Author Topic: [SOLVED] Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start  (Read 719 times)

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« on: July 27, 2020, 11:51:18 pm »
I see "Loading please wait..." my monitor then flickers a few times and I am back at the desktop. Do you know why?
« Last Edit: August 02, 2020, 04:46:53 am by jamie marchant »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 185
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2020, 01:30:54 am »
Full screen or Windowed? You could try opening a full screen DOS session and entering winos2 and see if it posts any error messages.
What video driver are you using?

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2020, 03:34:01 am »
Fullscreen, it's the "Magic"something driver meant for my laptop.

Typing that does load let me see the error:

Error loading PROGMAN.EXE, which could mean lots of things are wrong.

Joop

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 65
  • Posts: 575
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2020, 11:42:09 pm »
Progman.exe is on my system only called in windowed session, not in full screen.  Besides that, there is no information to go on other than that windows 3.1 doesn't start. This tells me that you don't have OS/2 full version. The full versions have WinOS2. There are OS/2 distributions which lack WinOS2 and where you have to install your existing Windows 3.1 in OS/2, but in that case your going to work with an OS2 version which will show more than a few problems on motherboards from the past twenty years. For what I remember is that the OS/2 installation without WinOS2 over an existing Windows 3.1 was not one without troubles.
So you have to give more information about your OS/2 version and what you did.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 502
  • -Receive: 100
  • Posts: 2741
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2020, 03:54:49 am »
Hi Jamie

Just as some context, if I get it right from your other posts, you have OS/2 Warp 3 installed on an IBM Thinkpad 380Z.
- Did you installed some fixpack, can you do a "ver /r" on the command line and let us know?

Are both Win-OS2 sessions not working, full screen and window? when you click the icons.

Regards
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2020, 02:30:20 am »
Revision 8.182, do I need a patch?

Neither work.

Martin Iturbide

  • OS2World NewsMaster
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 502
  • -Receive: 100
  • Posts: 2741
  • Your Friend Wil Declares...
    • View Profile
    • Martin's Personal Blog
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2020, 03:13:22 am »
Hi

If I recall correctly you can apply fixpack 40 (Release 8.264). But I'm not sure if it will solve your Win-OS2 issues.

Do you remember how to install fixpacks? I usually download the fixpack from here (English), diunpack every file, run CS_144.EXE in the same folder and run Fix.cmd to install it.

Please backup your files before installing the fixpack.

Regards
« Last Edit: July 31, 2020, 03:38:06 am by Martin Iturbide »
Martin Iturbide
OS2World NewsMaster
... just share the dream.

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2020, 06:39:44 pm »
Thanks, I'll give that a try. I am new to OS/2, I just got a copy last week. \

Some of those links don't work but I am sure I can find what I need somewhere online.

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2020, 09:45:15 pm »
It looks like installing FixPackes is not an easy task(some people say you have to be careful about which one you install), I think I'll skip that unless I know for sure that would solve the issue. I do have "dual-boot" installed so I can get back to MS-DOS 6 to run Windows 3.1 if I want too.

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 185
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2020, 01:20:56 am »
It's been a long time, but my wild guess would be video driver related. Back then you had to install a Windows video driver as well as an OS/2 one IIRC. Now we use the GRADD drivers that were developed for the PPC version of OS/2 and it is one driver for both OS/2 and Winos2.

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2020, 06:59:30 pm »
That's my guess as well, I'll see if I can figure out how to fix it. As far as I know, I have the newest driver for both systems.

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2020, 10:31:13 pm »
I think the dailog said I was supposed install Windows 3.1 and then the software to make it work with OS/2 correct? Should I reinstall it in OS/2 Dos mode?(I did a fresh install from MS-DOS)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 185
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2020, 12:47:32 am »
You're running the red box version? I think you have to install Windows under DOS and then use selective install or such to update the Windows install. For me, when I first installed OS/2 Warp red box, it just worked when it came to Win 3.1, so during install it must have modified Windows.
Eventually I picked up a Blue Box version of Warp V3 (cd instead of floppies) and switched to that. The advantage of the blue box edition was it came with Winos2.

jamie marchant

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2020, 08:32:05 pm »
Interesting. Well, I installed it correctly and it is the red box.

Is they a way to make it produce a boot log?

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 185
  • Posts: 2532
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 3.1 inside OS/2 won't start
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2020, 12:43:46 am »
Is they a way to make it produce a boot log?

Not really, besides installing the debug kernel and monitoring the serial port.
Since you got a reaction from running winos2.exe, it must have partially installed.
You can review your config.sys for lines like,
Code: [Select]
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VXMS.SYS /UMB
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VDPMI.SYS
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VDPX.SYS
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VWIN.SYS
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VW32S.SYS
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VMOUSE.SYS
DEVICE=W:\OS2\BOOT\POINTDD.SYS
DEVICE=W:\OS2\MDOS\VMANWIN.SYS

Though I can't remember which are needed by Winos2. Some of the device drivers might be in your Dos 6.22 directory I guess.
Also review your win.ini and especially system.ini. Unluckily it has been so long since I used Warp V3 Redbox, I'm not sure what should be in there and also how it works when you run it from OS/2.
My boot section in system.ini (Warp v4.52 bluebox but not much changed when it came to Winos2)
Code: [Select]
[boot]
useos2shield=1
os2shield=winsheld.exe
shell=progman.exe
mouse.drv=mouse.drv
network.drv=
language.dll=langeng.dll
comm.drv=comm.drv
keyboard.drv=keyboard.drv
system.drv=atmsys.drv
;386grabber=vga.3gr
;286grabber=vgacolor.2gr
drivers=mmsystem.dll
WAVDMAPPS=
atm.system.drv=system.drv
display.drv=ifgdi2vm.drv
sdisplay.drv=isgdi2vm.drv
fonts.fon=vgasys.fon
fixedfon.fon=vgafix.fon
oemfonts.fon=vgaoem.fon
os2user=user.exe
os2gdi.exe=GDI.EXE
os2user.exe=user.exe

It's possible that running winos2 uses a different system.ini too.