Author Topic: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7  (Read 953 times)

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« on: March 13, 2018, 03:53:07 pm »
I've made a test build of the newest wpa_supplicant code and uploaded it to https://bitbucket.org/Andi_B/os-2-wpa_supplicant/downloads/.

It can be used together with current xwlan builds. From the readme.os2 -
Code: [Select]
###############################################################################
BetaTester installation intructions
- replace installed wpa_supplicant.exe with the included one
When using xwlan widget wpa_supplicant is usually found in
\util\xworkplace\plugins\xcenter\xwlan\.
When using the standalone wlanstat then in .\xwlan\.
- check if the new version is used by xwlan/wlanstat
right-click - properties - tab 'WPA supplicant' check version and path
- connect to wpa protected networks and post your findings at correspondending
thread at os2world.com
- you can also test wpa_supplicant with a .conf file. F.i. set up a profile
with no security, switch on wireless and start wpa_supplicant manually
(f.i. wpa_supplicant.exe -i lan1 -cwpa_supplicant.conf)
###############################################################################

If someone want to test feel free to post your findings here. If you're using the xcenter widget (in contrary to the standalone wlanstat.exe), be sure your ALT-F1 boot works or you've a working maintenance partition. I once saw a hang on my T60 at bootup of the xwlan widget with teh new wpa_supplicant.

Have fun.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 106
  • Posts: 1476
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2018, 06:55:43 pm »
Hi Andi, thanks for the update.
The readme.os2 needs updating to refer to where ArcaOS stores its wpa_supplicant.exe, namely x:\sys\apps\xwps\plugins\xcenter\xwlan
After rebooting (is this needed? Perhaps add to readme.os2) right clicking shows I'm now using wpa_supplicant v2.2 (eCS-v1) which I have to assume is correct.
Double clicking the widget connected to my internet hub fine, seemed to connect quicker. Firefox loaded pages fine.
This on a T42

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2018, 01:49:22 pm »
Hi Andi, thanks for the update.
The readme.os2 needs updating to refer to where ArcaOS stores its wpa_supplicant.exe, namely x:\sys\apps\xwps\plugins\xcenter\xwlan
Thanks for the input.

Quote
After rebooting (is this needed? Perhaps add to readme.os2)
No. New wpa_supplicant is used whenever a new connection (profile) is established.

Quote
right clicking shows I'm now using wpa_supplicant v2.2 (eCS-v1) which I have to assume is correct.
Unfortunately this is wrong. Your version is what I supplied with xwlan3.12. The new one should identify itself with 'v2.7 (OS/2-v2beta)....'

Seems you didn't not copy it into the correct directory. Check 'right-click - properties - tab 'WPA supplicant' version and path'. Be aware wlanstat uses a different directory than the xwlan widget.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 106
  • Posts: 1476
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2018, 03:32:36 pm »
I must of mis-clicked when copying the exe. Now it says "wpa-supplicant v2.7-devel (OS2-v2beta)-hostap_2_6-1746-gba5 and perhaps 4, it is clipped at this point as itis wider then the settings window.
Seems to work fine.

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2018, 09:14:35 am »
Hi Andi,
I start wpa_supplicant by using a .conf file. and do not use xwlan. For some reason this only worked (until know) with a very old version of wpa_supplicant dated from 2008.
I tried the one you uploaded (thank you for all the work!). At first it did not work, this was the message shown:
Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
lan0: No network configuration found for the current AP

I amended my .conf with ap_scan=2, this helped, works now

Holger

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2018, 10:09:16 am »
...
I amended my .conf with ap_scan=2, this helped, works now

Holger
Good to hear. The .conf file is full of documentation. Honestly I've to say I do not understand what all the options are good for. I only enabled the build to allow .conf file cause someone asked it long ago in a ticket IIRC. I never used it by myself and so can do only very limited testing. This is one reason why I asked here for testers.

Feel free to open an issue at https://bitbucket.org/Andi_B/os-2-wpa_supplicant/issues?status=new&status=open if you find any problem with the supplicant or here http://trac.netlabs.org/xwlan/newticket. I guess you need to login there for doing that. No promise that anyone is fixed especially things I can not test. But sometimes even tickets opened years ago get fixed eventually :)

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2018, 12:03:32 pm »
Quote
I only enabled the build to allow .conf file cause someone asked it long ago in a ticket IIRC.
If you mean this one it was me too:
https://www.os2world.com/forum/index.php/topic,1444.0/topicseen.html
So thank you for keeping this in mind!
I will continue to do further testing with your new build and try to read andunderstand the documentation.

