OS2 World Community Forum

OS/2, eCS & ArcaOS - Technical => Applications => Topic started by: Erich Schulman on February 18, 2015, 04:30:30 pm

Title: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 18, 2015, 04:30:30 pm
Unable to start Apache OpenOffice
Execution failed! Contact technical support.
Return code: 8
Failing module: D:\APPS\APACHEOPENOFFICE.4\PROGRAM\SVXCORE.DLL

This occurs if I try to launch Text Document, Spreadsheet, Impress, Draw, Base, Math, or Open Document.

Since I only have FP15, I know that technically I don't meet the minimum requirements. I used the .wpi installation method.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Ian Manners on February 18, 2015, 04:39:36 pm
Hi Erich,

You might need to uninstall it via Warpin, then ensure you have AOO-4111-GA-rpm.wpi in the same directory as your main
AOO-4111-GA-base-xx.wpi file, if you haven't yet.

And I assume you have read readme_aoo.txt :)
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 18, 2015, 08:35:10 pm
Both .wpi files were in E:\. And I carefully read the readme to be sure I would be doing everything right.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Andi B. on February 19, 2015, 07:28:32 am
Open a command line window, change into D:\APPS\APACHEOPENOFFICE.4\PROGRAM\ and start soffice.exe or swriter.exe from there. Probably this will tell you which prerequisite you missed to install.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 19, 2015, 01:27:47 pm
Open a command line window, change into D:\APPS\APACHEOPENOFFICE.4\PROGRAM\ and start soffice.exe or swriter.exe from there. Probably this will tell you which prerequisite you missed to install.

I got the same error dialog as before, and nothing printed to the console.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Andi B. on February 19, 2015, 03:24:41 pm
Maybe I was wrong and 8 means out of memory. Not sure anymore. Another thing worth to try is above512 to see how much memory is available on your system.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: TeLLie on February 19, 2015, 07:03:54 pm
Hi Erich,

Try on that dll chckdll32..

C:\PROGRAMS\ApacheOpenOffice.4\program>chkdll32 svxcore.dll

And then you see all dll that are loaded and missed ?

Think chkdll32 in on Hobbes
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 19, 2015, 10:19:52 pm
Hi Erich,

Try on that dll chckdll32..

C:\PROGRAMS\ApacheOpenOffice.4\program>chkdll32 svxcore.dll

And then you see all dll that are loaded and missed ?

Think chkdll32 in on Hobbes

I did not find it on Hobbes, but after a Google search I found it somewhere else. And I saw it was for IBM internal use only  :-X

It looks like a lot is missing from the secondary .wpi, unless these are things not available under FP15. I snipped out the parts that loaded successfully.
Code: [Select]
Loading DLL 'svt' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'svt'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'vcl' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'vcl'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'sfx' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'sfx'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'editeng' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'editeng'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'drawingl' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'drawingl'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'ootk' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'ootk'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'sb' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'sb'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'avmedia' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'avmedia'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'fwe' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'fwe'.  DosLoadModule returned: 2
OS/2 reports 'FT2LIB' contributed to the failure.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 19, 2015, 10:38:20 pm
You're missing the Innotek font Engine. Perhaps this will help, http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip (http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip). I believe there is a newer one out there.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 20, 2015, 03:06:34 am
You're missing the Innotek font Engine. Perhaps this will help, http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip (http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip). I believe there is a newer one out there.

I got it from Hobbes in case I can't find a newer one anywhere. I already installed FreeType/2. Would it and Innotek conflict?
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Ian Manners on February 20, 2015, 03:25:31 am
http://www.os2site.com/sw/graphics/fonts/ (http://www.os2site.com/sw/graphics/fonts/)

28/07/03   1:38       1498           0  innotek_ft2lib_100.txt
28/07/03  12:54     371888           0  innotek_ft2lib_100.zip
17/12/03   7:19     673366           0  innotek_ft2lib_210_preview3.exe
17/12/03   7:19     675844           0  innotek_ft2lib_230_preview4.exe
17/12/03   7:19     675798           0  innotek_ft2lib_230_preview5.exe
19/02/04   1:46     682765           0  innotek_ft2lib_240_release1.exe
 8/07/04  20:01    1019545           0  innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe

I use innotek_ft2lib_240_release1.exe,  I dont think I've tried  innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe but it's 'probably' ok.

Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 20, 2015, 04:25:48 am
You're missing the Innotek font Engine. Perhaps this will help, http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip (http://hobbes.nmsu.edu/download/pub/os2/util/font/innotek_ft2lib_100.zip). I believe there is a newer one out there.

I got it from Hobbes in case I can't find a newer one anywhere. I already installed FreeType/2. Would it and Innotek conflict?

No, they shouldn't conflict.
You can control which applications the font engine works with by registry settings. Start regedt2 and search for innotek. The Mozilla  apps (Firefox v4+) have their own freetype+fontconfig and can do anti-aliasing on their own.
Note that the Innotek Font Engine was never really finished before Innotek got carried away with their success with VirtualBox and can be unstable but the anti-aliasing can be nice.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 20, 2015, 08:28:44 am
That got me closer. I still have 2 failures.

