OS2 World Community Forum

OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical => Internet => Topic started by: Martin Iturbide on February 25, 2022, 08:44:41 pm

Title: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on February 25, 2022, 08:44:41 pm
Hi

I refreshed my VM and I don't remember what I did last time to change everything to .pentium4.

Is there some trick or command to make RPM reinstall everything that I have oon i686 to pentium4 if it exists?

Currently I'm changing everything to .pentium4 one by one with ANPM.

The error says:
Code: [Select]
ERROR with transaction check vs depsolve:python(abi) = 2.7 is needed by python2-pycurl-
7.44.1-3.oc00.pentium4python27.dll is needed by python2-pycurl-7.44.1-3.oc00.pentium4python(abi) = 2.7 is needed by
(installed) urlgrabber-3.10.1-10.oc00.noarchpython(abi) = 2.7 is needed by (installed) yum-utils-
1.1.31-3.oc00.noarchpython(abi) = 2.7 is needed by (installed) python2-rpm-4.13.0-20.oc00.pentium4python(abi) = 2.7 is
 needed by (installed) yum-3.4.3-14.oc00.pentium4python(abi) = 2.7 is needed by (installed) yum-metadata-parser-
1.1.4-7.oc00.pentium4python27.dll is needed by (installed) python2-rpm-4.13.0-20.oc00.pentium4python27.dll is needed by
 (installed) hplip-libs-3.19.8-3.oc00.pentium4python27.dll is needed by (installed) yum-metadata-parser-
1.1.4-7.oc00.pentium4Please report this error at https://github.com/bitwiseworks/rpm-issues

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Andy Willis on February 26, 2022, 05:39:27 am
I run this script to build a list of installed programs and it builds a cmd script to reinstall them.
It would probably be better to set it all in one install as some of the installs will have the others as dependencies and therefore will already be installed before the script hits that install but it then just says it is already installed at the latest version.
I then rename /usr and /etc and run the yum bootstrap (p4) and run the script created above.
It takes one argument, the name you want to call the script.
Code: [Select]
/* REXX to get just package names from RPM installed output */

rc = SysLoadFuncs()
Parse Arg fileout

rc = SysFileDelete(fileout)
fileinv = holdrpm.txt

address cmd 'yum list |grep install >'fileinv
do while Lines(fileinv)
  text = LineIn(fileinv)
  parse var text package'.'.
  rc = Lineout(fileout,'yum install -y 'package)
end
rc = SysFileDelete(fileinv)

I have not used the output but this makes one install line:
Code: [Select]
/* REXX to get just package names from RPM installed output */

rc = SysLoadFuncs()
Parse Arg fileout

rc = SysFileDelete(fileout)
fileinv = holdrpm.txt

address cmd 'yum list |grep install >'fileinv
list = ''
do while Lines(fileinv)
  text = LineIn(fileinv)
  parse var text package'.'.
  list = list || ' ' || package
end
rc = Lineout(fileout,'yum install -y 'list)
rc = SysFileDelete(fileinv)
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on February 26, 2022, 03:12:00 pm
Thanks Andy

I run the scripts, I have list of installed software and the "yum install -y  arch ..." command it produce to reinstall all things. Nice scripts.

But I got stock here:

I then rename /usr and /etc and run the yum bootstrap (p4) and run the script created above.

What is your method to rename /usr and /etc since it is locked?

I haven't run yum bootstrap in ages, how do you use that? do you download the "rpm-yum-bootstrap-1_5-p4.wpi (http://trac.netlabs.org/rpm)" file from Netlabs and run that one?

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 26, 2022, 04:59:42 pm
Hi Martin, unlock \usr\lib\dll and maybe kill the odd program like the cups demon.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on February 27, 2022, 03:03:13 pm
Thanks Dave. The unlock and killing CUPS process worked to rename /usr and /etc.

But now I have the issue that "rpm-yum-bootstrap-1_5-p4.wpi" demands for the Warpin Libc 0.6 runtime to be installed.

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on February 27, 2022, 03:17:03 pm
Hi

I went the other way and installed RPM with ANPM. So I reinstalled ANPM and it installed
http://repos.arcanoae.com/anpm/pentium4/rpm-yum-base-os2-pentium4-2021-10-23.exe

ANPM asked me if I wanted pentium4 or i686, so I got pentium4.

YUM and RPM seems to be working back and seems to be in "pentium4" mode now. Now I will install all the packages.

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 27, 2022, 06:45:27 pm
Thanks Dave. The unlock and killing CUPS process worked to rename /usr and /etc.

But now I have the issue that "rpm-yum-bootstrap-1_5-p4.wpi" demands for the Warpin Libc 0.6 runtime to be installed.

Regards

Glad you got it working. It does raise the question whether "rpm-yum-bootstrap-1_5-p4.wpi" would even work without a major hassle updating Python. Perhaps Bitwise should remove it and just rely on ANPM
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Lars on March 01, 2022, 03:12:11 pm
Netlabs has a newer one:

http://rpm.netlabs.org/bootstrap/rpm-yum-bootstrap-1_7-pentium4.zip

It's just not linked from the RPM main page. And it is not a WPI but a ZIP.

Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on March 01, 2022, 10:49:42 pm
Hi

For the moment I think I completed the process to changing my ArcaOS 5.0.7 VM from i686 to Pentium4 by using ANPM. I think I will write the sequence on the OS2World wiki, just in case I forget about it on the future.

I will also see if I can update the link on the netlabs RPM project too.

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: mauro on March 02, 2022, 03:07:43 pm
Hi

For the moment I think I completed the process to changing my ArcaOS 5.0.7 VM from i686 to Pentium4 by using ANPM. I think I will write the sequence on the OS2World wiki, just in case I forget about it on the future.

I will also see if I can update the link on the netlabs RPM project too.

Regards

Hi Martin, please post the link when done, I'm interested as well.
Thank you
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on March 02, 2022, 05:48:02 pm
Hi

Here it is what I wrote: "RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4 (https://www.os2world.com/wiki/index.php/RPM:_Switching_from_i686_to_Pentium4)"
Please notice it is experimental and it is not "one size fits all".

I also slip this topic from the other thread, even if it was related it took a different path.

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Andreas Schnellbacher on March 02, 2022, 10:15:09 pm
I don't remember the rest of this thread. But wouldn't it suffice to just update os2-base? That changes the platform.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on March 02, 2022, 11:53:35 pm
Hi. The issue that I found is that there are some packages that can not be changed from i686 to pentium4 without a reinstall. If I remember correctly you can't upgrade the rpm package to pentium4, an error shows up.

Regards.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Silvan Scherrer on March 04, 2022, 08:57:37 am
I don't remember the rest of this thread. But wouldn't it suffice to just update os2-base? That changes the platform.
Yes it does. And afterwards all new packages get updated to the right arch. Updating all is not needed as it gains nothing. Iirc this was discussed already several Times.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Martin Iturbide on March 04, 2022, 02:18:26 pm
... Iirc this was discussed already several Times.

Please let me know the links of the discussions.

Regards
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: andreas on May 12, 2023, 09:22:05 pm
unfortunately the way you showed, does not work for me since i am not connected with my os/2-pc to the net.
so i am trying to change the packages manually.
i found out i need perl installed to get some programs running.
with some effort ifound out which packes i need. its 27 packages that cannot be installed seperately due to dependencies. and here comes my problem:
ANPM only allows to enter the paths for 3 or 4 packages (text input is limited).
Similar with YUM. Shorting the input just the the rpm-names does not work. YUM does not find my local repo for some reason. It only does if I enter the full path for each file. That works if you have 3 packages but not with 27...

Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: ivan on May 12, 2023, 09:37:41 pm
Hi andreas, 

Why not just download the RPMs and then use ARCVIEW to open it and then manually install it where you want?
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: andreas on May 12, 2023, 09:49:56 pm
would that help for installing other packages for other programs with ANPM? Can ANPM include the manually installed files in its database? i fear ANPM will block installation for other programs then...
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Dave Yeo on May 13, 2023, 01:38:29 am
Hi Andreas, when I had a local repository, installed in k:\rpm.local, I had in @unixroot\etc\yum\repos.d,
Code: [Select]
[local]
name=My local repo
baseurl=file:k%3A/rpm.local
enabled=1

Personally, I've left most of my installed packages as i686, just converting to P4 as needed or as updating a package. Works fine as they're all basically the same architecture. The important thing is to update your platform to P4.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: ivan on May 13, 2023, 01:54:48 am
Could be a problem if you rely on rpm/yum.  I have it on my computer only because ArcaOS installed it but have never used it - I was burned with it when I used suse linux (I have since changer to linux mint) and decided 'never again'.

Looking at it I think it is possible to find out what each rpm needs but I am an advocate for 'if it works why change anything' change for the sake of change isn't good, after all the only good changes are ones that add something or enhance to what you are doing.

You need to look at what you are doing and ask the question 'will adding/changing something make my working better/easier' if the answer to that is yes then by all means make the changes, if no just ignore the proposed changes.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: Alex Taylor on May 13, 2023, 06:37:18 pm
with some effort ifound out which packes i need. its 27 packages that cannot be installed seperately due to dependencies. and here comes my problem:
ANPM only allows to enter the paths for 3 or 4 packages (text input is limited).

I guess I should increase the text limit of that entryfield.

In the meantime, does it work if you put the package (file) names into a text file (one per line) and try to install using the "Import package list" option?
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: andreas on May 16, 2023, 11:55:09 am
thanks very much for your answers.
I'd really appreciate to have the entryfield increased. I hope this will not turn out to be too difficult to achieve.
Anyway: Thanks for your efforts in advance.
I'll try to follow your suggestion with the import list as soon as I find the time and will tell you if it worked.
Title: Re: RPM: Switching from i686 to Pentium4
Post by: andreas on June 29, 2023, 10:14:37 pm
sorry for the late reply. (was busy with founding a new company..)

I tried to create an import file (btw, found our it works great if you select the files - avoiding a folder - with ""copy file name").
But unfortunately ANPM doesn't accept the input. The field where you normally see the files to get installed stays empty. I get a message, that the files cannot be found - before ANPM provides a list with these files in the right folder...

first tried with ANPM 1.0, then tried - without any change - 1.1.