Holger

Holger Schuett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 1
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2018, 11:22:29 am »
Hi Andi,

I did a little more testing with your new build compared to the old one I use.

For the records: The old wpa_supplicant is shown as version 0.5.7.
This one works well when using a .conf file and works well with xwlan too. The connection to my wlan is established extremely fast.
Message :
Trying to associate with SSID 'WLAN-KHH8TK'
Associated with 08:7a:4c:01:98:2e
WPA: Key negotiation completed with 08:7a:4c:01:98:2e [PTK=CCMP GTK=CCMP]
CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 08:7a:4c:01:98:2e completed (auth) [id=0 id_str=]

The new  build works well too in xwlan and using a .conf file but connection is sometimes established slower.
Message:
lan0: No network configuration found for the current AP
lan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=18:00:71:08:31:1e reason=3 locally_generated=1
  ndis_get_oid res=36
lan0: No network configuration found for the current AP
lan0: CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED bssid=18:00:71:08:31:1e reason=3 locally_generated=1
lan0: Trying to associate with SSID 'WLAN-KHH8TK'
  ndis_get_oid res=36
lan0: Associated with 08:7a:4c:01:98:2e
  ndis_get_oid res=36
lan0: WPA: Key negotiation completed with 08:7a:4c:01:98:2e [PTK=CCMP GTK=CCMP]
lan0: CTRL-EVENT-CONNECTED - Connection to 08:7a:4c:01:98:2e completed [id=0 id_str=]

Both messages are what I see when using xwlan and choosing wpa_supplicant visible.
And sometimes when using the new build connection is interrupted and it may take several tries to reestablish the connection.

Using the .conf file the messages are the same as above, depending on which wpa_supplicant I use.
Using your new build with a .conf file I played around with the ap_scan= line documented in the wpa_supplicant.conf included in the new build.
The best seems to be to set ap_scan=2, but I admit, I have no idea why?

Holger
« Last Edit: March 21, 2018, 11:29:03 am by Holger Schuett »

Andi B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Re: Test build wpa_supplicant v2.7
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2018, 06:55:10 pm »
I've uploaded a new test build with current code of development branch. Included is wpa_gui.exe too. See https://bitbucket.org/Andi_B/os-2-wpa_supplicant/downloads/20180313_wpa_supplicant_v2.7beta.zip
Here's the top of the readme -

###############################################################################
Installation intructions for Beta & RC testers

Using with XWLAN/WLANSTAT
-------------------------
- Replace installed wpa_supplicant.exe with the included one. When using xwlan
  widget wpa_supplicant is usually found in
  \util\xworkplace\plugins\xcenter\xwlan\.
   When using the standalone wlanstat then it is in .\xwlan\.
- Check if the new version is used by xwlan/wlanstat
   (right-click - properties - tab 'WPA supplicant' check version and path)
- Connect to wpa protected networks and post your findings at correspondending
   thread at os2world.com

- You can also test wpa_supplicant with a .conf file. F.i. set up a profile
   with no security, switch on wireless and start wpa_supplicant manually
   (f.i. wpa_supplicant.exe -i lan1 -cwpa_supplicant.conf - see wp.cmd)

Using with wpa_gui.exe
----------------------
wpa_gui is a QT frontend for wpa_supplicant. You can use it instead of
xwlan/wlanstat for managing your wireless networks. It works for me and I can
connect to my local wireless networks here.
- Start wpa_supplicant with a .conf file f.i. wp.cmd
- Use wpa_gui for scanning and configuration

As usual your wireless card has to be supported by genmac to use wireless
networks with OS/2.

There is also included wpa_cli.exe. But this is not tested very well.
###############################################################################

@Holger - I've seen these delays in establishing the connection since ages. I guess this is the way it works since a long time on OS/2. But I do not have any *nix system to test against. Though it may be a timing problem together with genmac too. I don't think it does make much sense to test against v0.5.7 as I don't even know if we have the sources for the OS/2 version somewhere.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2018, 06:56:59 pm by Andi B. »