Code: [Select]
Loading DLL 'editeng' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'editeng'.  DosLoadModule returned: 8
OS/2 reports 'EDITENG' contributed to the failure.
Loading DLL 'xo' --> NOT loaded!
Unable to load DLL 'xo'.  DosLoadModule returned: 8
OS/2 reports 'XO' contributed to the failure.

I found nothing on Hobbes that would seem to fit either.

I changed the registry settings to 0 for each Mozilla application. Is there a way to confirm they are indeed using FT/2 rather than IFE?
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 20, 2015, 08:46:33 am
if Firefox runs everything is OK. I don't seem to have any of those libraries installed here, don't have Openoffice either.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: David McKenna on February 20, 2015, 02:44:15 pm
Erich,

  EDITENG.dll and XO.dll are both part of the OpenOffice package and should be located in your OpenOffice.4\program directory. If they are missing then something went wrong with your install. They are also dependent on gcc1.dll, gcc473.dll and libc066.dll. There is a great little app called PMDLL (at hobbes.nmsu.edu) that you can use to figure out these kind of things...
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 20, 2015, 03:54:25 pm
Erich,

  EDITENG.dll and XO.dll are both part of the OpenOffice package and should be located in your OpenOffice.4\program directory. If they are missing then something went wrong with your install. They are also dependent on gcc1.dll, gcc473.dll and libc066.dll. There is a great little app called PMDLL (at hobbes.nmsu.edu) that you can use to figure out these kind of things...

I checked and they are present. I ran chkdll32 against each .dll and no error was reported. I still got the same errors when trying to run it against svxcore.dll or trying to start the application.

I tried adding D:\Apps\ApacheOpenOffice.4\program to LIBPATH, but it made no difference. At this point I tried PMDLL, but I could not find anything wrong.

Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Pete on February 20, 2015, 06:11:18 pm
Hi Ian

Earlier releases of OpenOffice(pre 4) would not work with innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe and required the 2.40 release. I seem to recall that innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe caused problems with Desktop icons as well - some of the eCS desktop background images containing multiple images at different resolutions could not be displayed.

Other than that innotek_ft2lib_260_beta1.exe worked fine here for a while.

I'm not sure if AOO4 requires the Innotek font engine at all but if it does it will be the 2.40 release.


Regards

Pete
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: David McKenna on February 20, 2015, 06:43:31 pm
 Erich,

  As Andi B. notes, maybe you are using up all your shared memory? If you have the version 14.106 OS/2 kernel, you can try loading all the OpenOffice dll's into high memory using the script in the 'Extras' folder.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 20, 2015, 10:13:34 pm

I'm not sure if AOO4 requires the Innotek font engine at all but if it does it will be the 2.40 release.

It does. Dave Yeo said so based on my chkdll32 errors, and installing it removed most of the errors. I did go with 2.40 per Ian Manners's suggestion.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 20, 2015, 10:17:21 pm
Erich,

  As Andi B. notes, maybe you are using up all your shared memory? If you have the version 14.106 OS/2 kernel, you can try loading all the OpenOffice dll's into high memory using the script in the 'Extras' folder.

I have 14.062_W4.

I tried increasing my guest's RAM from 128MB to 384MB, and it still made no difference.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 20, 2015, 11:05:18 pm
The problem is that OS/2 before ver 4.5 could only address 1GB of memory with half of that given to the kernel. So an application by default can address 512MBs, both shared and static memory. Shared memory is further reduced by whatever DLLs are loaded so perhaps 300 MBs of shared memory available after booting.
Warp Server including Warp V4.5 (FP13+) can also address high memory, memory above the 1 GB barrier but IBM never finished adding the support and some 16bit APIs can't address high memory.
If you use the highmem program, using the script that others mentioned in the extras folder, DLLs can be loaded into high memory freeing up low memory and avoiding various problems when lower shared memory runs out. The problem is that most kernels have a bug and when closing a program using high memory the program crashes. Still worth trying to eliminate the possibility and if it works we can work on reducing your shared memory use or perhaps some kind soul will send you the newer kernel.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 21, 2015, 01:07:12 am
I have highmem.exe but no extras directory (I used PMSEEK on all fixed disks to be sure). The readme says all that is required to activate the feature is to run highmem. But it also says doing so with my kernel version will trap the system.

I tried bumping my guest RAM up to 768MB. It still made no difference. I don't like giving a guest over 1GB due to available RAM on the host.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Alex Taylor on February 21, 2015, 04:40:35 am
I tried bumping my guest RAM up to 768MB. It still made no difference. I don't like giving a guest over 1GB due to available RAM on the host.

The amount of RAM isn't the issue. It's the amount of shared memory, which if I understand correctly has essentially no relation to the amount of installed physical memory. Shared memory is a finite resource with a maximum of a few hundred MB, no matter how much RAM your system has.

