Author Topic: Problems with fresh yum install  (Read 5913 times)

Michael Holzapfel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Problems with fresh yum install
« on: September 26, 2015, 06:42:11 pm »
Hi all,

after HD crash I have to setup a new System. After setting up the basic system, I can not manage to install RPM-YUM.
Starting with
http://rpm.netlabs.org/bootstrap/rpm-yum-bootstrap-1_5-p4.wpi
I end up with the following in YUM Bootstrap Console:
Code: [Select]
1. Make sure you have an active Internet connection.

2. Type "yum install yum" in the command prompt below.

3. Wait until YUM downloads the base packages and installs itself.
   This may take some time.

4. Reboot!

5. Have nice yumming!

Repository setup
Testing internet connection: "yum repolist"...
netlabs-rel               100% |=========================| 2.9 kB    00:00
netlabs-rel/primary_db    100% |=========================| 623 kB    00:03


[Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/@unixroot/var/cache/yum/netlabs-rel/176ec
50a88496ad1c9eaa819ba3ea697524629651e879909c37e81ee82481c2a-primary.sqlite.bz2'

Any idea what was going wrong? Thanks in advance for your help.
Michael




Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2331
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2015, 07:21:02 pm »
Are you using eCS 2.2beta or older?

Michael Holzapfel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2015, 07:41:21 pm »
Well, because of german language it is an ecs 1.2-german with a lot of updates (arcanoae-drivers). This was working for years now.

yum repolist fails, probably something is missing on the server...

Michael

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2331
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2015, 08:18:51 pm »
Yes, I get similar errors when I have network congestion. Try again later and if it still doesn't work we'll look closer.

Michael Holzapfel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2015, 11:43:47 pm »
Hm....

still does not work. Meanwhile I have installed ecs in a virtualbox. Installing yum went fine. But still not working on my real system.

"yum clean all" then  "yum repolist" results in the same error.

Any idea how to transfer the working yum from virtual environment to the real system?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 167
  • Posts: 2331
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2015, 02:11:00 am »
Copy \usr \var \etc over to your real system and add \usr\bin to the PATH and \usr\lib to the LIBPATH. I prefer adding them to the front. And add set UNIXROOT=x: where x: is whichever drive you chose to config.sys. Reboot and test.
Oh, don't forget to remove the yum bootstrap with warpin and check your PATH and LIBPATH that it is gone.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2015, 02:17:40 am by Dave Yeo »

Michael Holzapfel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 4
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2015, 07:53:17 pm »
Thanks Dave, worked so far. As always I get these messages when installing something

Warnung: RPMDB wurde außerhalb von yum verändert.
...
Rpmdb checksum is invalid: dCDPT(pkg checksums)

But fortunately yum+rpm is operational.

For others following daves proposal, please remind that yum bootstrap creates
PATH=C:\usr\sbin;C:\usr\bin;... in path statement.

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2015, 11:14:22 pm »
Code: [Select]
Warnung: RPMDB wurde außerhalb von yum verändert.
...
Rpmdb checksum is invalid: dCDPT(pkg checksums)
This is a known bug in the Python scripts, AFAIR. Search for it and you'll see that other OS are affected as well. Just ignore it.

Jochen Schäfer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2015, 01:02:21 pm »
Is there any other way to get around this error on an ECS 2.1 installation?
I have the same error message, but I'm in no hurry to install ECS again in a VM  ;)
« Last Edit: December 29, 2015, 01:06:08 pm by Jochen Schäfer »

Alex Taylor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 18
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2015, 05:50:32 am »
It's not a real error, just a cosmetic bug in yum.  You can safely ignore it.

Jochen Schäfer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2016, 03:41:14 pm »
No, I can't. The problem, stated in the original message, is a show stopper.
Is there some work around for that?

Andreas Schnellbacher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 26
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2016, 06:08:08 pm »
Do you mean that you have the same error message as Michael? With:
Code: [Select]
[Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/@unixroot/var/cache/yum/netlabs-rel/176ec
50a88496ad1c9eaa819ba3ea697524629651e879909c37e81ee82481c2a-primary.sqlite.bz2'

Most likely that is caused by outdated DLLs in \ecs\dll.

  • You could try Jan-Erik's dllCleanOut.cmd, posted here. Note that it renames doubled files immediately, without confirmation.
  • But probably that won't help in your case. Then follow Lewis' instructions.

Jochen Schäfer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2016, 08:35:06 pm »
Thanks für the info. I will try this.

Jochen Schäfer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 18
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with fresh yum install
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2016, 01:38:41 pm »
Thanks für the info. I will try this.
So, I installed the Arca Noae Package installer. Lo, and behold, yum/rpm works just fine.