Author Topic: jfs error?  (Read 2872 times)

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
jfs error?
« on: August 14, 2023, 03:51:07 pm »
Hi All,

I am trying to a new install in order to test more on some software.  I could not get arca to see the msata in the NUC so I bought a new 64gb msata and it identified it on the install process right away.  It all appeared normal and after phaze 1 and the reboot where you are meant to select boot from HD I get the error message in this picture.

any thoughts on how this happens, what I can do to repair?  Also what do I have to do to a new or used HD to get it to show up in the installer?  I knew what to do once but have forgotten.  I could boot gparted and setup before running arcaos installer...

Rick

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1552
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: jfs error?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2023, 04:51:12 pm »
First thing, are you able to get at the bios because you need to set it to compatibility mode?

If you can't do that then you are going to have a problem like trying to push water uphill.

One thing you could try is to set up ArcaOS on the msata in another computer and then see if it will see that install.  I don't hold much hope that it will work since these Intel units are designed for windows - some Linux enthusiasts have managed to get their OS to install and run on the unit. 

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: jfs error?
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2023, 06:34:37 am »
Oddly I have had ARCA run on this machine in the past, so bios is correct.. Different HD I have been using gparted I think I may use windows partition manager to set up the drive and see if that helps it at all...

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4761
  • Karma: +98/-1
    • View Profile
Re: jfs error?
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2023, 07:38:29 am »
Oddly I have had ARCA run on this machine in the past, so bios is correct.. Different HD I have been using gparted I think I may use windows partition manager to set up the drive and see if that helps it at all...

Do not use anything but native tools to manipulate the drive, besides perhaps blanking it. We use CHS partitioning and need the LVM info on the drive.
You should be able to boot to the maintenance thingy on your USB stick installer and use the disk tool or LVM to partition and fix your disk.
Even if you are planning on sharing it with Linux or Windows, all partitioning has to be done with native tools. There's a Linux parameter too that helps with CHS partitioning.
Look at the ArcaOS50_InstallationGuide.pdf on the ISO, especially the Appendix's