OS2 World Community Forum

OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical => Setup & Installation => Topic started by: jamie marchant on August 03, 2020, 05:27:19 am

Title: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 03, 2020, 05:27:19 am
I see all sorts of tools to install fixpacks, which is the easiest way? I don't have 20 or so spare floppies. I think I need to install a virtual floppy drive but will that be accessible when installing the fixpack?  Is they any sort of script to do take care of everything automatically(like installing Service Packs/patches in Windows)
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Ian Manners on August 03, 2020, 06:50:45 am
http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/fp.html

http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/util/index.html

For Warp4, there are also HD installable versions in various directories like
http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/warp4/fixpack15/index.html

I also created files to allow installation via os2serv, example here
http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/warp4/fixpack15/zip/install.txt
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Dave Yeo on August 03, 2020, 07:08:43 am
Its has been a long time but I think I used this, https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/patches/fixpack/fastkick141.zip (https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/patches/fixpack/fastkick141.zip)
About fixpaks, they're cumulative, so you only need to install the latest/last one. The device drivers were split off into their own fixpak, so you also need to install it. It is possible to trick the fixpak installer into applying the later ones for Warp Server, but I'd hold off on that.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Andreas Schnellbacher on August 03, 2020, 01:14:06 pm
Additionally to this, I had used QickFix 1.21 (https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/patches/fixpack/qf121.zip) for the later Warp 4 fixpaks.

Ian, your collection looks impressive.

BTW: AFAIR, one needs an OS/2 machine or an account from Ian to access Ian's site.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 03, 2020, 07:08:39 pm
 https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/patches/fixpack/fastkick141.zip is for OS/2 Warp 4(or that's what the readme says)

Which tools do I need on http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/util/index.html? I am overwhelmed by the number of them.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Andreas Schnellbacher on August 03, 2020, 10:24:06 pm
Quote
is for OS/2 Warp 4
The readme of QuickFix says that later versions support also Warp 3.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 03, 2020, 10:51:43 pm
Ah, I see. I'll have to try that when I can.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 04, 2020, 02:32:59 am
What do I do after I unpack fastkick141, fix.cmd gives the error "The path SET CSFCDROMIR=C:\fixpack does not exist or is invalid, something I need from "http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/util/index.html"? If so, what?
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Dave Yeo on August 04, 2020, 04:09:01 am
Sounds like you have to unpack the fixpak disk images and copy them to C:\fixpak or set CSFCDROMIR to point where they are copied. Sorry, it has been so long and mostly I used floppies to apply fixpaks.
Unluckily it has been so long my memory is slipping, hopefully someone else can remember.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Alex Taylor on August 04, 2020, 02:19:45 pm
My page describes a couple of different methods to install FixPaks.
http://www.altsan.org/os2/fixpaks/index.html
Scroll down to "How to install a FixPak" (about halfway down).

There are also links for using RSU to install them, but not all versions, fixpaks and languages are available that way.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 04, 2020, 07:48:19 pm
Thanks, that guide seems to explain things in an understandable way.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 04, 2020, 10:34:15 pm
I tried following Alex's guide and put CSF and the FixPak in the same folder. I get the error "ATTRIBV3.exe not found. Must be in the . directory". Would do you suggest?

UPDATE: I seem to be missing a floppy image.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 05, 2020, 01:53:36 am
Ok, now I get "No serviceable products found on your harddrive. No match between CSD Level and Compid of the product found by the SYSLEVEL command and those supported by this FixPak." I assume this means I downloaded the wrong fixpac?
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Dave Yeo on August 05, 2020, 01:57:43 am
Ok, now I get "No serviceable products found on your harddrive. No match between CSD Level and Compid of the product found by the SYSLEVEL command and those supported by this FixPak." I assume this means I downloaded the wrong fixpac?

Sounds like it. I believe the fixpaks use SYSLEVEL to see what version of various stuff you have installed. Try running syslevel at a prompt, eventually it'll return a bunch of syslevels if curious.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Martin Iturbide on August 06, 2020, 04:11:22 pm
Hi

I tried a Warp 3 VM and installed Fixpack 40 on it.  I used this technique:
1) download the fixpack ftp://service.boulder.ibm.com/ps/products/os2/fixes/v3.0warp/english-us/xr_w040/
2) Download diunpack (https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/system/patches/diunpack304b.zip) and diunpack every file of the fixpack,
3) Download and run ftp://service.boulder.ibm.com/ps/products/os2/fixtool/english-us/cs_144.exe (CS_144.EXE) in the same folder
4) Download and run Fix.cmd (https://github.com/OS2World/CMD-Scripts/raw/master/Fixpack/fix/FIX.CMD) to install it.

