Author Topic: Gotcha 2.0.0.1  (Read 1426 times)

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1026
    • View Profile
Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« on: November 22, 2019, 04:11:32 pm »
Has anyone found a way to disable the very annoying message that appears when one selects a screen region?

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 406
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 2402
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2019, 06:21:41 pm »
Hi Ivan

Do you mean the one that I'm attaching?

I think you have a point, since if it there was a mistake on the region selection, you can always choose cancel on the "save" window and try again with the "screen region" button.  So maybe the message is useless.

I think we can report it to Gregg and see if there is another use for that message box.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 406
  • -Receive: 79
  • Posts: 2402
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2019, 06:30:49 pm »
Hi again.

It looked to me a like a interest request.

I posted it to the Gotcha bugtracker.
http://trac.netlabs.org/gotcha/ticket/15

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1026
    • View Profile
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2019, 11:01:58 pm »
Yes, that is the one Martin.  Since most of the screen grabs I do are selected regions I see no real use for that message - the older versions never had it so why the change?

Gregg Young

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 6
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2019, 09:04:10 pm »
Since most of the screen grabs I do are selected regions I see no real use for that message - the older versions never had it so why the change?

The change is because the region capture works contrary to the way a PM app should behave. Only a mouse button one click should trigger a capture but in Gotcha's case button 2 also triggers the capture. I have removed the dialog and uploaded a Gotcha-2-0-0-2.wpi to Hobbes and Netlabs. At some point I will see if I can fix the capture trigger but in this release mouse button 2 also triggers the capture (same as the pre 2.0 version). 

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1026
    • View Profile
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2019, 11:17:22 pm »
Thank you Gregg. 

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 149
  • Posts: 2168
    • View Profile
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2019, 12:33:09 am »
What about triggering the capture with a function key? I usually use Embelish for screen captures and it defaults to F11 to capture.

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 10
  • Posts: 601
    • View Profile
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2019, 05:53:26 am »
I'm not familiar with Gotcha functionality...but for anyone using that or Embelish or any other apps, why not use PMView?

It has multiple way of doing screen capture...extremely flexible...never let me down in any of my attempts!

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 35
  • Posts: 1026
    • View Profile
Re: Gotcha 2.0.0.1
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2019, 03:57:45 pm »
The thing I like about Gotcha is the fact its operating screen is small, unintrusive and can sit on the desktop just waiting to be used.  Use is simple, click on what you want, if a window then just click on the window, if a section start at bottom left of the area, click the mouse button then move the mouse pointer to cover the area, release the mouse button and click again - finished.

The attached is the Gotcha main window.