Author Topic: Firefox with arca os 5.05  (Read 1069 times)

robert francoeur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Firefox with arca os 5.05
« on: June 16, 2020, 09:45:44 pm »
After a update from 5.04 to 5.05   Firefox dont start it send me this error libvpx4.dll   falty module

only a old sea monkey 2.35 works


Robert



Remy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 14
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2020, 11:49:54 pm »
After a update from 5.04 to 5.05   Firefox dont start it send me this error libvpx4.dll   falty module

only a old sea monkey 2.35 works


Robert

Check under ANPM having libvpx 1.6.1-1.oc00 installed
Be sure to not havve older libvpx.dll under other path than under @unixroot\usr/usr/lib

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 492
  • -Receive: 98
  • Posts: 2707
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2020, 11:53:24 pm »
Hi Robert

I'm recently trying ArcaOS 5.0.5, so I'm not complete sure of what is going on.

On a fresh ArcaOS 5.0.5 VM I just installed, I noticed that Firefox 45.9.0 is included on the install procedure. Is that the same Firefox version that you were using on ArcaOS 5.0.4?
Maybe it is some kind of conflict between the Firefox 45 that you used to have installed on ArcaOS 5.0.4 with the one that get installed on ArcaOS 5.0.5.

On the fresh installed ArcaOS 5.0.5, Firefox 45 is getting installed on c:\Programs\Firefox\firefox.exe. Maybe there are some conflict if you installed Firefox 45.9.0 later on /usr.
It is just a thought.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 2490
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2020, 02:28:48 am »
Hi Robert, make sure you have libvpx-legacy-4 installed and if needed reinstall it. The newer Firefox is linked against a newer libvpx and it seems the upgrade procedure upgraded libvpx without installing libvpx-legacy-4. IIRC, FF 38 uses libvpx-legacy-2. All the vpx DLLs have versioned names so can co-exist.

ivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 42
  • Posts: 1157
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2020, 02:39:36 pm »
Hi Dave,

Where do I find that libvpx-legacy-4.rpm? It doesn't appear in the package manager in my new install. libvpx-legacy-2 shows up under the 'installed' section but not legacy-4 nore is it in the 'available' section.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 2490
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2020, 04:29:57 pm »
Shoot, it looks like I screwed up here and have netlabs-exp enabled :(
Try libvpx-1.4.0-2

robert francoeur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2020, 09:11:31 pm »
Hi all

CHeck under ANPM having libvpx 1.6.1-1.oc00 installed

i dont have  libvpx 1.6.-1 in installed

i have  livpx in availlable , i click on install ,  it do someting and finish by bip , bip ,

i reboot not installed



Robert






 

robert francoeur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2020, 09:20:47 pm »
 Hi all

i have that in usr\lib


Directory of G:\usr\lib

 7-15-19  3:22p        45,363    124 a---  libc06.dll
 7-15-19  3:22p        45,364    124 a---  libc061.dll
 7-15-19  3:22p       153,497    124 a---  libc062.dll
 7-15-19  3:22p       153,497    124 a---  libc063.dll
 7-15-19  3:22p       153,563    124 a---  libc064.dll
 2-24-19  2:53p       153,563    124 a---  libc065.dll
 2-24-19  2:53p       316,489    124 a---  libc066.dll
 2-24-19  2:54p     1,158,654    124 a---  libcn0.dll
 3-29-19  9:49a        49,675    124 a---  libcx0.dll
 6-17-16  6:24a        24,217    124 a---  libusb10.dll
 1-18-19  3:24p        88,617    124 a---  libxml2.dll
       11 file(s)   2,342,499 bytes used
                   51,622,551 K bytes free

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 2490
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2020, 02:03:26 am »
Hi Robert, what happens if on a cmd line you do,
Code: [Select]
yum install libvpx
Also could try
Code: [Select]
yum reinstall libvpx

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 44
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2020, 06:01:19 am »
Hi All

On a related note: Looks like yum/rpm/ANPM is going wrong here too.

I've just had OpenOffice crash several times when trying to open a document - any document. The TRP files indicate stdcpp6.dll could be the culprit. Surprising as when I last used OpenOffice, a week or 2 ago, all worked as it should.

Using ANPM I see that libstdc++6 4.9.2.1-3 is available - I have libstdc++ 9.2.0-4oc00 installed.

Attempting to install libstdc++6 4.9.2.1-3 or libsupc++6-4.9.2.1 results in a message "Package up to date or no downloads".

Downloading the libstdc++6-4.9.2.1-3.oc00.i686.rpm and libsupc++6-4.9.2.1-3.oc00.i686.rpm files, unpacking them and replacing the existing stdcpp6.dll and supcpp6.dll in usr/lib with the files from those packages resolved the OpenOffice problem.

The question is: Why would ANPM not download and install those packages?


Regards

Pete

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 2490
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2020, 07:51:21 am »
Hi Pete, as ANPM is just a front end to YUM, it is always a good idea to try the command on the command line, though in this case you'd likely just get a message about being up to date as libstdc++6 4.9.2.1-3 is a downgrade I believe.
In this case I think what you actually need is libstdc++-fwd, which I'd think would have been a dependency for libstdc++9.2.0 but packaging errors do occur.

robert francoeur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2020, 03:57:45 pm »
Hi dave

Quote
Hi Robert, what happens if on a cmd line you do,
Code: [Select]
yum install libvpx
Also could try
Code: [Select]
yum reinstall libvpx
____________________

I exactly do that and now it work ,  and i can see it in anpm


And firefox works

« Last Edit: June 18, 2020, 07:49:14 pm by Martin Iturbide »

Pete

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 44
  • Posts: 1003
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2020, 04:16:18 pm »
Hi Dave

No, that does not work as the attempted install of libstdc++-fwd clashes with the file installed from gcc-std-shared-library - and it does not contain any version of stdcpp6.dll anyway...


Regards

Pete







 


robert francoeur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2020, 11:48:41 pm »
Hi all

 For testing
i try to uninstall libvpx   library
 i make a beeep beep error ,  and it do not  uninstalled
the problem comes from ANPM   ,
when it makes a error do it create a error file report?

Thanks all
Robert

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 181
  • Posts: 2490
    • View Profile
Re: Firefox with arca os 5.05
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2020, 02:29:35 am »
Sounds like Python might have crashed, in which there should a trp file somewhere.
Once again, try it on the command line,
Code: [Select]
yum uninstall libvpx
It'll probably list all the dependencies that need to be uninstalled. If Python crashes, probably should open an issue at Bitwise's Github python page