Author Topic: Redirect LPT1 port  (Read 12729 times)

mlandelle

Redirect LPT1 port
« on: March 08, 2013, 03:36:17 pm »
Hi everybody,

I'm new on that forum so first let me introduce myself shortly: I'm an IT technician in a french industrial company, more than newbie on OS/2 system, and I'm facing today with a little problem:

We've bought another company last year which the whole production system runs with OS/2 environment, on old PCs with old printers connected on parallel port (Epson LX-300)... And all those machines are networked with an old Novell server within Netware protocol. To be honest, it's a great premiere for me because I didn't know all those systems before, so you can imagine I'm not familiar at all with that!!

As we wanted to secure all that system before expected crash, I succeded in installing OS/2 Warp 4 on VirtualPC machines and make our application running well. But now I would like to find a solution to plug off the physical printers and make my application print in a file. An output on LPT1 is needed by our application indeed (or it doesn't work at all) and our old printers begin to be very tired so I would find a solution to redirect LPT1 outputs to a file on disk or simulate a printer on LPT1.

I found several DOS utils to do that but the application runs within a OS/2 session, so it doesn't work... And I tried some PDF printer utilities found on os2site.com archive, like pmpdf, ePDF or eredman, but I don't succed in installing/using them (because I'm not very at ease with this systme for sure...).

And for your information I already had a discussion with Ian Manners who guided me to this forum (because he knows there's a solution but don't remember what he made 17 years ago ! Shame on him  ;D...)

Would you have any solution for me?

Thanks by advance!

Martin Iturbide

• OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Redirect LPT1 port