Author Topic: OS/2 installation on ThinkPad T420  (Read 2828 times)

John Poltorak

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 16
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
OS/2 installation on ThinkPad T420
« on: July 03, 2016, 09:45:41 pm »
Has anyone tried installing OS/2 on a ThinkPad T420?

I inserted a disk with an existing installation, and whilst it didn't crash it would not load PMSHELL. Also I couldn't get networking working.

Can anyone suggest what I need to try?

https://support.lenovo.com/gb/en/documents/pd015734
« Last Edit: July 03, 2016, 09:48:28 pm by John Poltorak »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 192
  • Posts: 2652
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/2 installation on ThinkPad T420
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2016, 12:02:10 am »
I'd start by playing with the ACPI settings, eg the /w switch, then if you can get it to fully boot up, run the pci utility to find out which networking card and wireless card are installed.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 524
  • -Receive: 103
  • Posts: 2834
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: OS/2 installation on ThinkPad T420
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2016, 03:20:19 am »
Hi

I used to have a Thinkpad L420. The only way to make it boot in my case was with the eComStation  CD with the ACPI driver.
If you want to use it with OS/2 Warp 4.52 I think you need to tweak the CD/ISO to include and load the ACPI driver.

Regards.
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Eugene Gorbunoff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS/2 installation on ThinkPad T420
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2016, 05:43:03 pm »
Yes, I agree,  Thinkpad T420 works fine with OS/2 5-th generation (ACPI, modern kernel).

If you want inserted disk from other PC, then
* verify what video driver is installed. Install Panorama VESA
* temporary disable USB drivers (if IBM USB drivers)