Author Topic: Adding system components on existing installing  (Read 10279 times)

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Adding system components on existing installing
« on: September 24, 2023, 12:57:06 pm »
Hi,
I want install 'IBM File and Print Services' on an existing ArcaOS installation. Clean, I can add Netbios or Netbios over TCP/IP in MPTS, but what about the rest of that?
Thx bernhard

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2023, 03:02:35 pm »
Computer -> Install/Remove -> Selective Install for Networking

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 817
  • Karma: +11/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2023, 03:49:56 pm »
You can select it from the installer when you start from scratch. Be aware you can't run IBM Peer/LanMan over TCP/IP at the same time with Samba. But you can add in NAPS Netbios only (and not Netbios over TCP/IP). Then it should work side by side with Samba (server and client/ArcaMapper). You also have to take care that \ibmlan\netprog does not come before your unixroot in path. Or rename \ibmlan\netprog\net.exe to f.i. neti.exe.




Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2023, 07:15:34 pm »
Computer -> Install/Remove -> Selective Install for Networking
Everything is greyed out accept of samba server. 'IBM File and Print Client' is greyed out and checked; The Folder IBMLAN has only one File IBMLAM.INI.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1292
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2023, 07:50:08 pm »
Hi Bernhard

Do you already have samba client installed? - You may need to uninstall samba before installing File and Print Client.

Do you have a BootDrive:\IBMLAN directory? If "Yes" you could try installing from  BootDrive:\IBMLAN\INSTALL\LANINST.EXE


Regards

Pete

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2023, 08:40:53 pm »
Hi Bernhard

Do you already have samba client installed? - You may need to uninstall samba before installing File and Print Client.

Do you have a BootDrive:\IBMLAN directory? If "Yes" you could try installing from  BootDrive:\IBMLAN\INSTALL\LANINST.EXE


Regards

Pete
Hi Pete,
I have a BootDrive:\IBMLAN directory, but it has only one File in it IBMLAN.INI
thx bernhard

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1292
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2023, 11:26:20 pm »
Hi Bernhard

Sorry, forgot to add the DVD/ISO location :\CID\SERVER\IBMLS\IBM500R1\LANINST.EXE

Not sure what parameters you need if any ...


Regards

Pete

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2023, 02:21:11 pm »
Everything is greyed out accept of samba server. 'IBM File and Print Client' is greyed out and checked; The Folder IBMLAN has only one File IBMLAM.INI.

Evidently your IBMLVL.INI profile thinks File and Print Client is already installed.

In a command prompt, go to <bootdrive>\sys\install and run
Code: [Select]
netinst /debug
The console window should tell you where it's (allegedly) installed to.

If it's not installed there, you may need to delete the IBM_LS -> PATH key from your <bootdrive>\IBMLVL.INI file (using your preferred INI file editor).

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2023, 06:07:05 pm »
Hi all,
and thanks for your help. I am one step further. The Installer starts when starting it with S:\CID\Server\IBMLS\IBM500R1\Install.cmd (S: is my DVD Drive). After I had all configured the installer wants "OS/2 Peer Diskette 1". How can I tell the installer using the files on the installer dvd.
best regards
bernhard

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2023, 12:34:37 am »
Why not follow up on Alex his question ?

Roderick

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2023, 02:55:56 pm »
Why not follow up on Alex his question ?

Roderick
The problem with the greyed out "IBM File- and Print Client" is solved. Now I have the problem that the installer wants a floppy disk "OS/2 Peer Diskette 1".
Bernhard

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2023, 07:43:59 pm »
Why not follow up on Alex his question ?

Roderick
The problem with the greyed out "IBM File- and Print Client" is solved. Now I have the problem that the installer wants a floppy disk "OS/2 Peer Diskette 1".
Bernhard

Why does the solution above resolve the issue ? I am asking this with reason...
You see there is areason the option is greyed out in the Selective Install for networking....
Did you look at Alex his advise for IBMLVL.INI ?

Roderick

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1292
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2023, 09:17:07 pm »
Hi Bernhard

Do you have the following line in your config.sys?

   SET LANINSTEP=V:\CID\SERVER\IBMLS

Change V: to whatever your dvd drive is.

Not sure but think that guides the install process to the files on cd/dvd.


Regards

Pete

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2023, 04:53:50 pm »
Hi Bernhard

Do you have the following line in your config.sys?

   SET LANINSTEP=V:\CID\SERVER\IBMLS

Change V: to whatever your dvd drive is.

Not sure but think that guides the install process to the files on cd/dvd.


Regards

Pete

Pete while your advise I am certain is well intended, however it can have unintended side consequences.
I know selective install for networking does more then just run the IBM peer installer.
Selective install runs shufctrl and maybe some other stuff. Alex Taylor wrote the code for AN. So perhaps its better if Bernard follows Alex his suggestions. And not
take a possible shortcut.

Roderick

Bernhard Pöttinger

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Adding system components on existing installing
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2023, 07:14:11 pm »
Why not follow up on Alex his question ?

Roderick
The problem with the greyed out "IBM File- and Print Client" is solved. Now I have the problem that the installer wants a floppy disk "OS/2 Peer Diskette 1".
Bernhard

Why does the solution above resolve the issue ? I am asking this with reason...
You see there is areason the option is greyed out in the Selective Install for networking....
Did you look at Alex his advise for IBMLVL.INI ?

Roderick

Hi Roderic,
the reason why the IBM Peer Services ist greyed out is because I have canceled the installation after the installer has asked me for the floppy disk. I have started the installer and choose "Remove Peer Services" and the I could try it once more. And yes Alex is right, the system thinks the peer services are installed. I have seen this with "netinst /debug" as Alex has written.
So my big problem is that the installer wants floppy disks!
best regards bernhard