Author Topic: vncserver setup  (Read 3401 times)

Edmund Wong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
vncserver setup
« on: February 29, 2024, 10:48:32 am »
Hi,

I was looking for a vncserver for os2 and came across http://os2.snc.ru/product-VNC.html.

I installed the wpi file and installed it.  I have the vncserver and vncviewer.  I tried running vncserver but
nothing happened.  I tried "vncserver -s properties-open"   and it stated that the vnc server wasn't running.

Might anyone have any pointers in getting this running?

Thanks

Ed

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
  • Karma: +11/-2
    • View Profile
Re: vncserver setup
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2024, 11:21:54 am »
Any entry in popuplog.os2?

I'm running vncserver/client since many years. Think some version from last year or so. No problem here. Wild guess, you miss some dependency dll. Hence looking into popuplog.os2.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: vncserver setup
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2024, 03:27:13 pm »
1. You need RPM/YUM. Type command:

       yum install libc libgcc1 openssl zlib pthread libjpeg libpng

   or use Arca Noae Package Manager to install these packages.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4790
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: vncserver setup
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2024, 08:59:12 pm »
Hello

Which OS/2 version are you using?

Like Neil said, VNC requires some extra DLLs, the easy way will be to install those are with ANPM.
- https://repos.arcanoae.com/anpm/anpm_1_1_0_2.exe

FYI: When it runs, the VNC Server will show a little icon on the XCenter for you to manage it. (Picture attached).

Quote
1. You need RPM/YUM. Type command:

       yum install libc libgcc1 openssl zlib pthread libjpeg libpng

   or use Arca Noae Package Manager to install these packages.

2. It is recommended to use Extended System Tray Widget (by Dmik) for
   eCenter/XCenter with VNC Server:

       ftp://ftp.netlabs.org/pub/qt4/xsystray/xsystray-0_1_1.wpi

   or System Tray Widget ver. 0.3 (by ErOs2).

3. Install vnc.wpi WarpIn package. After installation, the folder "VNC" will
   appear on the desktop. If component VNC Viewer was selected, the VNC Viewer
   template appears in the list of system templates.

Regards
« Last Edit: February 29, 2024, 09:06:16 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Edmund Wong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: vncserver setup
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2024, 01:51:41 am »
Hello

Which OS/2 version are you using?

Like Neil said, VNC requires some extra DLLs, the easy way will be to install those are with ANPM.
- https://repos.arcanoae.com/anpm/anpm_1_1_0_2.exe

FYI: When it runs, the VNC Server will show a little icon on the XCenter for you to manage it. (Picture attached).

Quote
1. You need RPM/YUM. Type command:

       yum install libc libgcc1 openssl zlib pthread libjpeg libpng

   or use Arca Noae Package Manager to install these packages.

2. It is recommended to use Extended System Tray Widget (by Dmik) for
   eCenter/XCenter with VNC Server:

       ftp://ftp.netlabs.org/pub/qt4/xsystray/xsystray-0_1_1.wpi

   or System Tray Widget ver. 0.3 (by ErOs2).

3. Install vnc.wpi WarpIn package. After installation, the folder "VNC" will
   appear on the desktop. If component VNC Viewer was selected, the VNC Viewer
   template appears in the list of system templates.

Regards

Hi,  I followed the instructions as mentioned in the readme.  I had installed all those packages..  I even
installed XCenter.  But I think I need to reboot my system as now nothing seem to be running. 

will report when I unhork the desktop.

Thanks

Ed

Edmund Wong

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: vncserver setup
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2024, 02:07:49 am »
Hi again,

I just rebooted my system.   Looks like it required a reboot. 

Sorry for the noise.  I don't know if anyone else has this issue, but when running different operating systems,  it takes a long time for me to context-switch in how to operate them.  Had I went directly from my old OS/2 Warp system to ArcaOS,  I wouldn't have had so much problem.   Unfortunately, between not using my OS/2 Warp system to using ArcaOS,  a lot of time has past and have used both MacMinis and Windows,  it's jarring. 

Thanks for the help, everyone.

Ed

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4790
  • Karma: +41/-1
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: vncserver setup
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2024, 08:09:08 pm »
Hello

I just rebooted my system.   Looks like it required a reboot. 

Good to know it is working.

In the case of "xsystray-0_1_1.wpi", when you install a xCenter plugin, it requires xCenter to restart.
Maybe that is why once you rebooted your machine, you were able to see the VNC icon on the xCenter.

Regards

Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.