Author Topic: arcmapper  (Read 12215 times)

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
arcmapper
« on: November 11, 2023, 05:49:18 pm »
Greetings,

Prior to 5.1 I was able to auto connect to my NAS on reboot, with 5.1 I have to add credentials and it says they are only valid until shutdown so when I reboot it fails to connect.  Is there something different with 5.1?  How to I keep the credentials after reboot so it connects reboot.

Regards,

Rick

David McKenna

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2023, 06:50:15 pm »
Hi Rick,

  In the ArcaMapper Network Connections folder, double click the 'New Connection' icon and fill in the info for your share to mount (\\Servername\share) and choose drive to map to. Click 'Options' and make sure any other option needed is chosen, but in particular 'Save this Connection' and then click 'OK', then add your credentials. Then open 'Preferences' and make sure 'Restore Saved Connections on Startup' is chosen.

Regards,

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2023, 01:53:53 am »
Also, when you choose to save a connection, select the restorable connection option on the save dialog. The same dialog also gives you the option of saving your password, although for security reasons this is unchecked by default. If you don't save the password, you'll be prompted to enter it at startup. (You only have the enter the password once if multiple connections use the same credentials.)

I designed it that way because I've worked in a number of environments which are highly security-conscious, and as a result I've largely internalized the "secure by default" way of thinking. As noted, you can save the password along with the connection, but I only recommend doing that if you have full, private control over the computer.

BTW, since the client is based on NetDrive, you can also use the ndctl option to save and restore connections automatically - this basically has the same effect as saving all connections along with their passwords. (This involves hand-editing ndctl.cfg and setting the PersistentVolumeConfiguration option. Again, this is not considered secure if other people may have access to the computer.) Don't do this if you use the ArcaMapper 'restore connections on startup' option, because if you do it'll end up trying to restore connections twice.

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2023, 01:56:15 am »
BTW, the "authentication concepts" section of the ArcaMapper guide, and the Credential Manager section, provide some (hopefully useful) information.

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2023, 02:40:36 am »
Also, when you choose to save a connection, select the restorable connection option on the save dialog. The same dialog also gives you the option of saving your password, although for security reasons this is unchecked by default. If you don't save the password, you'll be prompted to enter it at startup. (You only have the enter the password once if multiple connections use the same credentials.)

I designed it that way because I've worked in a number of environments which are highly security-conscious, and as a result I've largely internalized the "secure by default" way of thinking. As noted, you can save the password along with the connection, but I only recommend doing that if you have full, private control over the computer.

BTW, since the client is based on NetDrive, you can also use the ndctl option to save and restore connections automatically - this basically has the same effect as saving all connections along with their passwords. (This involves hand-editing ndctl.cfg and setting the PersistentVolumeConfiguration option. Again, this is not considered secure if other people may have access to the computer.) Don't do this if you use the ArcaMapper 'restore connections on startup' option, because if you do it'll end up trying to restore connections twice.

I have done it this way I believe, it still gives me an error when it reboots that it couldnt connect to the share... I will have another look at it later.

Regards,

Rick

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2023, 03:26:43 pm »
BTW, the "authentication concepts" section of the ArcaMapper guide, and the Credential Manager section, provide some (hopefully useful) information.

When I look at the active credentials after I manually restore the connection, my credentials say valid until shutdown?  Not sure if that is what it is suppose to look like, none the less it still errors on reboot that it could not connect to the share until I open arcmapper and restore connection?

Regards,

Rick

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2023, 02:25:35 am »
Greetings,

I have tried every which way I can, it fails to connect on reboot until I open arcamapper and click restore connections, then it connects just fine.

Regards.

Rick

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2023, 03:55:52 am »
Just out of curiousity, are you using DHCP?

It's possible that restoring connections might fail if you haven't acquired an IP address yet.

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2023, 05:13:08 am »
Just out of curiousity, are you using DHCP?

It's possible that restoring connections might fail if you haven't acquired an IP address yet.

I could assign that machine a static ip and retest it.

Rick

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2023, 06:26:16 am »
Greetings,

Setting static IP did not change anything.  Still errors at boot and easily connects by clicking restore connection.  How would I go about reinstalling just that package?

Rick

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2023, 01:49:35 pm »
Which package?

It would be useful to see what is the actual error you are getting. Trying to guess at the problem blindly is, well, guessing blindly. :p

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2023, 03:24:45 pm »
Pardon me for jumping in. I have the same problem connecting to my ArcaOS-based SAMBA server.

Sometimes it works. Sometimes it gives the message "Failed to establish 1 connection". Then Details says "Failed to mount "GARBOPEEP\D" on "R:\". The specified server cannot perform the requested operation. My systems use DHCP. I have saved the password.

Rather than using the startup folder to restore connections, I have tcpexit.cmd with "F:\USR\BIN\CONNECT.EXE /restore"
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Rick Smith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2023, 05:33:22 pm »
Pardon me for jumping in. I have the same problem connecting to my ArcaOS-based SAMBA server.

Sometimes it works. Sometimes it gives the message "Failed to establish 1 connection". Then Details says "Failed to mount "GARBOPEEP\D" on "R:\". The specified server cannot perform the requested operation. My systems use DHCP. I have saved the password.

Rather than using the startup folder to restore connections, I have tcpexit.cmd with "F:\USR\BIN\CONNECT.EXE /restore"

Neil does this seem to work for you?  Whatever changed for me came with 5.1.  I have the exact error msg's you are getting so it appears to be a timing issue?

Rick

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2023, 07:43:31 pm »
Hi Rick

I don't use samba or arcmapper myself but you could try deleting the CONNECTIONS  from the config.sys SET AUTOSTART line to see if that solves the problem.


Regards

Pete

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: arcmapper
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2023, 09:30:31 pm »
Pardon me for jumping in. I have the same problem connecting to my ArcaOS-based SAMBA server.

Sometimes it works. Sometimes it gives the message "Failed to establish 1 connection". Then Details says "Failed to mount "GARBOPEEP\D" on "R:\". The specified server cannot perform the requested operation. My systems use DHCP. I have saved the password.

Rather than using the startup folder to restore connections, I have tcpexit.cmd with "F:\USR\BIN\CONNECT.EXE /restore"

Neil does this seem to work for you?  Whatever changed for me came with 5.1.  I have the exact error msg's you are getting so it appears to be a timing issue?

Rick

No. It works sometimes.

I'll bet it has something to do with credentials. You know, there isn't any documentation on setting up users for Samba, so did I do it right?

I guess if it works even once, it can't really be bad users on the server side.

I had no luck figuring out the \usr\bin\net command. It seems to try NETBIOS first.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com