Author Topic: Strange behaviour in SDL2  (Read 40027 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
  • Karma: +160/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #30 on: July 01, 2023, 07:44:30 am »
I will need to reread the docs. We'll continue on Slack.
Just what we need, another forum for OS/2 users to splinter the user group...

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4812
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #31 on: July 01, 2023, 08:08:56 am »
Yes, 'tis an interesting thread

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
  • Karma: +65/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #32 on: July 01, 2023, 03:39:55 pm »
I was not aware that the details may be interesting to the end user. It was just to not clutter this forum with endless code exchange and to speed up work.

Jochen Schäfer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #33 on: July 03, 2023, 09:41:05 am »
I will need to reread the docs. We'll continue on Slack.
Just what we need, another forum for OS/2 users to splinter the user group...
Come on. Nobody wants to splinter the community. We are just working on a solution there.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
  • Karma: +160/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #34 on: July 03, 2023, 11:02:45 am »
I will need to reread the docs. We'll continue on Slack.
Just what we need, another forum for OS/2 users to splinter the user group...
Come on. Nobody wants to splinter the community. We are just working on a solution there.
Note.. my comment wasn't specifically directed at you or Lars. The point was more that there are few enough OS/2 users left... I had no idea there was a Slack community that's OS/2 related - and I have no idea how to locate it. Splintering discussion across ANOTHER site just seems wrong. This site is already so quiet. For me, I'm interested in following the discussion, as I have an interest in implementing OS/2 sound support in qtmultimedia - see https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-multimedia-os2/issues/1

Jochen Schäfer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #35 on: July 03, 2023, 11:38:44 am »
Sure, there is no community as such on Slack.
We will absolutely communicate our solution to this forum, when we have a definite answer.
We are still experimenting at the moment.

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
  • Karma: +65/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #36 on: July 13, 2023, 08:41:41 am »
short update: we have fixed an error in the SDL2 device detection, we have added detection of capture (recording) capable devices, we have implemented capturing/recording support. We still need to test this stuff.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
  • Karma: +160/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #37 on: July 13, 2023, 11:12:33 am »
Great news, hoping some of the code can be used for https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-multimedia-os2/issues/1

Lars

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1279
  • Karma: +65/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #38 on: July 13, 2023, 03:45:15 pm »
Great news, hoping some of the code can be used for https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-multimedia-os2/issues/1

I briefly looked at the Qt stuff but got carried away by the C++ stuff (Qt specifics ? "emit" ...). I do not get where the OS specific nifty details have to go.
SDL2 uses the MMPM API directly, Chromium uses libkai (which I guess is a good choice).
« Last Edit: July 13, 2023, 04:20:13 pm by Lars »

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
  • Karma: +160/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #39 on: July 13, 2023, 11:14:35 pm »
Hi Lars,

The subbed code is at https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-multimedia-os2/tree/os2audio/src/multimedia/platform/os2

I also struggle with c++ :)

Cheers,

Paul

Jochen Schäfer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #40 on: July 14, 2023, 04:57:42 pm »
I always find it helpful to look at what the WinMM code is doing.
Paul, do we have build instructions for Qt6?

Jochen Schäfer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
  • Karma: +160/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #42 on: July 15, 2023, 12:08:36 am »
Paul, do we have build instructions for Qt6?

Rough instructions
- install dependencies per Qt5
- clone qt6-base - git clone https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-base-os2.git
- checkout 6.3.x branch - git checkout 6.3.x
- mkdir build
- cd build
- configure with something like:
Code: [Select]
set LIBS=-lpthread -lcx
set BEGINLIBPATH=u:\dev\qt6-base-os2-6.3.x\build\lib
dash ../configure -prefix /qt6 -no-opengl -release -system-sqlite -openssl-linked -no-pch -no-avx -- -DQT_BUILD_EXAMPLES=ON -DQT_BUILD_TESTS=OFF 2>&1 | tee configure.log
- build with cmake --build .
- install with cmake --install .
- clone qt6-multimedia - git clone https://github.com/psmedley/qt6-multimedia-os2.git
- checkout os2sound branch - git checkout os2sound
- mkdir build
- cd build
- configure with something like:
Code: [Select]
dash /qt6/bin/qt-configure-module .. 2>&1 | tee configure.log- build with cmake --build .
- install with cmake --install .

The above should work - but it's kinda from memory....


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4812
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #43 on: July 15, 2023, 01:40:22 am »
I'll note it never worked for me. I could build Qt5. Takes a lot of memory, VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT=3072 and with 3.2 GB's of visible memory here, there was swapping, so make sure you have a swapfile, weird popups about no memory and the need to reboot the odd time to recapture memory, fragmentation I assumed. Took almost a day here as well, being careful not to run things like browsers.

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2095
  • Karma: +160/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange behaviour in SDL2
« Reply #44 on: July 15, 2023, 09:38:57 am »
Hey Dave - I thought you could build qtbase - it was just the webengine you had issues with? webengine definitely runs out of memory - and built has to be restarted with -j1 to limit ninja to one job for a few build files...