Author Topic: OPenchat  (Read 17441 times)

TeLLie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 237
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
OPenchat
« on: September 29, 2023, 11:38:09 pm »
Hi all,

Did someone tried to run openchat under ArcaNoae
I just tried it and it traps inmidityl..

09-29-2023  23:32:08  SYS3184  PID 005a  TID 0001  Slot 008a
D:\PROGRAMS\OPENCHAT\OPENCHAT-SMP.EXE
c000009b
000479c6
EAX=fffffff3  EBX=00000003  ECX=00000000  EDX=ffffffff
ESI=fffffff3  EDI=1abfe3f4
DS=0053  DSACC=d0f3  DSLIM=bfffffff
ES=0053  ESACC=d0f3  ESLIM=bfffffff
FS=150b  FSACC=00f3  FSLIM=00000030
GS=0000  GSACC=****  GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=005b:000479c6  CSACC=d0df  CSLIM=bfffffff
SS:ESP=0053:000f86a0  SSACC=d0f3  SSLIM=bfffffff
EBP=000f8ff6  FLG=00010287

OPENCHAT-SMP.EXE 0003:000179c6


Heikki Kekki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2023, 09:51:06 am »
G:\PROGRAMS\OPENCHAT\OPENCHAT.EXE works as expected.

I don't have OPENCHAT-SMP.EXE

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4780
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2023, 02:56:40 pm »
Hi

I don't use OpenChat, but I quickly got it at hobbes (1.08 (2015-01-29)).
I installed it and it contains OPENCHAT-SMP.EXE

Here (Virtualbox guest VM) it runs just like openchat.exe.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2023, 03:21:34 pm »
Tellie,

  I get that same POPUPLOG when trying to run both OpenChat and OpenChat-SMP on ArcaOS 5.1. No exceptq file either...

Regards,

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2096
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2023, 02:14:32 am »
  I get that same POPUPLOG when trying to run both OpenChat and OpenChat-SMP on ArcaOS 5.1. No exceptq file either...

Openchat pre-dates exceptq by at least a decade....

christech

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2023, 06:56:22 pm »
Same here..

11-12-2023  10:48:20  SYS3184  PID 0044  TID 0001  Slot 00a5
C:\PROGRAMS\OPENCHAT\OPENCHAT.EXE
c000009b
000479c6
EAX=fffffff3  EBX=00000003  ECX=00000000  EDX=ffffffff
ESI=fffffff3  EDI=1b4fe3f4 
DS=0053  DSACC=d0f3  DSLIM=5fffffff 
ES=0053  ESACC=d0f3  ESLIM=5fffffff 
FS=150b  FSACC=00f3  FSLIM=00000030
GS=0000  GSACC=****  GSLIM=********
CS:EIP=005b:000479c6  CSACC=d0df  CSLIM=5fffffff
SS:ESP=0053:000f86a0  SSACC=d0f3  SSLIM=5fffffff
EBP=000f8ff6  FLG=00010287

OPENCHAT.EXE 0003:000179c6

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4821
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2023, 07:02:06 pm »
That's a divide by zero crash, perhaps a loop that finishes too fast on modern hardware.

Rich Walsh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • ONU! (OS/2 is NOT Unix!)
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2023, 07:53:55 pm »
Openchat pre-dates exceptq by at least a decade....

Not quite. The version of OpenChat being discussed dates to 2015. I released Exceptq v7.1 in March 2011, and v7.0 sometime in 2010. Prior to that nobody used Exceptq - not because it wasn't available but because v6.x was such a POS.

christech

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2023, 08:06:09 pm »
That's a divide by zero crash, perhaps a loop that finishes too fast on modern hardware.

Strange.. it worked before installing ArcaOS 5.1!

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
  • Karma: +93/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2023, 11:09:16 pm »
I just downloaded and installed it on my newly installed ArcaOS 5.1 partition where everything works with no problems.  It is not a virtual desktop.  As stated, it traps right away. I checked both exes with PMdll and the program itself checks out OK.   Comparing the traps in the OS2popup.log, my trap is similar to the ones posted. 

My notebook is running with multiprocessers

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2096
  • Karma: +161/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2023, 02:59:54 am »
Openchat pre-dates exceptq by at least a decade....

Not quite. The version of OpenChat being discussed dates to 2015. I released Exceptq v7.1 in March 2011, and v7.0 sometime in 2010. Prior to that nobody used Exceptq - not because it wasn't available but because v6.x was such a POS.

The WPI might be 2015, but the executable can't be any newer than 1999/2000. The author (mikh?) moved away from OS/2 and lost the source code.....

christech

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2023, 04:25:33 am »
Works on my ArcaOS 5.0.8 machine.. wonder what changed? It's a cool program too!

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
  • Karma: +93/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2023, 07:41:25 am »
Chris is correct.  It works with earlier version of ArcaOS.  I have been replacing dlls and testing, but so far have not found the problem.

David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
  • Karma: +93/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2023, 07:52:03 pm »
I was having no luck determining why OpenChat will not operate on version 5.1.

So for the hell of it, I deleted the version 5.1 OS2 directory  on my F drive and copied the version 5.08  OS2 directory my drive D to the 5.1 partition on  drive F.

I rebooted and went to my ArcaOS 5.1 partition.  OpenChat now works.  However, every program including OpenChat on the desktop now point to the 5.08 partition on drive D. The config.sys remains the same loading the paths and drivers from drive F.

The only thing that did not load properly was the USBmon on drive F on bootup.

I believe it is not the dlls or exes that are causing the problem on the 5.1.  The  partition has no problem running the programs from desktop on drive D while using the 5.1 config.sys on drive F.  It might possibly be one of the ini files in the OS2 directory.

Don't do what I did unless you plan on reinstalling 5.1 again.  That is why I did what I did.  I plan to reinstall 5.1 and then one by one copy the ini files while testing openchat to see if it work.


David Graser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
  • Karma: +93/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OPenchat
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2023, 11:41:41 pm »
Problem found with a work-a-round.

OK, after a day of investigating and installing version 5.1 several times and copying 5.07 dlls to 5.1, I have found the problem.

The problem was in the OS2\dll directory.  It was one file.  The file is

dspres.dll

The one found in version 5.1 is 455,064 bytes
The one found inversion 5.07 is 395,096 bytes

Backup dspres.dll found in 5.1. os2\dll directory
Copy the one from 5.07 os2\dll directory over the one found in the 5.1 os2\dll directory

A reboot is necessary for the change to be effective.

OpenChat.exe now works for me.  Tested on several partitions.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2023, 11:57:01 pm by David Graser »