OS2 World Community Forum

OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical => Applications => Topic started by: _Hermit_ on January 22, 2020, 10:03:39 am

Title: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: _Hermit_ on January 22, 2020, 10:03:39 am
Hi all.

Seamonkey can start with a blank page. If you try to open any site or open a menu item Edit -> Preference -> Helper Applications
getting TRAP. In safe mode the result is the same. Firefox 45.9 does not start, immediately get Trap.

eCS 2.1
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 22, 2020, 06:04:27 pm
Funny it didn't start in safe mode. Move H:\PROGRAMS\MOZ_PLUG\npj2_j32.dll out of the way along with the other Java plugin files or h:\programs\moz_plug or edit config.sys and remove the SET MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH setting, reboot and retest please.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: _Hermit_ on January 23, 2020, 09:15:42 am
Funny it didn't start in safe mode. Move H:\PROGRAMS\MOZ_PLUG\npj2_j32.dll out of the way along with the other Java plugin files or h:\programs\moz_plug or edit config.sys and remove the SET MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH setting, reboot and retest please.
Hi, Dave.
I moved Java plugin files - Seamonkey 2.42.9 starts successfully, sites open. What should I do with Java plugin in the future?
But.
1. There is a sawtooth load on the processor, reaching up to 100%, even the second core is connected. This is on the about: blank page. In this case, SM 2. 42b8 does not load the processor.
2. When I try to upload a file, I get a trap. The attached files are just for the latter case.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 23, 2020, 06:02:14 pm
Hi, Dave.
I moved Java plugin files - Seamonkey 2.42.9 starts successfully, sites open. What should I do with Java plugin in the future?

I just removed them as there is very few sites that use them. If you really need them then you will have to use an older browser where they work and setup a program object or script that sets MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH when you use the older version.
Quote
But.
1. There is a sawtooth load on the processor, reaching up to 100%, even the second core is connected. This is on the about: blank page. In this case, SM 2. 42b8 does not load the processor.

Known issue that I wish knew the actual problem. Go to about:addons, disable Chatzilla and restart. CPU usage should be down.

Quote
2. When I try to upload a file, I get a trap. The attached files are just for the latter case.

This one I'm not sure of. What Locale are you using? Does it happen in safe mode? What about if you go to Edit--> Preferences-->Browser--Downloads and try not using the download manager or change it to not asking where to save files. Could also clear the download history.
Also are you uploading from the root of a drive? If so, try using a subdirectory.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 23, 2020, 06:47:05 pm
Other things to check about the upload trp, make sure %TMP% and friends point to somewhere with lots of room. There may be a bad PATH stored in content-prefs.sqlite, you could try moving it out of the way.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: _Hermit_ on January 23, 2020, 08:08:33 pm
Known issue that I wish knew the actual problem. Go to about:addons, disable Chatzilla and restart. CPU usage should be down.

Yes, it worked. But I use Chatzilla. Is there any hope that it will work normally?

Quote
This one I'm not sure of. What Locale are you using? Does it happen in safe mode? What about if you go to Edit--> Preferences-->Browser--Downloads and try not using the download manager or change it to not asking where to save files. Could also clear the download history.
Also are you uploading from the root of a drive? If so, try using a subdirectory.

Locale - English. Advice "not asking where to save files" solved this problem. %TMP% is located on a disk with enough space.

Now this question. When viewing Youtube videos, Seamonkey does not adjust the sound. Only via Uniaud mixer. And when you load a new video, the volume returns to the maximum value.
What to do?
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 23, 2020, 09:06:36 pm
Known issue that I wish knew the actual problem. Go to about:addons, disable Chatzilla and restart. CPU usage should be down.

Yes, it worked. But I use Chatzilla. Is there any hope that it will work normally?

I have no idea why it uses so much CPU and haven't been able to figure any fix. It does work fine when installed in Firefox so that is one workaround. It's quite possible to run FF and SM together by marking the DLLs to load high and using the OS4 kernel or using Mozturbo to keep the DLLs loaded. The official kernel has a bug where it doesn't correctly release high memory.
Quote
Quote
This one I'm not sure of. What Locale are you using? Does it happen in safe mode? What about if you go to Edit--> Preferences-->Browser--Downloads and try not using the download manager or change it to not asking where to save files. Could also clear the download history.
Also are you uploading from the root of a drive? If so, try using a subdirectory.
Quote
Locale - English. Advice "not asking where to save files" solved this problem. %TMP% is located on a disk with enough space.

