Author Topic: [SOLVED] DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest  (Read 11639 times)

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2024, 09:30:47 pm »
Hi mauro

Copy danis506.add and daniatap.flt to [BootDrive]:\os2\boot

Open [BootDrive]:\config.sys and add the following 2 lines

BASEDEV=DANIS506.ADD /!BIOS
BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT

then REM the start of these lines if they exist

BASEDEV=IBM1S506.ADD
BASEDEV=IBMATAPI.FLT
BASEDEV=IBMIDECD.FLT

Save config.sys

Reboot

Test DFSee


Regards

Pete








Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4829
  • Karma: +101/-1
    • View Profile
Re: DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2024, 11:29:38 pm »
I also have BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT right after the DANIS506.ADD line. Right now I can't remember what it replaces or if it replaces something, check the documentation. The DANIS506.ADD should be OK on its own.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2024, 05:45:59 am »
Hi Dave

Memory nudge: daniatapi.flt replaces the 2 files IBMATAPI.FLT and IBMIDECD.FLT


Regards

Pete
 

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
[SOLVED]: DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2024, 08:21:28 pm »
Hi mauro

Copy danis506.add and daniatap.flt to [BootDrive]:\os2\boot

Open [BootDrive]:\config.sys and add the following 2 lines

BASEDEV=DANIS506.ADD /!BIOS
BASEDEV=DANIATAP.FLT

then REM the start of these lines if they exist

BASEDEV=IBM1S506.ADD
BASEDEV=IBMATAPI.FLT
BASEDEV=IBMIDECD.FLT

Save config.sys

Reboot

Test DFSee


Regards

Pete

Ok Pete, it has worked!  Now we know that DFSee 17 (guess other software as well) needs DANIS506.ADD and DANIATAP.FLT to replace IBM1S506.ADD and IBMATAPI.FLT .
Thank you much
« Last Edit: January 16, 2024, 08:41:15 pm by mauro »

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1298
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2024, 02:05:29 am »
Hi All

I seem to have found a problem with DFSee 17 and creating Desktop objects.
In the dfsee bin directory is the file dfswpobj.cmd which is meant to create all DFSee Desktop objects.
When I run that file it reports lots of objects created successfully - and nothing appears on the Desktop.
Anyone else seeing this? - you will need to delete existing DFSee Desktop objects to test this so I suggest Desktop backup *before* testing.


Regards

Pete

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2024, 11:25:26 am »
not my case, desktop objects in DFSee 17 installation were correctly created on the desktop.
All I can say about is that I first provided the uninstallation of the previous version both by WarpIn and then deleting the DFSee directory in HOME:\TOOLS

CalYY

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2024, 03:39:50 am »
Most probable reason for your issue is using an old BASEDEV=IBM1S506.ADD which had a small partition size limit. Later versions corrected this and Dani's driver always had no small drive limit

mauro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 415
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] DFSEE open source (17) not running on Warp4.52 Virtualbox guest
« Reply #22 on: January 25, 2024, 08:40:40 am »
Most probable reason for your issue is using an old BASEDEV=IBM1S506.ADD which had a small partition size limit. Later versions corrected this and Dani's driver always had no small drive limit

confirm this has fixed the issue in my case