Author Topic: AOOo 4111GA does not start  (Read 9803 times)

Erich Schulman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
AOOo 4111GA does not start
« on: February 18, 2015, 04:30:30 pm »
Unable to start Apache OpenOffice
Execution failed! Contact technical support.
Return code: 8
Failing module: D:\APPS\APACHEOPENOFFICE.4\PROGRAM\SVXCORE.DLL

This occurs if I try to launch Text Document, Spreadsheet, Impress, Draw, Base, Math, or Open Document.

Since I only have FP15, I know that technically I don't meet the minimum requirements. I used the .wpi installation method.

Ian Manners

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 318
  • I am the computer, it is me.
    • View Profile
    • ComKal Networks Australia
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2015, 04:39:36 pm »
Hi Erich,

You might need to uninstall it via Warpin, then ensure you have AOO-4111-GA-rpm.wpi in the same directory as your main
AOO-4111-GA-base-xx.wpi file, if you haven't yet.

And I assume you have read readme_aoo.txt :)
Cheers
Ian B Manners

Erich Schulman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2015, 08:35:10 pm »
Both .wpi files were in E:\. And I carefully read the readme to be sure I would be doing everything right.

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2015, 07:28:32 am »
Open a command line window, change into D:\APPS\APACHEOPENOFFICE.4\PROGRAM\ and start soffice.exe or swriter.exe from there. Probably this will tell you which prerequisite you missed to install.

Erich Schulman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2015, 01:27:47 pm »
Open a command line window, change into D:\APPS\APACHEOPENOFFICE.4\PROGRAM\ and start soffice.exe or swriter.exe from there. Probably this will tell you which prerequisite you missed to install.

I got the same error dialog as before, and nothing printed to the console.

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 426
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2015, 03:24:41 pm »
Maybe I was wrong and 8 means out of memory. Not sure anymore. Another thing worth to try is above512 to see how much memory is available on your system.

TeLLie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2015, 07:03:54 pm »
Hi Erich,

Try on that dll chckdll32..

C:\PROGRAMS\ApacheOpenOffice.4\program>chkdll32 svxcore.dll

And then you see all dll that are loaded and missed ?

Think chkdll32 in on Hobbes

Erich Schulman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2015, 10:19:52 pm »
Hi Erich,

Try on that dll chckdll32..

C:\PROGRAMS\ApacheOpenOffice.4\program>chkdll32 svxcore.dll

And then you see all dll that are loaded and missed ?

Think chkdll32 in on Hobbes

I did not find it on Hobbes, but after a Google search I found it somewhere else. And I saw it was for IBM internal use only  :-X

It looks like a lot is missing from the secondary .wpi, unless these are things not available under FP15. I snipped out the parts that loaded successfully.
Code: [Select]
Loading DLL 'svt' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'svt'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'vcl' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'vcl'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'sfx' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'sfx'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'editeng' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'editeng'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'drawingl' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'drawingl'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'ootk' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'ootk'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'sb' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'sb'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'avmedia' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'avmedia'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'fwe' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'fwe'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2015, 10:38:20 pm »
You're missing the Innotek font Engine. Perhaps this will help, http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip. I believe there is a newer one out there.

Erich Schulman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2015, 03:06:34 am »
You're missing the Innotek font Engine. Perhaps this will help, http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip. I believe there is a newer one out there.

I got it from Hobbes in case I can't find a newer one anywhere. I already installed FreeType/2. Would it and Innotek conflict?

Ian Manners

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 36
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 318
  • I am the computer, it is me.
    • View Profile
    • ComKal Networks Australia
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2015, 03:25:31 am »
http://www.os2site.com/sw/graphics/fonts/

28/07/03   1:38       1498           0  innotek_ft2lib_100.txt
28/07/03  12:54     371888           0  innotek_ft2lib_100.zip
17/12/03   7:19     673366           0  innotek_ft2lib_210_preview3.exe
17/12/03   7:19     675844           0  innotek_ft2lib_230_preview4.exe
17/12/03   7:19     675798           0  innotek_ft2lib_230_preview5.exe
19/02/04   1:46     682765           0  innotek_ft2lib_240_release1.exe
 8/07/04  20:01    1019545           0  innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe

I use innotek_ft2lib_240_release1.exe,  I dont think I've tried  innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe but it's 'probably' ok.

Cheers
Ian B Manners

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2015, 04:25:48 am »
You're missing the Innotek font Engine. Perhaps this will help, http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip. I believe there is a newer one out there.

I got it from Hobbes in case I can't find a newer one anywhere. I already installed FreeType/2. Would it and Innotek conflict?

No, they shouldn't conflict.
You can control which applications the font engine works with by registry settings. Start regedt2 and search for innotek. The Mozilla  apps (Firefox v4+) have their own freetype+fontconfig and can do anti-aliasing on their own.
Note that the Innotek Font Engine was never really finished before Innotek got carried away with their success with VirtualBox and can be unstable but the anti-aliasing can be nice.

Erich Schulman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2015, 08:28:44 am »
That got me closer. I still have 2 failures.

Code: [Select]
Loading DLL 'editeng' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'editeng'.  DosLoadModule returned: 8
OS/2 reports 'EDITENG' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'xo' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'xo'.  DosLoadModule returned: 8
OS/2 reports 'XO' contributed to the failure.

I found nothing on Hobbes that would seem to fit either.

I changed the registry settings to 0 for each Mozilla application. Is there a way to confirm they are indeed using FT/2 rather than IFE?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 144
  • Posts: 2064
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2015, 08:46:33 am »
if Firefox runs everything is OK. I don't seem to have any of those libraries installed here, don't have Openoffice either.

David McKenna

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 9
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2015, 02:44:15 pm »
Erich,

  EDITENG.dll and XO.dll are both part of the OpenOffice package and should be located in your OpenOffice.4\program directory. If they are missing then something went wrong with your install. They are also dependent on gcc1.dll, gcc473.dll and libc066.dll. There is a great little app called PMDLL (at hobbes.nmsu.edu) that you can use to figure out these kind of things...