Ok it is probably a bad PATH in content-prefs.sqlite. Bad PATHs include the root of a drive and PATHs that are no more.
Quote
Now this question. When viewing Youtube videos, Seamonkey does not adjust the sound. Only via Uniaud mixer. And when you load a new video, the volume returns to the maximum value.
What to do?

Once again all we have are workarounds. Use the volume control on your speakers or install PMUnimix to make controlling the volume easier. https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/apps/mmedia/util/mixers/PMUniMix-bin-0_82.zip (https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/apps/mmedia/util/mixers/PMUniMix-bin-0_82.zip)

I know I'm not being much help but truthfully I'm not much of a developer and originally signed on as a tester. At some point I was left as the only one who could build Mozilla as developing Mozilla eats developers and after Bitwise took over maintenance, they only worked on Firefox so I'm left supporting SM and TB. All things considered, Bitiwise did a good job but Mozilla is a fast moving target and Bitwise only had so many resources. SM and TB mostly share the same code as Firefox.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Andi B. on January 24, 2020, 09:02:26 am
Chatzilla is enabled on my machines but I do not have these 100% load. Neither on my 2 core system nor on the 4 core one. But I must admit I didn't start the chazilla window on OS/2 boxes since a while. Will test again the next days.

What makes 100% CPU spikes every few seconds on my systems is lightning. The spikes stops when I open the calender.

To sum up - for me the latest SM versions from Dave works fine. Including Lightning and Chatzilla. Except sometimes some scripts starts to eat up memory until there is no high memory left. If I don't kill SM in such cases the system crashes. I see similar behavior with SM on Win7. But much much infrequently. And Win does not crash in such cases I think. The Win machine uses a lot more memory too. Second problem - sites with much scripts are very slow on older hardware. F.i. it's no fun searching Amazon on the 2 core machine.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: roberto on January 24, 2020, 05:39:04 pm
 You could install this library and see: 
  gcc-4.9.2.1-3.oc00.i686
saludos
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 24, 2020, 07:55:23 pm
I found the issue with Chatzilla, seems our gif parser doesn't like taskbar-irc.gif so I converted it from 256 colours to 32 bit.
Easiest way to update is to just replace it. With SeaMonkey closed, replace it in your profile at extensions\{59c81df5-4b7a-477b-912d-4e0fdf64e5f2}\chrome\chatzilla\skin\modern\chatzilla\images
You could also try installing the updated XPI. This failed here, possibly due to profile corruption so I ended up removing Chatzilla and the extensions\staged folder and simply replacing the files in extensions\{59c81df5-4b7a-477b-912d-4e0fdf64e5f2}
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: _Hermit_ on January 24, 2020, 08:09:41 pm

Once again all we have are workarounds. Use the volume control on your speakers or install PMUnimix to make controlling the volume easier. https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/apps/mmedia/util/mixers/PMUniMix-bin-0_82.zip (https://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/apps/mmedia/util/mixers/PMUniMix-bin-0_82.zip)

With PMUnimix, it got better. Thanks.

In README.OS2 is specified the list of RPM packages required by Firefox is contained in a file named RPM_REQUIREMENTS. There is no such file in the archive. In some of the forum topics, I found it.

And about the full-screen video, you can not ask or someone works?  ;)
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: OS4User on January 24, 2020, 08:19:40 pm
I found the issue with Chatzilla, seems our gif parser doesn't like taskbar-irc.gif so I converted it from 256 colours to 32 bit.
Easiest way to update is to just replace it. With SeaMonkey closed, replace it in your profile at extensions\{59c81df5-4b7a-477b-912d-4e0fdf64e5f2}\chrome\chatzilla\skin\modern\chatzilla\images
You could also try installing the updated XPI. This failed here, possibly due to profile corruption so I ended up removing Chatzilla and the extensions\staged folder and simply replacing the files in extensions\{59c81df5-4b7a-477b-912d-4e0fdf64e5f2}

I tried to replace taskbar-irc.gif  and my Chatzilla  locked.