I wlill like to share the prepared fixpack 40, but I still need to take out the files from that VM.

Regards
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 17, 2020, 03:04:43 am
What do I put for "archive path"?
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Martin Iturbide on August 17, 2020, 03:34:20 am
Hi

What do I put for "archive path"?

If I don't recall it wrong is the backup folder for the old files to be replaced. Create a directory like C:\Bak\fix40 and point the archive path there. After that the tool will do all the file updating, reboot, and it may do a quick reboot on the next boot to update the locked files.

Regards
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 17, 2020, 07:06:48 pm
Now I get the error found in this picture: https://flic.kr/p/2jxkvbA, they were a bunch of files with newer dates(probably from drivers I installed) and I used the versions in the fixpack, do I need to revert to the old version and do it again and not replace files with older versions. I already tried following the instructions in the error message and copying the dll to the root of my c:\ drive but that made no difference. 

(By the way, how do I revert it, if that's the best course of action)
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Dave Yeo on August 17, 2020, 08:13:55 pm
Unluckily the JPG is unreadable. I'd suggest using a PNG as they seem to work better for this type of picture.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 17, 2020, 08:44:47 pm
Since I am on real hardware I took a photo with my camera, it can only make JPEGs.(though my SLR can do RAW but I don't know how easily I can convert that to PNG)

The error says that the system can't load DOSCALL1.dll, as well as some BASEDEV statements.(AUTODRV2.sys, CLAUDIO.SYS, IBMSS14.SYS)

It also reports an IRQ conflict. 

I think some of those are audio drivers as Linux repair CD meses up my sound card and makes it unusable, I have to wait with the computer unplugged for a while to get it to work again. 

I don't know what the other error means though... hmm...
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 17, 2020, 09:54:35 pm
So far I have tried:
-> Copying the file from the original floppy disks
-> Copying the config.sys file from c:\OS2\install
Right now I am doing a check disk. I'll let you know how that goes.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: jamie marchant on August 17, 2020, 11:12:46 pm
Hmm it seems they might be a problem with my hard disk, I'll have to download some diagnostics but I might take a break from this stuff for a while.
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Dave Yeo on August 18, 2020, 12:08:15 am
Since I am on real hardware I took a photo with my camera, it can only make JPEGs.(though my SLR can do RAW but I don't know how easily I can convert that to PNG)

I usually copy the jpg to my computer, convert to png and shrink it before uploading. Of course you need a working computer and it may well be easier in your environment to upload from the camera

Quote
The error says that the system can't load DOSCALL1.dll, as well as some BASEDEV statements.(AUTODRV2.sys, CLAUDIO.SYS, IBMSS14.SYS)


I don't know what those BASEDEV statements are for. Unless needed for your laptop, they probably don't matter.
The DOSCALL1 error is a killer. DOSCALL is the most basic part of the OS, DOSCALL0 is the kernel and DOSCALL1 may need to be close. You definitely need to use a matching DOSCALL1.DLL to uni or smp kernels. You may be able to copy doscall1.dll from your install floppies or find it in the fixpak as, IIRC, doscall.dl_ which can be unpacked with unpack.exe. It belongs in x:\os2\dll.

Quote
It also reports an IRQ conflict. 

I think some of those are audio drivers as Linux repair CD meses up my sound card and makes it unusable, I have to wait with the computer unplugged for a while to get it to work again. 

I don't know what the other error means though... hmm...
Title: Re: Easy way to install fix packs
Post by: Martin Iturbide on August 18, 2020, 04:01:16 am
Hi

This is the error that I see on the link (Picture attached). You applied fixpack 40, right? I didn't have this issue no the VM I was trying out.

uhm.. not sure what can be done now....When you boot, can you press Alt+F1 when the OS/2 square box appears on top if you access the "RECOVERY OPTIONS" menu, you can you press "c" to go to the command line.  See if the drivers still exists on the C:\OS2 folder, but I'm not completely sure.

Regards