Author Topic: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?  (Read 13258 times)

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« on: May 14, 2023, 02:33:10 am »
I have a HP EliteBook 803 G3 that I am trying to install the ArcaOS 5 on. I have an USB optical disc drive attached. the laptop doesn't have an operating system on it; none whatsoever. I got it to seemingly boot from the USB optical drive but it doesn't seem to go farther than that. I tried to get it to boot from the optical drive but it doesn't. could my optical disc be a problem? should I make another disc? should I try making a bootable USB flash drive? what size flash drive should I use?  8)

I am looking forward to using ArcaOS on this laptop. Any help given will be appreciated. Thanks.
 8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2023, 04:08:13 am »
Don't forget to go into BIOS and make the required changes.

You need Legacy boot, CSM and to disable hyperthreading.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2023, 04:45:02 am »
It is not easy going to the settings but I don't remember seeing those but I will check again.

Thanks for the information.
 8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1276
  • Karma: +65/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2023, 11:59:21 am »
Power on the computer, immediately and repeatedly press and release the ESC key until System menu shows up, if System menu shows up, press F10.

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2023, 04:37:28 am »
Thanks. I will give that a try.
 8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2023, 11:42:58 pm »
I found the hyper threading and legacy boot in the bios. They are greyed out. I am unable to turn them off. I have not found the CMS, yet (still looking).
 :o
I think I might have messed up the boot part. would updating the bios help? 
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2023, 01:01:18 am »
does  ArcaOS 5.0.7 support UEFI? would I need to wait for 5.0.8 or 5.1?


side note; I went to the Arca Noe website but it didn't come up. looking for help there. might be my computer?
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Tom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2023, 02:58:14 am »
does  ArcaOS 5.0.7 support UEFI? would I need to wait for 5.0.8 or 5.1?

UEFI is only supported in 5.1, so not in 5.0.7 and 5.0.8 (by the way: 5.0.8 is already released)

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2023, 05:20:25 am »
I should wait for 5.1 to try ArcaOS on my laptop? when will that be released?


side note; I still cannot get the www.arcanoe.com website to come up for me.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: +100/-1
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2023, 05:34:34 am »
I should wait for 5.1 to try ArcaOS on my laptop? when will that be released?

Hopefully soon, it is pretty well done except the infrastructure for selling it, and that is supposed to be pretty well done too.

Quote
side note; I still cannot get the www.arcanoe.com website to come up for me.

Same for everyone

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2023, 03:36:01 am »
I checked my installation disc and realized that I had copied the ISO file to the disk and did not create an installation disc. I have created the installation disc and will give it a try.


side note; I was able to get to the Arca Noe site. It finally came up for me.

more progress notes to come.
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3? - update
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2023, 09:19:44 pm »
I finally got around to trying the properly made installation disc. I was using an USB optical drive. It didn't install. It didn't do much at all. I still had the 5.0.7 version and have yet to get the 5.1 version.

I created an USB installation. I used a program called ISO to USB. It was free to use, at 'ones own risk'. It seemed to have worked in making the USB like an installation disc. It didn't install the OS unto the laptop computer. I will need to get the 5.1 version and will give it another try.

the below is just me complaining and wishing;
 8)
I miss computers having an optical drive. I wish there were more USB ports on some of these computers.
 8)
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: +100/-1
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2023, 12:56:58 am »
You have to use the ArcaOS tool to create your installation USB stick, on OS/2, the USB stack is loaded late in the boot process so can't load an ISO from the stick, instead it creates a ram disk, boots from that and then it loads the ISO.
On your ArcaOS 5.07 install, double click the ISO and mount it, then switch to the drive letter you gave it and go to the AOSBOOT directory and read the txt file and then run aosboot.cmd with the stick inserted. The command is something like,
Code: [Select]
aosboot Q: C:\downloads\ArcaOS-5.1.isoAdjust drive letters and path as needed.

BigGoofyGuy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2023, 05:37:19 am »
I am creating the bootable USB flash drive in a Windows laptop. I don't have an ArcaOS or OS/2 Warp computer yet. It this procedure done in Windows or OS/2 / ArcaOS?
* * * * * * * *
BigGoofyGuy
 * * * * * * * *

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: +100/-1
    • View Profile
Re: ArcaOS on a HP EliteBook 840 G3?
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2023, 09:47:11 am »
Ok, see  readusb.txt in ArcaOS-5.1.0-en.7z and how to use dfsanwin.exe to create your stick under Windows. I've never done it