Author Topic: VBE graphic storage use  (Read 482 times)

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
VBE graphic storage use
« on: August 04, 2018, 04:50:07 pm »
Hi !
I'm looking for the amount of graphic storage I have for my panorama driver.
I used testlog generic to check.

I have a i7 5775C with integrated graphic shipset and 128MiB edram
I also set additional storage under the BIOS to 32MiB
So, the total amount of video storage should be 160MiB

The result i've got is very strange !
First lines from graphic parts :
----- Output of: PanoUtil.exe -i -v -s -----------------------------------------
BIOS-supplied information
OemVendorNamePtr  = 0
OemProductNamePtr = 0
VideoModePtr      = c0009ae7
VBE VRAM size 1ff0000 (31 MiB) (rounded) 2000000 (32 MiB)
Number of modes = 18

Here I have 32MiB which seems to be same as BIOS shared memory... 
Where is gone the CPU graphic edram of 128MiB?

Let continue with the 32MiB bios setting.   
next in the report, I found:

Panorama v1.10 log for GID=0 started at 3.8.2018 12:21:59
This copy of Panorama is licensed to RÚmy Dodin #os5p014be69d7d.
Profile setting for Shadow...Enabled
VESA version is 300
BIOS-supplied information
OemVendorNamePtr  = 0
OemProductNamePtr = 0
VideoModePtr      = C0009AE7
TotalVramSize     = FFF0000           <<==== 256MiB !!!!
OemVendorName     =
OemProductName    =
EDID Version 1.3

And in the same report :
Panorama v1.10 log for GID=0 started at 4.8.2018 16:8:59
This copy of Panorama is licensed to RÚmy Dodin #os5p014be69d7d.
Profile setting for Shadow...Enabled
VESA version is 300
BIOS-supplied information
OemVendorNamePtr  = 0
OemProductNamePtr = 0
VideoModePtr      = C0009AE7
TotalVramSize     = 1FF0000         <<<==== 32MiB
OemVendorName     =
OemProductName    =
EDID Version 1.3

Now, I no more know whats going here, all these values are been get from the bios but the bios is unable to send different storage values !
Did some of you check the amount of video storage according the real available value defined/installed ?
What about CPU graphical edram ?
How to check more deeper what happens... any idea is appreciated
Thanks
 
« Last Edit: August 04, 2018, 04:51:38 pm by Remy »

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 8
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
Re: VBE graphic storage use
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2018, 05:59:21 pm »
Hi Remy,

I'm sure there are many other folks on our forum much better skilled at explaining the details of this, but AFAIK you are seeing the amount of virtual memory available (thus the 256MB value) and then the video driver enforced mapping, which I would guess ends up being the 32MB value (due to the setups).

I am using SNAP here, so in that log file I see the following:

Code: [Select]
Loading driver for device 0 (radeon.drv)
---------------------------------------------------------

Video memory limited to user supplied value of 32MB

...but that reflects the hard-limit I set for SNAP as far as memory usage goes.

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: VBE graphic storage use
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2018, 08:10:13 pm »
Hi Remy,

I'm sure there are many other folks on our forum much better skilled at explaining the details of this, but AFAIK you are seeing the amount of virtual memory available (thus the 256MB value) and then the video driver enforced mapping, which I would guess ends up being the 32MB value (due to the setups).

I am using SNAP here, so in that log file I see the following:

Code: [Select]
Loading driver for device 0 (radeon.drv)
---------------------------------------------------------

Video memory limited to user supplied value of 32MB

...but that reflects the hard-limit I set for SNAP as far as memory usage goes.

The values out of testlog are told been BIOS velues.
In my BIOS, I set 32MiB to be shared vith the IGD which is in the y7 5775C (given to have 128MiB)
It not possible to find 256MiB !

Thanks for your reply

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 106
  • Posts: 1477
    • View Profile
Re: VBE graphic storage use
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2018, 08:35:22 pm »
Here with some ATI card which I forget how much memory it has, perhaps 256MB, I get
Code: [Select]
BIOS-supplied information
OemVendorNamePtr  = C0000127
OemProductNamePtr = C00000B7
VideoModePtr      = 8E000044
TotalVramSize     = 1000000
OemVendorName     = (C) 1988-2005, ATI Technologies Inc.
OemProductName    = REDWOOD
EDID Version 1.3
Display size 47 cm x 30 cm
Display resolution is 1680x1050
Info: 11900,1680,1050,160,30,48,32,3,6
Setting custom resolution 1680x1050
DTD Old: Clock=21825 H=1856 HBl=672 HSO=96 HSW=224 V=1392 VBl=47 VSO=1 VSW=3 0 0 2
DTD New: Clock=11900 H=1680 HBl=160 HSO=48 HSW=32 V=1050 VBl=30 VSO=3 VSW=6 0 0 2
VBE VRAM Base=D0000000 Size=700000 (7168Kib) (rounded up)=800000 (8192KiB)

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: VBE graphic storage use
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2018, 01:21:50 am »
Here with some ATI card which I forget how much memory it has, perhaps 256MB, I get
Code: [Select]
BIOS-supplied information
OemVendorNamePtr  = C0000127
OemProductNamePtr = C00000B7
VideoModePtr      = 8E000044
TotalVramSize     = 1000000
OemVendorName     = (C) 1988-2005, ATI Technologies Inc.
OemProductName    = REDWOOD
EDID Version 1.3
Display size 47 cm x 30 cm
Display resolution is 1680x1050
Info: 11900,1680,1050,160,30,48,32,3,6
Setting custom resolution 1680x1050
DTD Old: Clock=21825 H=1856 HBl=672 HSO=96 HSW=224 V=1392 VBl=47 VSO=1 VSW=3 0 0 2
DTD New: Clock=11900 H=1680 HBl=160 HSO=48 HSW=32 V=1050 VBl=30 VSO=3 VSW=6 0 0 2
VBE VRAM Base=D0000000 Size=700000 (7168Kib) (rounded up)=800000 (8192KiB)

TotalVramSize     = 1000000  <<==== 16MiB
Strange...

Remy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 7
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: VBE graphic storage use
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2018, 12:00:22 am »
Hi,

Whatching a video (with VLC), I just got a, exception error into VBE2GRAD )

 Filename: C:\OS2\DLL\VBE2GRAD.DLL (04/22/2018 12:25:25 63,963)
 Address:  005B:1F2C1FD9 (0001:00001FD9)
 Cause:    Attempted to read from 7EF11F00
           (unallocated memory)

 Registers
______________________________________________________________________

 EAX : 000000A3   EBX  : 7F811F00   ECX : 00000138   EDX  : 7EF11F00
 ESI : 7EF11F00   EDI  : 7F811F00
 ESP : 02A4E920   EBP  : 02A4E93C   EIP : 1F2C1FD9   EFLG : 00210293
 CS  : 005B       CSLIM: FFFFFFFF   SS  : 0053       SSLIM: FFFFFFFF

 EAX : not a valid address
 EBX : read/write memory allocated by DRIVER
 ECX : not a valid address
 EDX : unallocated memory
 ESI : unallocated memory
 EDI : read/write memory allocated by DRIVER

 ::)