Author Topic: IBM WorkSpace On-Demand on VMs ?  (Read 2549 times)

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4669
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
IBM WorkSpace On-Demand on VMs ?
« on: October 06, 2023, 03:30:52 pm »
Hello

This is just a novelty question, is not that serious or something that I want to do right now. I just have the bug that I never made "IBM WorkSpace On-Demand" to run. I tried on the year 2001 with some lab machines, RIPL was kind of a problem, there were some tricks to make IBM WorkSpace On-Demand to make it run on OS/2 Wsfeb, since it didn't recognize version 4.5.... anyways, I still have this little bug.

Do you think it will be possible today with ArcaOS, and VirtualBox, to create like a virtual server with "IBM WorkSpace On-Demand" and made some other virtual machine to actually get to boot OS/2 from a the WSOD server?

I just want to hear some thoughts.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IBM WorkSpace On-Demand on VMs ?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2023, 03:47:59 pm »
I am not certain. But WSOD uses RIPL boot best I can recall. And this support requires a NIC that supports RIPL boot (NETBIOS). I highly doubt any of the software NC's in any VM support RIPL boot....

But I could be wrong...

Roderick

Bogdan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IBM WorkSpace On-Demand on VMs ?
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2023, 03:14:43 pm »
WSOD 2.0 can also use PXE.

For running WSOD 1.0 you can simply create 3 VMs:
1. Warp Server
2. Warp 4
3. Workspace On-Demand
The installation is straight as all fixes are included with WSOD.

The 3rd VM should be modified by using a ROM from PRORPL.EXE (Intel) or AMD's RBOOT.ROM.
 vboxmanage setextradata "vm3" VBoxInternal/Devices/pcbios/0/Config/LanBootRom ROMFILE