Author Topic: Netdrive and ArcaOS  (Read 1517 times)

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Netdrive and ArcaOS
« on: April 03, 2024, 01:13:48 pm »
Is the version of NetDrive included in ArcaOS the full version, in which many different plugins may be installed?  If yes, what is the name of the program that controls all of that (I have been out of the OS/2 ecosystem for a while, just getting back from time to time..)? If no, can one install the conventional netdrive without creating conflicts?

Andi B.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 844
  • Karma: +11/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Netdrive and ArcaOS
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2024, 02:21:36 pm »
Is the version of NetDrive included in ArcaOS the full version,
No. Works only with the Samba plugin AFAIK. Maybe ISO too?

Quote
If no, can one install the conventional netdrive without creating conflicts?
Yes. You can install it in parallel but you may have to redirect the settings in config.sys and tcpexit/b4... or whoever ndctl.exe is started from.

Glenn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Netdrive and ArcaOS
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2024, 04:40:17 pm »
Yes. You can install it in parallel but you may have to redirect the settings in config.sys and tcpexit/b4... or whoever ndctl.exe is started from.
Thanks Andi. Is there somewhere a page that explains how to get NetDrive working on ArcaOS, whether side-by-side with the Arca stuff or just by itself ?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Netdrive and ArcaOS
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2024, 03:54:16 am »
You can just run the NetDrive installer on ArcaOS, and it will replace the Arca Noae version with the full version. It even keeps your NetDrive settings the same.

Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1335
  • Karma: +26/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Netdrive and ArcaOS
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2024, 03:57:18 am »
Neil, everyone...

You can just run the NetDrive installer on ArcaOS, and it will replace the Arca Noae version with the full version. It even keeps your NetDrive settings the same.

Slightly different outcome here, although this is OS/2 SMP 4.52, so not an out-of-the-box AN install.

Anyways...I have been using NetDrive for some years now, and have installed in the same configuration the AN ArcapMapper stuff, primarily for testing purposes.

Both work, one does not replace the other (as far as binaries go), from functionality perspective that is somewhat the case (with the already mentioned shortcomings of the AN solution), but the programs are different.

So Glenn, you should be able to install NetDrive and have it functioning on it's own...but as mentioned, carefully navigate as both of these solutions attempt to deliver the same functionality.