I'm no expert on the subject myself, but there are ways to increase the available shared memory. Lowering your VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT in CONFIG.SYS (or defining it to something relatively low, like 512 or 1024) is allegedly one of them. There are others than more clever people can probably suggest.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Doug Bissett on February 21, 2015, 08:45:09 pm
Quote
There are others than more clever people can probably suggest.

Not any more clever, but the most effective thing, that I know of, is to add "dllbasing=off" (without the quotes) near the top of your CONFIG.SYS. It will slow the system slightly (you will never notice, unless you are using an old 486 SX), but it allows the system to make much more efficient use of shared memory space (which is usually what the problem is).
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 21, 2015, 10:06:56 pm
Quote
There are others than more clever people can probably suggest.

Not any more clever, but the most effective thing, that I know of, is to add "dllbasing=off" (without the quotes) near the top of your CONFIG.SYS. It will slow the system slightly (you will never notice, unless you are using an old 486 SX), but it allows the system to make much more efficient use of shared memory space (which is usually what the problem is).

I made that the first line and tried AOO immediately after the desktop appeared. Still the same error.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Doug Bissett on February 21, 2015, 10:22:07 pm
Quote
I made that the first line and tried AOO immediately after the desktop appeared. Still the same error.

Scanning back through this thread, I see that you are trying to use kernel 14.062 I think you need at least 14.100 for dllbasing to work. I would suggest nothing less than 14.104, with all of the available fixes.

Get: http://www3.telus.net/public/bissett1/Warp4updates.txt (http://www3.telus.net/public/bissett1/Warp4updates.txt) and do the updates. I think all of the links are still valid, but I haven't checked for a while.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: David McKenna on February 21, 2015, 10:44:16 pm
 This: http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/upgrades.html is also a great page for updating Warp 4. The 14.104a kernel is there. Get the one 'safe for Pentium Pro' and SMP (in order to be able to use ACPI).
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 22, 2015, 02:27:13 am
This: http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/upgrades.html is also a great page for updating Warp 4. The 14.104a kernel is there. Get the one 'safe for Pentium Pro' and SMP (in order to be able to use ACPI).

He won't be able to use the SMP kernel on his Warp v4 install as he won't have the right doscall1.dll, doesn't have access to ACPI either so for now he should just use the w4 kernel.
It's pretty hard to get SMP working on Warp v4 as well, too much is not SMP safe. I never managed to get it to stay up for more then a couple of minutes and why I eventually bought eCS 2.1
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Andi B. on February 22, 2015, 11:38:43 am
May I again suggest using above512 to see how much free RAM you have.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 22, 2015, 11:50:33 pm
I went to the kernel page that David McKenna suggested where I found two choices.

The first did not mention a version number, but it turned out to be 14.85_w4. Same svxcore.dll problem as before.

Then I tried 104a_uni, eschewing the _smp per Dave Yeo's post. This is (for now) without dllbase. First attempt, the splash screen showed up and the frame of the new user window appeared, but then it locked up. Inserting a CTRL-ALT-DEL did nothing so I had to reset the guest. I gave it another try once back at the desktop. And this time it worked  :o And this was with guest RAM set back to 128MB.

Once OS/2 has been in use for a while I will try to launch it again to get an idea of whether dllbase is still needed.

Since this may be the last kernel I can use, is it considered a fairly stable one?
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 23, 2015, 12:56:04 am
Yes, 104a is fairly stable as well as having fixes for newer CPU's. Best if you can find the w kernel as it'll give slightly better performance and also run cooler due to using the hlt instruction.
Did you also update os2ldr? If not you probably should. It should be in the same package.
http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/kernel/w420050811.zip (http://www.os2site.com/sw/upgrades/kernel/w420050811.zip) is the w4 kernel, use an OS/2 browser to access.
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Erich Schulman on February 23, 2015, 03:55:12 am
Did you also update os2ldr? If not you probably should. It should be in the same package.

Yes. The readme did not mention any conditions under which I should not.

The 14.85_w4 kernel package has a CLOCK01.SYS than the one that came with FP15 and 14.62_w4, but the 104a_uni package did not have a CLOCK01.SYS. Which should I use, if it even matters?

My CPU is a i7 (motherboard chipset is Intel x58), but I have not yet tried to find out what OS/2 sees it as. Would OS/2 think it is just a very fast Pentium 3?

As for a OS/2 browser, I now have the Mozilla trio going (though Netscape, Opera, and WebExplorer are still installed).
Title: Re: AOOo 4111GA does not start
Post by: Dave Yeo on February 23, 2015, 07:13:18 am
To quote an old readme,
Quote
11) If you also install the enclosed clock01.sys to \os2\boot, you can
    add "CLOCKSCALE=x" to config.sys. The choices for x are 1 (the default,
    which is the old behavior), 2, and 4. The number represents a scale
    factor for the frequency of clock ticks. The theory is that CLOCKSCALE=4
    will speed up some apps (maybe Netscape and/or Java).

I think the kernel will see your CPU as a fast P4 but not sure. Doesn't matter too much as long as the kernel is new enough to support MMX and SSE+. I think that if you ever tried to use the AVX instructions, the system will trap due to not saving the large registers during context switches but that's untested so far.