OS2 World Community Forum

OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical => Applications => Topic started by: Rick Smith on May 01, 2020, 09:15:21 am

Title: Dos window
Post by: Rick Smith on May 01, 2020, 09:15:21 am
Greetings,

Still plugging along with my Arca setup on thinkpad t430s, and it mostly works pretty fair.. I am trying to setup a fidonet point mailer called d’bridge mailer which runs dos, os2 etc. when I try to install in opens a dos window which just hangs if I switch to a full screen it doesn’t run. So I guess I have two questions.

1 . Has anyone got this particular program to run on Arca?

2. Can I fix this dos window problem, or can I access the file from the windows side? When I loaded windows side I couldn’t seem to find the file so I could not see if it would run from there?

I am sure the Dos window situation has been discussed previously so I apologize I just couldn’t find the discussion..

Regards,

Rick
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Ibrahim Hakeem on May 01, 2020, 10:06:37 am
Hi Rick

Try the .wpi found in this page, it's resolved all my issues with WINOS/2 and DOS on my T450S and other Thinkpads so far.

https://mantis.arcanoae.com/view.php?id=1193 (https://mantis.arcanoae.com/view.php?id=1193)

If I'm not mistaken, there's also a commonly used config.sys entry that's helped for others, I can't exactly remember what it is however.
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Moritz on May 01, 2020, 12:12:52 pm

If I'm not mistaken, there's also a commonly used config.sys entry that's helped for others, I can't exactly remember what it is however.

Some Config.sys tips&tricks can be found in Gregg Youngs 2018 Warpstock presentation: http://www.warpstock.org/filemgmt/visit.php?lid=289 (http://www.warpstock.org/filemgmt/visit.php?lid=289)
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Dave Yeo on May 01, 2020, 04:41:35 pm
Try opening a full screen DOS session, if that works, use ALT-HOME to make it a window. If that doesn't work, try the above referenced WPI and retest. Here that was good enough to open a full screen session which can be ALT-HOME to the desktop.
There's a couple of other tricks if it still doesn't work, likely referenced in Gregg's presentation.
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Rick Smith on May 01, 2020, 04:45:48 pm
Hi Rick

Try the .wpi found in this page, it's resolved all my issues with WINOS/2 and DOS on my T450S and other Thinkpads so far.

https://mantis.arcanoae.com/view.php?id=1193 (https://mantis.arcanoae.com/view.php?id=1193)

I forgot to say that I had already tried that file to fix and it didn’t work.. I’ll try looking at the config.sys information

Thank you

Rick
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Rick Smith on May 01, 2020, 05:10:03 pm

If I'm not mistaken, there's also a commonly used config.sys entry that's helped for others, I can't exactly remember what it is however.

Some Config.sys tips&tricks can be found in Gregg Youngs 2018 Warpstock presentation: http://www.warpstock.org/filemgmt/visit.php?lid=289 (http://www.warpstock.org/filemgmt/visit.php?lid=289)

Unfortunately I think he wrote that with someone a little more experienced than I, it’s more of a list instead of directions. Also alt+enter does not make my full screen a window.. no worries I’ll get there.

Rick
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Dave Yeo on May 01, 2020, 05:22:54 pm
ALT-HOME is the command.
See https://www.arcanoae.com/wiki/arcaos/known-issues-commonly-reported/#doswin (https://www.arcanoae.com/wiki/arcaos/known-issues-commonly-reported/#doswin)
Title: Re: Dos window
Post by: Martin Iturbide on May 01, 2020, 06:23:04 pm
Hi Rick

Just in case, as a work arround, you can also use DOSBox on OS/2 (https://www.joschs-robotics.de/dosbox/dosbox.html). It is not as having a DOS VDM session, but maybe it can work for your needs.

Regards