Author Topic: Determine ArcaOs Version installed  (Read 6507 times)

Eric Erickson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« on: September 26, 2023, 04:33:42 pm »
I know I asked this before, but can not find the answer. Whats the best way to determine the version of ArcaOs installed. I would like a simple command like Ver. I found command that get some information (VER and VERSION) but nothing to give me the ARCAOS Version. I would be nice if there was a simple way to determine this. I have quite a few different installs running around and need whats installed for each. Either add a command file or enhance the Version.Cmd to display the ArcaOs Version.

Thanks

The output of VER and VERSION give me the following in the attached file.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2023, 04:41:45 pm by Eric Erickson »

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2023, 05:29:28 pm »
Hi Eric

The version can be found by looking in
   BootDrive:\sys\install\install.flg
which is a text file.


Regards

Pete

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • Karma: +42/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2023, 06:58:59 pm »
Hi Eric

Like Pete says, checking  BootDrive:\sys\install\install.flg may be the best way.

Code: [Select]
ArcaOS 5.0.8 EN
Built 2023-05-31 20:20:23

Installation started:   23-09-06 14:46:33
Installation completed: 23-09-06 14:56:41

"c:\bldlevel os2krnl"  will give you the kernel revision version.
Code: [Select]
[C:\]bldlevel os2krnl
Build Level Display Facility Version 6.12.675 Sep 25 2001
(C) Copyright IBM Corporation 1993-2001
Signature:       @#IBM:14.204#@_SMP  IBM OS/2 Kernel
Vendor:          IBM
Revision:        14.204
File Version:    14.204
Description:     _SMP  IBM OS/2 Kernel

Strangely in ArcaOS 5.0.8 ver /r gives me 14.103, not exactly sure what release is showing there (build level 14.106  used to be fixpack 6).

"testlog generic" can also give you the ArcaOS version on the first lines.

Quote
----- Personalization Information ----------------------------------------------
 Hostname: ARCAOS-CB950A1
 ArcaOS 5.0.8 EN
 Built 2023-05-31 20:20:23
 Installation started:   23-09-06 14:46:33
 Installation completed: 23-09-06 14:56:41
 Convenience Package - OS/2 Warp 4 Base Operating System 4.52 (XR0C008)
 IBM OS/2 Base Device Drivers 4.52 (XR0D005)
....

Regards

Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Michael Greene

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2023, 01:09:12 pm »
I could only find the version using the install.flg method for ArcaOS. It would be great if a SYSLEVEL file was included. Try the attached. It was something I used to use with ECS and just extended it for ArcaOS. I think this is accessible here if you want to see how I did it:
 
https://greenenet.ddns.net/os2project/version

If the link works, nver.exe is the executable. It checks for OSDIR, if not present check for ECS, if OSDIR then probably ARCA so check for install.flg and parse the first line.

Mike

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • Karma: +42/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2023, 03:39:40 pm »
Thanks Michael for sharing the source.

It is very interesting to see how your nver checks for OS/2, eCS or ArcaOS and shows the corresponding version.

It makes me wonder where does "DosQuerySysInfo" get's the OS/2 version. Where is stored that version text?

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Eric Erickson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2023, 03:40:02 am »
I could only find the version using the install.flg method for ArcaOS. It would be great if a SYSLEVEL file was included. Try the attached. It was something I used to use with ECS and just extended it for ArcaOS. I think this is accessible here if you want to see how I did it:
 
https://greenenet.ddns.net/os2project/version

If the link works, nver.exe is the executable. It checks for OSDIR, if not present check for ECS, if OSDIR then probably ARCA so check for install.flg and parse the first line.

Mike

Mike,

Thanks, nver is exactly what I was looking for. It just baffles me that something like this is not part of the base ArcaOs system.

Andrew Stephenson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2023, 03:23:59 pm »
Someone may already have said the following more cleverly but here goes: ISTR DOS has an API that returns the DOS version in a way programs can use easily.  AFAIR, OS/2's DOS session gives "20" so that apps & utils can be confident it possesses the modern highfalutin' bells & whistles.  Could AOS become similarly equipped, thereby removing any need for stray files and such?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4855
  • Karma: +102/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2023, 04:40:54 pm »
Wonder if it is a licensing issue? I'd assume the contract with IBM has various conditions which might include leaving all version stuff alone.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
  • Karma: +9/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2023, 06:10:31 pm »
I could only find the version using the install.flg method for ArcaOS. It would be great if a SYSLEVEL file was included. Try the attached. It was something I used to use with ECS and just extended it for ArcaOS. I think this is accessible here if you want to see how I did it:
 
https://greenenet.ddns.net/os2project/version

If the link works, nver.exe is the executable. It checks for OSDIR, if not present check for ECS, if OSDIR then probably ARCA so check for install.flg and parse the first line.

Mike

Mike,

Thanks, nver is exactly what I was looking for. It just baffles me that something like this is not part of the base ArcaOs system.

since V2.0.1, AVxCAT shows your OS version  (same location as written into previous posts   
« Last Edit: October 06, 2023, 05:37:32 pm by Remy »

Roderick Klein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 667
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Determine ArcaOs Version installed
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2023, 05:16:53 pm »
Wonder if it is a licensing issue? I'd assume the contract with IBM has various conditions which might include leaving all version stuff alone.

I know that at the time working on eCS Kim Cheung patches out OS/2 ver version output. And it would return eCS 1.0 instead.
And as it turns out the Lotus Smartsuite 1.7.0. installer checks the ver.exe output.  Pretty clumsy, but so goes...

Roderick