OS2 World Community Forum

OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical => Applications => Topic started by: David Graser on January 13, 2019, 03:56:29 am

Title: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on January 13, 2019, 03:56:29 am
Andrey Vasilkin's 3D lauch pad is really a nice addition to ArcaOS.  One can run multiple launch pads from various sides of the screen. Use Xcenter widgets for various monitoring and use the 3D launch pad for various programs.  Thanks Andrey!

David
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on January 13, 2019, 07:01:34 pm
a couple of pics using3D launchpad
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Martin Iturbide on January 14, 2019, 12:56:23 am
Hi DavidG

I just want to also share the excitement of this app. It looks very good and it is very interesting that it can work as four launchpads on each side of the screen (optional).
If it keep working as good as it had been working for now, it will be on my "must have" apps list very soon.

Regards
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on January 14, 2019, 01:00:56 am
Hi DavidG

If it keep working as good as it had been working for now, it will be on my "must have" apps list very soon.

Regards
I agree Martin.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 14, 2019, 01:09:33 am
It did just crash for me, trp report sent. It is nice as long as using png icons, the native ones look like crap blown up.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on January 14, 2019, 06:10:30 am
It did just crash for me, trp report sent. It is nice as long as using png icons, the native ones look like crap blown up.

Dave

You can set the size of the icon.  I reduced the size down to 64x64.  At this size, most of the OS/2 icons render okay, not great, but okay.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Sean Casey on January 16, 2019, 05:20:33 am
It's a very useful application for me and very nice of Andrey to release this for all to use.  I'm used to dual monitors, but limited to a single monitor running OS/2 via a VM.   3d launch pad reduces the effort/clicks to launch frequently used applications which I love.

I reduced the icon size to 45x45 and the popup delay to 250.  Have had one abend, but quickly restarted without a problem.   I don't like to clutter my system with unnecessary/infrequently used  software, but 3d Launch Pad gets to stay.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 16, 2019, 06:55:23 am
For an unrelated reason, I had to restore from backup. Got the same trp after reinstalling LP but since it has been stable.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Andreas Schnellbacher on January 16, 2019, 07:21:58 pm
It still traps here on my main system in LIBC066.

I haven't tested it on others. This system is managed by the recent ANPM and I've updated all before installing 3D Launch Pad.

Remarkable is that the latest FireFox didn't work here. (I don't remember how, it probably trapped in XUL.DLL. There was no problem with PMDLL testing XUL.DLL.) I had no such problems with all the prior test versions of FireFox. It's time to test it elsewhere.

Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on January 16, 2019, 07:32:54 pm
Interesting.

I have ArcaOS 5.02 installed on one partition and ArcaOS 5.03 on another partition.  I have all the latest YUM updates and am not having any problems with either partition. On one partition, the ArcaOS 5.02, I use OS/4 kernel..  I wonder what is different about Dave and your system that is causing the problems.

David
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 16, 2019, 11:24:11 pm
I have the latest libc and libcx from the experimental repository. Might make a difference. I did have only the one crash after (re)installing.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Martin Iturbide on January 17, 2019, 06:52:39 pm
Hi

There is a new version available at hobbes.  (lp-bin-20190117.zip)
Let's see if it solves some of the issues reported.

Regards
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Andreas Schnellbacher on January 17, 2019, 08:56:28 pm
The new version traps here as well in libc066.dll.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Digi on January 17, 2019, 11:35:58 pm
The new version traps here as well in libc066.dll.

You can report this to the author. The email address in README.txt. Send him .TRP file.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Andreas Schnellbacher on January 19, 2019, 08:36:12 pm
You can report this to the author. The email address in README.txt. Send him .TRP file.
Thanks Digi, I'll do that. Give me some time, about a week. (First I want to install the newest exceptq and try it on another system. Currently, I don't have it installed.)
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on January 19, 2019, 08:50:17 pm
There was a trap generated when I looked in the LP directory.  It was from the first version by the date supplied in the trap.  The recent update no longer generates the trap on my partitions.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Digi on January 20, 2019, 06:49:56 am
You can report this to the author. The email address in README.txt. Send him .TRP file.
Thanks Digi, I'll do that. Give me some time, about a week. (First I want to install the newest exceptq and try it on another system. Currently, I don't have it installed.)

Please, use debug version:

   ftp://digi.os2.snc.ru/in/lp_exe-debug.zip (ftp://digi.os2.snc.ru/in/lp_exe-debug.zip)

and send me back lp.dbg too (see "My Messages" on this forum).
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on March 15, 2019, 02:16:38 am
Andrey Vasilkin's 3D lauch pad is really a nice addition to ArcaOS.  One can run multiple launch pads from various sides of the screen. Use Xcenter widgets for various monitoring and use the 3D launch pad for various programs.  Thanks Andrey!

David

I really like this enhancement.  There is one more feature I would like to see.  When one goes into the properties and one selects the icon to move or delete, it would be useful to have the location of where the program executable is located.  Why?  I use 2 to 3 Firefoxes. Once the icons have been dragged and installed, it can be confusing as to which Firefox I want.  Being able to see where the executable is located for the icons would help.

It has Up, Down, Delete, Reset, and Find.

Maybe just add a properties selection for that program icon.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on March 26, 2019, 03:07:23 pm
Thanks Andrey for the fast change!  The new properties button works great.

https://ecsoft2.org/3d-launch-pad
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on August 05, 2019, 04:00:10 am
Using the latest release with ArcaOS 5.04.

I am getting traps and have attached the trap files.

Thanks again for a great program.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Martin Iturbide on August 08, 2019, 02:13:09 am
Hi David.

In my ArcaOS 5.0.4 playground VM I'm not experimenting traps with 3D Launchpad. Even that I'm playing hard with it to test some of the old WPS classes/Enhancements.
Did you experience the same issue on a different machine or VM ?

Regards
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on August 08, 2019, 02:58:39 am
Martin, I experienced it on two separate ArcaOS 5.04 partitions.  It seems to occur when dragging PNG icons into the setup properties.  Since I have replaced the viewing icons with all PNGs, it is working fine.

David
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: Digi on November 09, 2019, 01:03:01 pm
Please try the latest version:

  http://os2.snc.ru/product-LaunchPad.html (http://os2.snc.ru/product-LaunchPad.html)

Many optimizations and changes have been made to the version 0.1.2 (2019-11-08).
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: roberto on November 10, 2019, 07:55:50 pm
Martin, I experienced it on two separate ArcaOS 5.04 partitions.  It seems to occur when dragging PNG icons into the setup properties.  Since I have replaced the viewing icons with all PNGs, it is working fine.

David
Does it happen to you with any png icon, or with any concrete?
What size of icon do you have defined?
I have never failed this application. Not from the first version, let alone the current one.
Title: Re: 3d launch pad
Post by: David Graser on November 10, 2019, 08:07:05 pm
It has not happened for some time.  I use the 80x80 png icons that I have created.  I haven't said much while testing this latest version.  It is definitely more responsive and the best version so far.  3D icons is definitely a great addition to my ArcaOS.