Author Topic: Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox  (Read 4467 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox
« on: March 18, 2015, 12:05:43 am »
Someone asked me why the Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox. I don't use Yahoo, but it does look like it's putting up the mobile website. Anyone use Yahoo with OS/2 Firefox (or SeaMonkey)?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 01:52:17 am »
I see that with vk.com. That has a "full version" menu item that cures it. Alternatively, setting the user agent string to some recent win, nix or apple version will give you the normal site. Website checks user agent, everything it doesn't know will make it fall back to mobile version.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 03:39:26 pm »
I installed a Firefox extension named User Agent Switcher 0.7.3 and told Yahoo I was Internet Explorer 8.0. The website now appears normally.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 10:44:19 pm »
As far as user agent switchers go, the one I found (see previous message), doesn't remember its settings. If I set it to Internet Exporer 8, the next restart of Firefox has it back to default. I guess that's good enough, but what I'd really like is to change to Internet Explorer 8 and leave it that way.

Does anyone know a user agent switcher that works that way?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

guzzi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2015, 12:43:34 am »
uacontrol can set the string per site. I prefer that, at least to let some website stats analysts see that there are still a few OS/2 users around)

Greggory Shaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 442
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Yahoo website looks strange on OS/2 Firefox
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2015, 03:46:40 am »
As far as user agent switchers go, the one I found (see previous message), doesn't remember its settings. If I set it to Internet Exporer 8, the next restart of Firefox has it back to default. I guess that's good enough, but what I'd really like is to change to Internet Explorer 8 and leave it that way.

Does anyone know a user agent switcher that works that way?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/user-agent-overrider/

Greggory