Author Topic: Google search problem  (Read 417 times)

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 37
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Google search problem
« on: January 14, 2020, 12:59:35 am »
I'm hoping to get some help figuring out a problem I have with Google search.

If I search for the term "OS/2 Consulting", the Blonde Guy consulting page comes up as item number one. If I click on it in Firefox (SUa2) for OS/2, nothing happens. If I click on it in Safari for iPhone, the page comes up as expected.

What is going on?
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dariusz Piatkowski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 12
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2020, 01:45:45 am »
HA!

Weird, but same behaviour here...not sure why, other than the fact that on FF45.9 there doesn't actually appear to be a Page Source present...almost like : there is no page there! Ughhh????

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 155
  • Posts: 2230
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2020, 01:58:22 am »
I get the same behaviour with SeaMonkey and DuckDuckGo (default in SM) accept it is the about page and the same behaviour if I manually enter https://www.blondeguy.com/.
I usually see this behaviour when the TLS/SSL type is unsupported by our NSS.
I'll test with a newer build that is linked against the NSS DLLs in netlabs-exp

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 155
  • Posts: 2230
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2020, 02:14:53 am »
Same results with the newer version linked against NSS 3.47 though I didn't reboot to get the updated certs, just used BEGINLIBPATH.
Seems to use TLS1.2 which should work, did you try loading it since the 4th when you updated the certificate? Where are you hosting, on your own machine?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 37
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2020, 03:48:16 am »
It's a website hosted by cruzio. They let me control it using plesk, but I'm having trouble configuring secure http, apparently.

OK, I tried with Qupzilla. It works fine to search from google or from duck duck go.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 03:52:24 am by Neil Waldhauer »
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 155
  • Posts: 2230
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2020, 05:21:38 am »
Hmm, if the old Qupzilla works, it might not be HTTPS, in which case I have no idea. Qupzilla here won't even load ddg even after installing the SSL fix.

Eugene Tucker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Receive: 3
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2020, 03:52:19 pm »
If you don't want tracked and hassled don't use google use Duck Duck Go.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 421
  • -Receive: 88
  • Posts: 2470
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2020, 04:48:11 pm »
Hi

It does not look to me that is a Google issue.
I can not access https://blondeguy.com/about.html (directly) from Firefox 45.9.0 (and Firefox 38). Can you confirm that ?
I tried https and http and it does not work.

From Windows I can access it. ...by the way, good picture Neil  ;D

Regards
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 05:39:23 pm by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 36
  • Posts: 863
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2020, 06:22:03 pm »
Hi Neil

Using Seamonkey 2.42.9esr I cannot access https://blondeguy.com at all but http://blondeguy.com seems to be working if "News: Dec 24, 2019:" is current. Other http: pages seem to work - quite enjoyed the blonde joke  ;-)


Regards

Pete
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 06:25:45 pm by Pete »

Joop

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 45
  • Posts: 497
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2020, 10:37:38 pm »
No problem, works with FF31.8.0.

Joop

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 37
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2020, 02:11:25 am »
I was fooling with the server settings. There was a window where http://www.blondeguy.com was visible. It's gone now, and none of the website will show in Firefox 45 SUa2. I can verify that Firefox 31 has no problems accessing https:/www.blondeguy.com, even correctly identifying my certificate.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 155
  • Posts: 2230
    • View Profile
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2020, 03:31:11 am »
Does http://www.blondeguy.com/ now redirect to https://www.blondeguy.com/?
This is even weirder if FF31ESR works as it uses an older version of NSS. Unluckily I'm at a loss on how to troubleshoot this as it is like the browser gives up really early. It's a shame we don't have a functioning debug version of 45ESR.

Neil Waldhauer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 37
  • Posts: 479
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Google search problem
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2020, 05:49:36 am »
Yes. That's what I changed today.

It works in our Firefox 31ESR, but not in Firefox 45 SUa2. It also works in iPhone Safari and iPad Firefox. I've set up the redirect in plesk, which has the server send a 301 message with the redirect. I still have many corrections to make to the website, but I'd like to figure out this security problem if I can.

Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com