If one meets the same, open about:config and set the preference xpinstall.signatures.required to false.

Dave, the latest Chatzilla is 0.9.93   -  http://chatzilla.hacksrus.com/revisions
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 24, 2020, 09:26:14 pm
In README.OS2 is specified the list of RPM packages required by Firefox is contained in a file named RPM_REQUIREMENTS. There is no such file in the archive. In some of the forum topics, I found it.

Thanks, seems I forgot to commit changes previously, fixed locally.
Quote
And about the full-screen video, you can not ask or someone works?  ;)

Not sure who I could ask, Mozilla refuses to have anything to do with such old versions. I'll revisit it but the source is quite complex.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 24, 2020, 09:31:52 pm
@OS4User, strange that that change was needed, perhaps the file change broke a md5sum or such.
I should see if I can update the intree version of Chatzilla, which is where I got the version I uploaded.
If using 0.9.93, the file is in chatzilla.jar, it can be unzipped, the file replaced and rezipped.
I also found my problem with not being able to update chatzilla, the chrome directory was locked and I had to reboot to completely delete the old add-on and then reinstall.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 24, 2020, 10:02:19 pm
Hmm, updating to 9.93 and updating the jar file seems to have made things unstable here, possibly by not using the right secret sauce to zip the jar.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dariusz Piatkowski on January 25, 2020, 06:51:26 pm
re: Chatzilla...

I had disabled mine for quite some time now, probably around the time we were doing the FF 45.x testing. I seem to recall that it was positively identified as causing the CPU spikes.

Alright, but this post's conversation sort of re-kindled my interest in the good ol' IRC days. So I re-enabled it, using 0.9.93 version here. For whatever reason I do not see any CPU spikes here. Maybe it is the mix of the parameter changes I had previously implemented to deal with the overall FF CPU usage?

Anyways, @Dave, 0.9.93 working fine here, I did not attempt to replace the file with your version either.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 25, 2020, 07:44:09 pm
It works fine in Firefox as Firefox doesn't display the gif like SM, which displays it in the lower left corner of the frame along with some other icons and has since Netscape.
BTW, my instability seems to have gone away with disabling ublock.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: _Hermit_ on January 29, 2020, 09:33:47 pm

Thanks, seems I forgot to commit changes previously, fixed locally.

Not sure who I could ask, Mozilla refuses to have anything to do with such old versions. I'll revisit it but the source is quite complex.

After a few days of using SM 2.42.9, it turned out that loading any file this results in an unreasonable CPU load. There is no such effect in SM 2.35.
This is one of the limitations of using version 2.42.9.

Dave, where can I download plugin H264ify for FF 45.9?
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 29, 2020, 11:53:27 pm
Strange your high CPU usage. Try going to about:config and resetting the string in 'browser.download.lastdir'
I'll attach h264ify_modified, seems to be MIT licensed.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: _Hermit_ on January 30, 2020, 08:11:59 am
Strange your high CPU usage. Try going to about:config and resetting the string in 'browser.download.lastdir'
I'll attach h264ify_modified, seems to be MIT licensed.
Yes, it helped me. Thanks. I also had to give up plugin DownThemAll!, since it also starts loading the CPU.
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dariusz Piatkowski on January 30, 2020, 03:01:27 pm
Hi Dave,

Strange your high CPU usage. Try going to about:config and resetting the string in 'browser.download.lastdir'
I'll attach h264ify_modified, seems to be MIT licensed.

I still have this add-on installed, although current disabled. For the most part FF handles various videos OK...but I am wondering: given your mention of it being modified, should I re-install using the ZIP you provided?
Title: Re: Trap Seamonkey 2.42.9
Post by: Dave Yeo on January 30, 2020, 04:56:32 pm
I'm not sure but it may have only been modified to load in SeaMonkey. Wouldn't hurt though I'd back up the one you have.
Really it is best for those with weaker systems as H264 seems more efficient.