Author Topic: Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?  (Read 769 times)

Garry Taylor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?
« on: July 18, 2020, 02:32:07 pm »
Hello,
I'm a new ArcaOS user, just bought today, and looking for a nice laptop to run it on.

I've seen attractively priced Thinkpad X250 models on eBay, and these seem like just the thing, or a Yoga 12, which I see should be compatible too.

Basically, all I'd like is video, sound, wifi, and and the touchscreen to work. Everything else I can live without, but I'd really like the touchscreen in particular, for sketching with some kind of stylus.

I've used OS/2 before, and I owned eComStation over 10 years ago, but only just got ArcaOS.

If the X250 should work, I'll find one on eBay and go for it.

All the best

Garry

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 604
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2020, 03:25:03 pm »
I posted an X250 on another thread yesterday. I am an ArcaOS reseller, and I maintain web pages for machines that I sell with ArcaOS pre-loaded. You can visit those web pages and decide if the X250 is what you want. There are directions for installing ArcaOS if you want to do it yourself.



http://www.blondeguy.com/computer/elbopeep.html

If you have been paying attention, you already know that the built-in WiFi will not work with OS/2. The adapters that work are based on Windows 2000 drivers, so you need a pretty old WiFi card for internal WiFi to work.
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Garry Taylor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 8
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2020, 03:19:40 am »
Hi,
Yes, I've seen your site, wi-fi not working is a bit of a pain, no workaround other than one of those travel routers?

If I was buying new and hadn't already got ArcaOS, I'd consider one of your pre-built machines, but right now, I'm just looking to get a used laptop to run my copy of ArcaOS on. I have a big Dell rugged laptop, but the ArcaOS installer won't even see the disks on that, maybe AHCI related?

Cheers

Garry

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 604
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2020, 05:13:19 am »
The travel routers work better than the OS/2 XWLAN software. We have QT4 WPA_SUPPLICANT, but I think the travel router is better than that, too. But travel routers are not perfect. Some WiFi sources are hard to use.

I don't like having to carry an extra small thing and two wires to connect it to the laptop.

There are two problems with newer laptop hard drives. Some are GPT, and you have to change the AHCI to use /!U in your own menu to see them at all, and then all you can do is wipe.

The other problem is there is no support at all for NVMe "hard drives".
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com

Thierry de Coulon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2020, 09:41:59 am »
Is there any list of the working wifi cards?

Neil Waldhauer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 50
  • Posts: 604
    • View Profile
    • Blonde Guy
Re: Thinkpad X250 for ArcaOS?
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2020, 03:26:42 pm »
No cards work with X250. The latest cards with any OS/2 support are now 15 years old. See my page for Travel Routers.

http://www.blondeguy.com/TravelRouters.html
« Last Edit: August 05, 2020, 03:28:55 pm by Neil Waldhauer »
Expert consulting for ArcaOS, OS/2 and eComStation
http://www.blondeguy.com