I'm trying again after a long hiatus in trying PMFax Pro again.

I also have a US Robotics External 54K Voice FaxModem Pro, connected by the USB cable and to a landline.  While PMFax is (I believe) installed properly, I can't get a dial-in recognized by it.  (I first used Suntan Special for installation but got an Error that "Product not enabled."  I then copied an old directory, and used the Registry Editor to change the directory reference.)

USBCOM.SYS is referenced in <config.sys>.  Since FMD1 as the Port didn't work, I tried COM1 but No Joy there either.

Looking in <system.ini> for COM1, the PORTDRIVER key is "Serial".  Since the modem now has a USB connection, is this the problem?  (I also have a Serial cable for it and might be able to use an adapter to connect it to my ThinkCentre M93p, but would prefer to avoid this if this extra work would be in vain.)

Any ideas?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1038
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: PMfax
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2024, 05:09:53 am »
The system installs COM ports at boot time while parsing the Config.Sys. The COM port number depends on the ordering of the statements in Config.Sys, and which of them claims a serial port. (Some might not be obvious)

I'm not sure how many COM ports OS/2 supports. Some say 99, some say 255.

In the time since I last posted, both ends of the POTS line have ended service. AT&T has applied for a permit to stop providing POTS to anyone.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

nyao

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2024, 05:02:25 pm »
Hi.
A precautionary note from when I installed it a long time ago.
It is unknown whether it is related to imgfx6mn.dll.

"Please note that if you do not enter the registration key from Add.exe after installation (maybe the procedure is incorrect?), the program will not start and will only display a message recommending that you contact the company."
http://hp.vector.co.jp/authors/VA028575/faq.htm#32

Wayne A. Smith

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2024, 08:29:18 pm »
I'm pretty sure my problem is in the PMFax Pro Settings.  I'll probably have to search through Keller's various user guide PDFs to see if I can figure out what parameters are wrong.

I have both the Serial Cable and the USB cable attached.  I also have
     DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\COM.SYS (1,3f8,4) (2,2f8,3)
     DEVICE=C:\OS2\BOOT\USBCOM.SYS /M:3
in <config.sys>.  The OS is ArcaOS 5.0.8.
The Ports displayed under PMFAx Pro's settings are:  FMD1; COM1; COM2; and COM3.

The only non-Internet communications program I have on this computer is HyperHost, and it seems it recognizes the modem - though I don't know how to externally connect to test it.

As far as the Add program, I don't think this is an issue.  Though I copied the PMFax Pro directory from an installation on another computer, IIRC it was just an upgrade from a license I had from Keller for an earlier version.  It opens fine and allows updating of <fx.ini>.  It's just that I can' send faxes or receive voice calls w/ it - something that was no problem when I was able to use an ISA card.

Like I said, I'll just have to drill down into the guide files, though I did just buy an unopened 3COM US ROBOTICS Model 5605 56K Voice Faxmodem Pro V.90 X 2 to see if this works better.  (It's still an old model but newer than my Model No. 0525, and it seems Model 5605 is reported to work well under OS/2.)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4821
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PMfax
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2024, 09:25:51 pm »
Try mode com1, mode com2 etc to see which com ports are installed. Seems I remember someone having problems as the com port was a higher then expected number.